We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Quality Food”
Review of Q'Kenan Restaurant

Q'Kenan Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 3,808 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, Venezuelan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Very Good Quality Food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This establishment serves authentic Venezuelan food. It is unique to the American tongue and full of flavor. Everything is well prepared. My only gripe is that it is a tiny bit pricey for the portions served, but not exorbitantly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    90
    29
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Very delicious”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Came here based on good reviews. Ordered some empanadas and capachas. They were very tasty. Great little place to eat. Locally ran which is coolnas well.

Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bay City, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We like to visit small independent restaurants when we travel. And we are always looking for something that we won't find at home. This place fit the bill. We were greeted warmly and assisted through our dining experience. We let out waiter choose our meal for us since it was all unfamiliar cuisine. He explained everything and served it family style so that we all could try everything. It was wonderful. We will visit again when we are back in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“This is the epitome of what a family owned restaurant should be.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A Bolivarian Delight. Simon himself would be pleased to find such recipes and taste exported from Venezuela to shores of the United States!

After leaving SeaWorld , we checked Yelp for a non chain place in the vicinity of the park. Q'Keenan showed up as being 8 minutes away and off we went. (Please be advised that the restaurant is not directly on Vineland but is in a setback shopping complex that is anchored by Publix.)

The staff was incredibly pleasant and were well versed in spanish and english. The decor is simple, the walls lined with latin celebrities who have stopped in and reviews from local print media( all raving).

We ordered a shredded beef arepa, the mixto sampler platter (including sausage,chicken,steak, yucca and fries), and finally a side of tostones. This was more than enough for three people.

All the flavors exploded off the plate and onto our palates, while the ingredients were very fresh and served at the perfect temperature.

This place is the epitome of what Yelp should be used for. A unique, local experience that truly encompasses the diversity of the world around us combined with the small business acumen unique to the USA.

*This restaurant is not Cuban or Mexican(????)

** Just an aside, but in Spanish on the menu is a warning that "Prices are subject to change without notice" this is not translated into English. (Welcome to Venezuela???)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and authentic Venezuelan food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I have brought here several friends to try Venezuelan food and this place never let us down. The food is absolutely delicious.
You can also find a picture collection of Venezuelan celebrities on the walls.
Well worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelFZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Q'Kenan Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Q'Kenan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing