We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Molecular gastronemy at it's best”

Todd English's Blue Zoo
Reserve with OpenTable
Todd English's Blue Zoo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 3,790 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Renowned for his unique style and ability to entertain, Celebrity Chef Todd English combines the freshest seafood with coastal cuisines from around the world in a setting you won't forget in Todd English's bluezoo. Designed by renowned architect, Jeffrey Beers, Todd English's bluezoo is truly a work of art. Beers has extensive experience and an exceptional reputation in both the architecture and interior design industries. He has a keen interest in the relationship between architecture and light and has studied and practiced the art of glass and glass blowing with renowned glass artist Dale Chihuly. Continued collaboration and work with the medium provide Beers an unparalleled expertise in glass - both as material and light design element - as is evidenced in each of his projects to date.
Clearwater Fl
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Molecular gastronemy at it's best”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The food here is some of the best around. Unfortunately it's in tourist hell, but most avoid it because of the prices and it's not exactly a good place for kids, at all!

So we started with the Low country jumbo shrimp made with grilled shrimp, white cheddar hominy, okra, cherry tomatoes and a smoke bacon butter. OMG, it was soooo good. The hominy was a little runny for my taste but the rest of the dish made up for it. ($14)

Hubby started with the yellowfin tuna tartare with miso cavier and a scallop cream with freeze dried pickled ginger cubes and wasabi powder. Just an amazing presentation! ($18)

For dinner I had the heritage chicken ($29) The BEST chicken dish ever! Made with seperate servings of white and thigh meat, smoked to a delicious doneness served with grains that were prepared like risotto, fave beans, english peas & maitake mushroom sauce. You can't believe the flavors in this dish.

Then hubby had the dirty south swordfish ($34) served with risotto, littleneck clams, and rubbed with a barbque sauce which is unlike any barbque sauce you've ever had. It tasted like smoked tomatos and spices, none of the ketchup crap most people call barbque. Simply amazing.

Usually when we go out I can taste a dish and duplicate it very closely to the original dish at home, These dishes I could not. It was molecular gastronemy at it's best!Yes, it is expensive. Very expensive, but oh so worth it. Service was nicely paced, never rushed, and always there when we needed it.

Afterwards we had drinks at the bar you can't even describe. Flaming oranges in tequila, pumpkin pie flavored cocktails, the tastes here just leave you breathless.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vgonzalez2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    234
    111
    65
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A magical date night - but not without a few hitches.”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

For those who like it brief, this as a great spot for a romantic night out. It's *very* expensive and we had a few service hiccups, but I'm surprised by the negative reviews below for the food, which, though not uniformly excellent, was never below expectations for us for the price and had some real highlights. A few complaints about atmosphere below seem unnecessarily grumpy to me. Please read on if you feel up to a (painfully!) detailed description of our experience.

The decor and vibe are "hip", maybe falling under the category of "trying too hard", but by no means garish. Our hostess filled out a card with our names and (lack of) allergies, and sent us on to our seats with menus. Then they forgot us for fifteen minutes: no water, bread or listing of the specials. I'm chatty and don't mind a wait, but a delay at the start is a bete noire of my husband's - he would have walked out under different circumstances. A waiter eventually drifted by and checked in, then went into a visible nervous sweat when he realized the hostess hadn't passed us on to anybody. (What happened to the card?) He gave us an exceedingly thorough and slightly nerdy run-down of the entire menu with recommendations and pairings, sweating the whole time. We found him quite endearing and left our two wine choices to him and the sommelier. They went off-menu: both the appetizer and entree pairings were "specials" and a bit more expensive than the on-menu choices by the glass, but they were both fabulous. They were brave, too, since they started us with an excellent Chardonnay, when we'd suggested we normally stick to dry reds.

We had the iced shellfish platter, which was priced as it would be in most major cities: good, with the oysters with dressings and tuna cruda being outstanding. We also had the Low Country shrimp, southern-spiced and served with pickled okra and cheese grits, which I loved. My husband wasn't wild about the shrimp themselves, but agreed they were juicy and that the sides were very tasty. For mains, we had the dirty south swordfish with clam risotto and the pork done two ways (our waiter sheepishly suggested it as his favorite). A note on the menu said they generally cook to specific safety standards and this perhaps explains why both the pork loin and swordfish had odd textures: both looked right and tasted fine but seemed dry. The fish flaked well into the tasty risotto, though, and my second dish - pork belly done sous-vide and served on honey-jalapeno corn bread and corn silk - was the best thing I've eaten in a long, long time. We finished with a cheese plate (for my husband) and a 5-piece chocolate sampler (for me). Three of the five small desserts were just good and bit standard/trend-driven, but there was an excellent chocolate-lime creme brulee and a perfect coffee napoleon - could have eaten three of both. We had a good view of the Epcot fireworks near the end, and left very happy, despite the hefty bill.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“seafood connoisseur says - eat elsewhere”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Well. we've eaten all around the world, live in FL, and bottom line: not impressed, and you won't be either. A) extremely expensive B) cheap seafood purchased from who knows where since this in no way represents Florida seafood! Beware of the many positive reviews from "employees". Kids "want" to eat here since "zoo" is in the name - don't do it. All the kids we saw were miserable. Decor looks like a nightclub/retro with blue colored walls and white balls (we guessed bubbles) and that's it - sort of 70's. You have to walk through the bar to get to your table - very dark with scantilly clad waitresses. The place was filled with lots of "conventioners" who were excited to be eating in an "upscale" restaurant with their employer picking up the tab. So there you go. $3 for 1 oyster = $36 for a dozen - you don't find those prices at even the best seafood eateries in FL. We wanted to try this place as it was one of the few at Disney that we haven't. Wasted money. Food was definitely "salty" as another reviewer stated and on the small side of small. Iced tea comes in a bottle for $4 a bottle - serving one. Alcohol = super expensive. 2 people (sans the kiddos) = over $150. Paris, France - cheaper!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank sunmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Only in for Drinks and appetizers but we'll be back for dinner.”
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We have been here before for drinks about a year ago, and decided to go back last night for a revisit. We have only been here for drinks and light food so far.

The bar has a nice atmosphere that allows you to be dressed up in a suite and tie or just come in your casual vacation clothes. It is located in the Swan and Dolphin Hotel which is in walking distance to Disney Boardwalk and Epcot's World Showcase entrance. The bar tenders are great and can make pretty much anything you ask for, the best part is our bar tenders have always known their stuff when serving us.

Example: We ordered a pineapple drink on the menu and the bar tender explained that its been returned alot because its not what people expect, she says it terrible. Kristen our bartender went on to explain the history of the drink (an old manager came up with it) and let us sample the various liquors in the drink, yeah she's right it tasted like cleaner fluid. She went on to ask my Girlfriend what she liked in a drink and if she could make her something the thought would be more her taste. It was great, Thanks Kristen much appreciate it.

We had crab nachos with our drinks and wow those were good, we couldn't finish the plate and it was sad to see it go, but least it was worth the price. Prices are on the high side at the bar but we use it to treat ourselves and the bar is pleasant to sit at, drinks are good, and bartenders take very good care of you so its worth it for sure.

We do plan to go here for dinner in the future to see if the dinning experience matches our bar experience.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank enstormblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food and a lively and fun atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We made a quick trip to Orlando and stayed at the Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel where Todd English's Blue Zoo is on site. Our first night we were able to have dinner at this seafood restaurant and enjoyed it immensely as every item was delicious. They have a large dining room as well as a generous raw bar with booths and stool seating. Our meal was great from start to finish with the service by all involved attentive and efficient. The General Manager, Chad Lobner, stopped by our table to inquire about our dinner and proved to be a gracious and professional gentleman. He seemed genuinely interested in our opinions and open to suggestions and critiques. I believe his staff and customers must consider him an asset to this establishment as evidenced by the warm and friendly atmosphere we experienced. The Blue Zoo is definitely on our "must return to" list !

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FrenchWench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Todd English's Blue Zoo also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Todd English's Blue Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing