We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Park”
Review of Tomoka State Park

Tomoka State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Park”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love going to this park on the occasion that I'm around the area because of the numerous nature trails and it's great historic location. There is much to see and behold and the camping is great. However, the thing that I've really disliked is the tremendous bumps in the dirt roads. Some of the are quite big and you have to keep a constant eye out. Several times (especially when it rains) I've almost gotten stuck or scratched the underside of my car. Definite work needs to be done on the road because not everyone has a truck that can withstand the holes!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    102
    32
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Beautiful state park for hiking, picnics, canoeing, kayaking, and geocaching. I recommend taking insect repellent any time of the year and plenty of water.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank love2gonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Springs
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Another Ormond Beach Area Park Worth Checking Out”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Park is South of Bulow Creek & North Peninsula State Parks, so it's closer to Ormond Beach.... Can ride through part of it on bikes, and there's some other sites to see.... Park's website is helpful with visiting...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Moonlit bike rides while the rv'rs were a sleepin'”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We love Tomoka State Park. Here's why:

The campground is nice. We stayed in #38 with our teardrop, families and older folks set up with mini-lights, playing cards in the evening are all over the place. But, after midnight...the carpet is rolled up and you can own the park by bicycle. Sandy wide open paths cast in blue moon light. So quiet and pristine. There are many areas to fish and picnic with bbqs, and tables dot the park.

You can ride a bike to the camp store, which has all the regular stuff, and...a stage for the ukelele performances, (Saturday nights) a dvd/ book library, good ice cream treats, canoe rentals, records, SPAM, t-shirts, oddball bric a brac, tables and chairs for hanging, perhaps to play a game of checkers or chess...

$25 for two hours on the canoe. We paddled out on the Tomoka river, and manatee are seen in the area this time of year. We didn't get that far and it suited us fine. We were content with drifting about.

The history of the Timucua Indians that resided there 1,000 years ago and the vibe of the park makes it that much better. Lots of places to hang out, fish, bask in the dappled sun.

Now I have a tip on firewood, which apparently is a current issue. The camp store does not have it, so I recommend a gentleman across from Iron Horse, he sells a gang load of awesome seasoned wood for $10, wheel barrow full.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Recgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful park See the wild side”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

15 minute drive does the entire park, taking side roads a bit longer. See the vegetation in an unspoiled state, lots of fishing, nice scenic views from side roads.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesapeakeLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomoka State Park also viewed

 

Been to Tomoka State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing