We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place and excellent customer service”

Houligan’s Irish Sports Pub
Ranked #44 of 208 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fun place and excellent customer service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We ate here Thursday, Aug. 29 so my husband could catch some college football in a sports bar atmosphere. We got there shortly after 5 pm and it wasn't overly crowded yet but it did get much busier as the evening progressed. You could tell it was a favorite with local by the license plates in the parking lot. Apparently you are allowed to smoke in outdoor dining spaces in Florida and outside the entrance to the restaurant they have set up tables and chairs but even have a long bar top area with bar stools and lots of TVs. I didn't like having to walk through the smoke to get to the front door but if I were a smoker I'm sure I would love that outdoor space.
Ty was our waiter and was very personable and prompt with taking the order and bringing things out. They had some happy hour drink specials when we got there and our food was very good (my seafood was better than we had a few nights earlier at a seafood place) - especially the chocolate molten cake! Lots of TVs everywhere to catch every sporting event available.
The thing that really sticks out in my mind is that I unknowingly dropped my Rayban sunglasses off the chair my purse was sitting in and I didn't realize until about 20 minutes after we left. We immediately called them back and they had been found by a staff member and turned in to management. I quickly returned (with sunglasses case in hand to prove they were mine) and was able to retrieve my nice sunglasses. It would have been very easy for someone there to decide to just keep them, but everyone involved showed a lot of integrity in holding them for the rightful owner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mborofix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice Layout of Restaurant with lots of TVs”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first visit and it was a pleasant one. The restaurant is layed out in tiers with plenty of TVs suspended from the ceiling and mounted on the walls. Booths were comfortable with high backs offering a bit of privacy. Plenty of tables around too if you don't like booths. Food was good. Drinks were good. Waitress was very attentive. Atmosphere was quiet (at lunchtime). Nicely air conditioned which was a plus. No smoke inside as they made the smoking people sit outside on the patio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlounderPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fun, loud, tasty”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went with our two young girls and had a good dinner. This is nothing spectacular but for a quick, comfortable dinner with kids, this is a great place. I got the BLT which was good and my husband really enjoyed his reuben. My tomato was clearly unripe which the chef should have noticed but it was still a tasty sandwich. Their homemade ranch dressing was amazing!

Our server was friendly and the service was fast. We'll definitely be back, especially since it was kid-friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robinsnest22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fresh or homemade. Wings, ribs, shrimp, & mushrooms all came straight out of a freezer bag or box. Will not go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This was the only place we found open for a late dinner. Quite thankful we found it. It was a typical sports restaurant/bar and the food followed suite. Nothing special but everything we ordered was ok. I ordered a side salad and French Onion soup. The soup came out luke warm but they corrected it with no problem. The other meals were standard fare for a sports bar. Good but not great. If you are out late with no where else to go, this is a good option.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rpboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houligan’s Irish Sports Pub also viewed

 

Been to Houligan’s Irish Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing