We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Schnitzel. No waiting. Speedy service. Friendly.”

European Cafe & Schnitzel House
Ranked #22 of 208 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Central European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Schnitzel. No waiting. Speedy service. Friendly.”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had been to this restaurant a few times in the past and enjoyed the food. For tonight, we wanted someplace to eat where we did not have to wait long. My wife suggested this restaurant and we drove over.

No waiting to be seated. Simple ambiance that has not been updated in the 4 or 5 years we have been coming to eat here.

Food has also remained basically the same.

I had a Pork Schnitzel fried ($13.95) and my wife had hers "ala Natural" (not breaded) ($16.95). She had mashed potatoes with hers and I ordered spetzel. We both had the Veal Barley soup (included with dinner).

Soup was very good as was the rest of the meal.

Note: When driving south on A1A this restaurant is a little hard to find because the lights are not as bright as some of the "chain" restaurants in the area. If you pass the IVANHOE HOTEL on the east side of the street you have gone too far.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MEGATLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    78
    27
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service with a frown.”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Food was fine, but the server seemed to be pre occupied, and had a general aire of annoyance everytime she addressed us. The other server there was as pleasent and attentive as he could be. Unfortunately we got the grump. 15 minute wait for water. Would not go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4zbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I ordered perogies, and while they were homemade and boiled it was as if someone poured oil all over the plate for serving, (?) I also ordered a keiser schitsznel (thats with mustard before its breaded) it also had oil on it. The chicken noodle soup they served prior to the appetizer was the highlight of the meal. Not sure if that was homemade or not? The place is a bit like a Grandmas house - a bunch of dusty old knick knacks that have been there since the 70's? I'm glad we went but I probably wouldn't ever go back. Plus the bill was $70.00 and that was for three girls who don't eat much.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic German food in an unexpected place”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have been to this restaurant a number of times on an annual trip to Daytona Beach. It is a relief to find a restaurant hat is not tacky or vulgar in this area. The schnitzel is very good. Soups are homemade and taste it. My colleague had the sauerbraten and it disappeared quite quickly! The bread is authentic. The potato pancakes are very good but perhaps an option of a smaller number would be good! Homemade apple sauce would be a nice touch. Service is pleasant.
All around this is a very nice find in the are and can be recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fauxlapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“guests referred!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Any guests who have visited this local cafe has brought back great reviews! Very authentic German foods! very close to the hotel as well. Few blocks up the road.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed European Cafe & Schnitzel House also viewed

 
Ormond Beach, FL
 

Been to European Cafe & Schnitzel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing