We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park”
Review of Tomoka State Park

Tomoka State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
elizabethtown, pa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great park”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a very nice State Park. Enjoyed being here. Nice little store and great views. Nice campground here also.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank karinjakemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    103
    33
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Sleeper - Great Park for Naturalists - Great Location”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Tomoka State Park and a network of parks including Gamble Rogers, Bulow Creek, North Peninsula State Parks provide critical access to wetlands for sea creatures in an area of northeastern Florida which has seen development and over-development for decades. Wildlife abounds in these parks, and their low-key less-developed nature attracts naturalists and families. These are park environments to use gently and with respect for the inhabitants of the woods and waters. Kayaks can be rented for very reasonable rates at the camp store, and the proprietress gave us great tips on how to manage the tides on the Tomoka River and wetlands. Kayaks may also be rented at Gamble Rogers state park if you want to paddle along the tributaries of the Intracoastal Waterway where we saw flocks of all types of herons monitoring the oyster beds. We booked a site at Tomoka in October when many parks further south lacked availability, and weren't prepared for the subtle majesty of this environment. We arrived late after phoning the park to let them know our ETA, and arrival went smoothly. I had read that the park uses dirt roads (mentioned as a negative) but they are well-maintained. The various palm tree and hardwood species are beautiful, some with Spanish moss gracing the branches. The park accommodates tent and RV campers (some sites only to 24 ft), and the two seem to coexist well. Tomoka promotes "leave no trace" and provides not only a haven for our fellow creatures, but also a friendly environment for kids and adults, who often nodded and smiled as we walked through the area. This park is a real gem. And, by the way, the developed side of the world and famous coral sand beaches are only a short drive away in Ormond Beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We love Tomoka”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great campsites, clean facilities, and a beautiful river for boating and fishing. Camping at Tomoka is always a pleasure.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NextBigAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very pretty campsites and a 10 min drive to the beach.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Big trees surround 90 campsites. All are pretty! Winding roads make it tricky for larger RVs. Camp store is pretty barren. They are getting a beer- wine license. Lots of canoeing and fishing. All dirt roads. Friendly staff! Bath houses were well kept.
A1A and the beach is 10 or 15 min away. I'd go back for camping here!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kayaking, boating and fishing.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We took our son and his friends to fish here. Had picnics. Did not go kayaking or camping but facilities are available. Couldn't get live bait so we came prepared the next few times. Saw dolphins. Not crowded which is a plus.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BGolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomoka State Park also viewed

 

Been to Tomoka State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing