We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”
Review of The Dish - CLOSED

The Dish
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: One mile east of 95
Description: Experience the Freshness isn't a marketing slogan. It's a standard of quality and level of service created by our staff. It applies to every piece of the Peach Valley pie. Our breakfast and lunch offerings are homemade, using the best and freshest ingredients. Our management and service family are trained to provide a personalized dining experience focused on guest satisfaction, so that your family always receives the service it deserves.
Central Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant was closed in May 2014. A Peach Valley Cafe will open in the near future at this site.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cawowyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    38
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish it was not going out of business!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Great food. Love to try all the small plates. Gret little desserts too. Going to be missed.Like when The Die Road plays there too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank t3770mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volusia County, FL
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“First visit for me...just before it closed”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Why a review of a closed restaurant? My reasons:
My wife visited for lunch a few times when The Dish only served fairly-expensive, small-portion tapas. We had heard they now served tapas and dinner portions, but based on her review, we didn't rush back. In late Florida winter, we received an appreciation gift certificate from a neighbor. With 2 other friends who also received a gift certificate, we decided to see if they would honor them on the day after the closing was announced.
I was impressed with the food and the service. I had two tapas (crab cakes and veal francaise) and a house salad. The others had full dinner portions (veal marsala and veal francaise). Their dinner portions came with a salad. All the veal dishes were served on a bed of linguine. Food was enjoyable and service was excellent. Prices per person ranged between $19 - $24. We empathized with the waitserver...would she have a job in the restuarant's reincarnation?
The Dish was part of a stable of restuarants financed in part by a local entrepreneur-philanthropist. There are 3 or more different restaurant brands. The entrepreneur has made several large donations to colleges and community groups. The restaurant will open as Peach Valley West...Ormond's other Peach Valley is about 4 miles east on the beachside and we surmise it will be called Peach Valley East. Peach Valley presently serves only breakfast. I liked my sole previous lunch visit. My wife who goes many places for lunch with her book clubs and women's group may be the tougher critic. She doesn't list Peach Valley in her top choices. Not sure if the 2 Peach Valleys will be open later than lunch time.
The gift certificate covered most of our bill for 2-for-1 wine and food. We left a 20% gratuity on the total cost.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fltraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great menu, great selection”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Terrific spot if you like to mix and match. Tapas and then some. Four hungry guys. Excellent sangria, a recipe of the bartender. Wonderful service (Jodi). We all had at least three items for the tapas menu and all were delighted. My escargot scampi very good, although a bit messy to eat. Wedge salads perfect. Fish and meat abound throughout the menu. Desserts creative and tasty. Second night in a row our bill came to the same figuere. $42 including tip. Recommended for couples or groups.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Why are they closing”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great food and atmosphere. ????? The best crab bisque and fried Shrimp. Are going to be replaced by a Peach Valley. Great place for breakfast/lunch but felt like you were dining out at the Dish. It will be missed

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat9037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing