We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area
Ranked #181 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Weekend stay ruined by some poor management and bad luck.
Arrived Friday early evening. I had reserved a pack-n-play for my 1-yo son. I asked at check in does the room have a pack-n-play, Anna at the front desk informed me that she would have maintenance bring it right up. After an hour of waiting I went down to ask about the status of the pack-n-play and Anna admitted that they didn't have any more to give but not to loose hope that she was going to find me one. Four hours later I was talking to my Marriott rewards representative trying to change hotels when low and behold they found one a short distance away.
Why did it take a call to Marriott Rewards line to find a pack-n-play? The night was completely ruined, did I mention it was Valentine's night and this my gift to my wife, a short vacation.
The food - while waiting for pack-n-play to show up I ordered some dinner from a menu on the computer desk in the room. I ordered a pizza, some wings and mozzarella sticks. I had a bad feeling when the delivery guy made me come down to pickup my order and he pulled my food out of the truck of his beat-up jalopy. Needless to say, the food was cold, wings were nearly raw and the mozzi sticks had two mozzi sticks and a 1 chicken finger, really!?!!
After finally getting to sleep around 1am, hungry and cranky.
Saturday morning breakfast was hardy enough, it was one notch above a continental breakfast. Cold cereals, breads, waffle maker, scrambled eggs and a meat. The coffee was good, or maybe I just needed so badly it made it taste better.
After arriving back to the hotel on Saturday evening we come to find out that the elevator is broken, joy!! We are on the 5th floor and wait time for last remaining elevator are staggeringly long. Oh well, in for a penny in for a pound right? We get changed and head out for dinner at Charlies, yummy.
We return to the hotel late, my son is asleep and my wife hurting because she is 7.5 months pregnant. I drop my wife and my 9 yo at the main entrance and leave my son in the car seat since he is fast asleep. I drive around for 20 minutes in a futile search for a place to park. I finally go inside to ask were I am expected to park and the clerk starts describing a lot down the street that I can park at. really!!?!
Luckily he saw the look on my face and let me park where I was, in front of the flag pole. I grabbed my sleeping son and proceeded to wait 10 minutes for the elevator. My son was now awake again and decided it was playtime so no one can sleep.
After getting up to my room I did notice that the cleaning staff did a fine job with the room. I did find a piece of chocolate behind the bed when I was looking for a power outlet for my phone and there was a piece of candy in the couch when I pulled it out to bed down my 9yo. But they did go above and beyond cleaning the high-chair I brought as well as fluffing our personal pillows.
Sunday morning we slept-in finally. We packed the room up and left.

I attributed the elevator and parking as bad luck, but looking at previous reviews it is clear these issues happen more than it should.

Bottom line: If you need a portable crib or pack and play, bring your own.
Get a low floor so when the elevator goes out you can use the stairs.
If the hotel is fully booked, get a parking spot early!!

Note: The staff was friendly and professional even when I was at my worst. They were empathetic and doing everything they could to fix the issue.

This was the first and last time I will choose this hotel for my vacation dollars.

Room Tip: Keep to low floors away from elevator in case it breaks. Bring your own playpen for infant children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TScrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I greatly apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. I completely understand how frustrating these problems were for you during your family vacation. We have immediately taken action on these situations with the correct department heads to help prevent issues like these happening again and to help make our future guests accommodations comfortable. I am once again very sorry but thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience with us as we value the feedback of our guests to help improve in any way we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 735 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

I am a Marriott Platinum member, and so I stay in a lot of Springhill Suites. This hotel has been renovated since I last stayed here, and it is really nice - I was pleasantly surprised with the lobby, etc. Very nice. The hotel is clean and modern, and it is close to a lot of restaurants, etc. As for business travelers - the pillows and bedding are wonderful (not the case in non-renovated Springhill Suites!) The rooms are clean, and the internet connection is strong. There are also a lot of t.v. channels for a female business traveler (again, never happens at other hotels...I appreciate some Bravo, Oxygen, and VH1 when I travel. lol!). Anyway, this hotel looks great, and the service is wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We are delighted that your stay with the SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. When your travels bring you to the Orlando area we hope you will choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location close to International Drive and Universal Studios. The hotel upon arrival has a very inviting property. As you walk in the lobby is very nice, staff is friendly, and you feel like you are going to have a great stay. After checkin you as you wait for the elevator to get up to the rooms and wait and wait you may already get a little frustrated. The elevators are certainly slow. I would recommend getting a lower level floor if possible. We were on the 5th floor so needless to say we had some wait times. The hallways are bland but nice. Once you enter the room it definitely is a good size. Separate kitchenette, sofa, tv in living area. The room feels increasingly smaller the further you get into it. The bed takes up nearly the entire sleeping area. The bathroom is nothing special, very outdated, and the room decor is little to non-existent. It makes you feel a little closed in and as if you just moved into a new place and haven't had a chance to hang anything on the walls. The bed is comfortable and the pillows are nice so you should sleep well. They do advertise room service but that is a little misleading as it's actually a company that provides it and there is a $15 minimum so don't expect if your thirsty to be able to just order a late night drink. By the front desk they do have some snacks for sale but you will pay a much steeper price. Overall the hotel has curb appeal and will offer you a goodnights sleep but little else.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank GrantH770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and offer comments about your experience at our hotel. I'm sorry you found our hotel not up to your expectations in regards to the decor and size however I am glad to hear that the beds were comfortable and you got a good nights sleep. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I would say overall a good stay for business. It's close to the convention center and one street away from all the restaurants and shops. The breakfast was nice start to the day. One less stop to have to make before making it to meetings in the morning. The rooms were clean and the beds were great. Could use some minor attention to some aspects of the room like the refrigerator and some cleaning in the bathroom baseboards but over all happy with the cleanliness. I would stay again if back in the area for business.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your comments the clean rooms and good breakfast. Thanks for the feedback on the detail items in the bathroom as we will address these with our housekeeping dept. Again thank you for comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel has been upgraded nicely. The staff is very accommodating. The price is right ! A true winner ! I would not recommend basically for business travel, families will find it difficult to find activities at the hotel for children.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank pattlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we always appreciate feedback from our guests. I am glad to hear that you thought our accommodations and service were great. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This Springhill Suites is very nice. However, make sure that you program the street address in properly or you will be going way out of your way. The street name is Universal but it is very easy to program in the name "University" into your GPS, like I did. Maybe it is the way my GPS works that I made this mistake but I understand from some hotel staff that it happens quite frequently. Otherwise, the staff is very nice and helpful and the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bclinger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. We are delighted that your stay with the SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. When your travels bring you to the Orlando area we hope you will choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Close Proximity to the convention center and restaurants and bars. Very clean and comfortable. Although I didn't attend universal or sea world it's within minutes from the hotel. The pool area is small and the exercise room is adequate for the rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georodnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

I am excited that you chose our hotel and we appreciate your comments about the great service and clean rooms. On you next visit to Orlando we sincerely hope you will make the Springhil Suites Convention Center your choice to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area

Address: 8840 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-9354 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Orlando
#46 Green Hotel in Orlando
#49 Family Hotel in Orlando
#81 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $107 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savvy travelers will delight in SpringHill Suites® by Marriott® Orlando Convention Center’s spacious studio suites. Located just a 15-minute walk to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center and steps away from many of INternational Drives restaurants and attractions. Guests will also want to advantage of our free scheduled shuttle to the Walt Disney World® Resort Theme Parks. After a long day of work or play, you’ll feel right at home in your comfortable retreat that includes a sofabed, mini-refrigerator, microwave, and free high-speed internet access. Don’t miss a workout with our on-site fitness room, and be sure to take a dip in the outdoor heated pool with kids play fountain. Whether your plans include business or pleasure, SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center is the ideal hotel to suit all tastes and budgets. SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center has 167 studio suites on seven floors. A heated outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, SAS Ticati.COM, Splitty, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Orlando Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing