We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location for local Attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area
Ranked #148 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
OKC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location for local Attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I arrived to a traffic jam a mile from the hotel at 10pm at night. We couldn't believe it and wondered what it must be like during the day, but then found out the NBA was in town for their All Star Game which meant all the hotels were full up with patrons. Thankfully I had made our reservations several months before of I'd never have gotten a room.

This Marriott was very convenient to the attractions we were interested in...Sea World...Epcot...and Universal Studios were all within a few minutes and we had a multitude of restaurants to pick from nearby.

I generally prefer Marriott brand hotels because they're usually consistently good if not excellent. This hotel was very good on all counts with a tidy comfortable suite and an above average breakfast in the morning. The staff were both courteous and helpful. Public areas were also well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hank d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed our hotel and will return again very soon. The breakfast buffet in the morning is very popular and I am glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    244
    80
    19
    17
See reviews for
291
120
32
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Friendly, fast staff at checkin. The suites are nice, with comfortable beds. The shower has 2 shower heads which makes for a great end to a busy day in Orlando. Breakfast was great. Highly recommend the "make your own waffle station"....you can even choose blueberry waffles! Conveniently located close to I-95 and to the parks. I will stay here again, despite the fact they only have 2 elevators :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor and we didn't hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to complete a TA review. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of the staff and the blueberry waffles are pretty awesome! We hope you can be our guests again when you return to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Picked this one off of Orbitz because we had a late flight into MCO and it made no sense to enrich Disney for one more day than I needed to. It's nothing special. As others mentioned, the elevator was slow. Dingy hallways, especially in the lobby area and truly inadequate parking. Indeterminate stains on the bathroom floor.

On the plus side, close to the main strip on International Drive, a pleasant front desk staff, and the funkiest twin head shower heads I've ever encountered in a hotel.

Would I go again? Probably not. But if you need somewhere close to the action in the Universal Studios area, and your budget is tight, then you'll get value or your buck.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank blockschip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments regarding your previous stay. Our lobby will be under-going a renovation in September - October and will be transformed into a spectacular Springhill Suites. However, our guestrooms have been completely updated and brand new. I hope you will return again to see our new lobby after it is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Ok.. yes, the elevators are slow. I had a room on the 2nd floor and simply took the stairs. The rooms were nice and the breakfast was tasty and well stocked. I had no problems during my five night stay. There was an excellent walkway/running path outside of hotel and you have quick and easy access to the Convention Center and Rosen Shingle Creek (where I was attending a conference). A short walk to international drive and all the shops and eateries. I would stay here again without a moments hesitation.

Room Tip: The elevators are slow so getting a room on the first or second floor (if you don't mind a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate our guests who enjoy their stays dispite the slowness of the elevators. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed at SpringHill Suites last week. I had read some previous reviews on tripadvisor warning about this place and mentioning the elevators, but decided it couldn't be that bad, so we booked a room. Mistake. Upon check-in, I asked for a first floor room because of the elevator issues mentioned in other reviews. They told me that the first floor was completely booked and we would have a room on the 3rd floor. My family and I entered the elevator with another family and we were all on our way up to the 3rd floor when we realized the elevator was moving very slowly. When we reached the 3rd floor, the door to the elevator would not open. It then started going back to the 1st floor where the door also did not open. We tried pushing the 3rd floor button again and the same thing happened. When we got back to the first floor, we stood in silence for a couple seconds and then joked about how long we should wait before calling for help. We tried pushing the door open button repeatedly and the door finally opened. I went straight to the front desk and told staff who did not seem very concerned about this at all. They did offer us points on our Marriott rewards account, which was nice, but they honestly did not seem to care that the elevator was not working properly. After that, we decided not to use the elevator and were about to take the stairs to our room when miraculously they found an open room on the first floor to give us. Our room also had a funny smell and just seemed run-down. The next morning, upon check-out, the front desk charged us more than we owed on the room and we had to go back and get a refund for the extra charges. We regret choosing this particular Marriott hotel for our stay and would not recommend it to any traveler.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RxCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

While at first you feel that the hotel is wonderful,one soon discovers that this place is a dive. We had 3 fire alarms one occurred at 5:30 am all due to a cooling issue in thw elevator control room. The elevators were slow taking 52 seconds to go from floor 1 to the 5th floor non stop. Breakfast was the same everyday no variation. The pool was just a pool nothing special. The rooms appeared clean until you walked in them with white socks on. Insects were a problem and management was never seen. The hotel had no change for the use of the laundry and staff had to run to the residence inn for quarters. The laundry room 1 washer and 1dryer onfloors 2,4,6 were unbareably hot. While the location was good for i drive etc i wiyld look for a better place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CantonDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we appreicate the candid feedback. Firstly, let me apologize for the (2) fire alarms as we did experience some mechanical issues with the elevator system. These types of problems are always unforeseen and very unfortunate, especialy the ones that result in waking guests early in the morning, however, our fire control system did work as it was designed and that was to alert the staff of an issue that needed to be addressed. Safety of our guests are our first concern and once the staff ensured there wasn't an emergency situation, the alarm was silenced while awaiting the fire department to also view the area and clear and reset the fire panel.

As for the other issues including the breakfast, pool area and laundry rooms, I will review your feedback with each department manager for for follow-up.

Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The problems with the elevators of this facility have been documented in previous reviews.

At approximately 10:20 PM on 6/21/12 we were awakened by the sounds of the fire alarm going off. We evacuated with some of the other guests without the aid or assistance of staff. Many guests remained in their rooms and ignored the alarm.

The front desk staff did not take the alarm seriously. They indicated that the problem probably came from one of the two elevators and acted like this was something that had happened before. They were clueless about an evacuation plan or way to ensure that all guests were accounted for.

The GM Bob McCoy did not arrive on site to assess the situation until the next morning. The fire department arrived in about 30 minutes without siren or emergency lights. They acted as if this was not an isolated incident and left after restoring service in one of the two elevators.

Beware of this aged facility with staff that can't implement a simple evacuation plan!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Errantflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback tells us what we are doing right and also where we need to improve. Please rest assured that the comments we receive are taken seriously and that the appropriate actions will be taken to correct the issues you addressed. Thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area

Property: SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area
Address: 8840 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-9354 (Formerly SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in Orlando
#44 Business Hotel in Orlando
#49 Family Hotel in Orlando
#81 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savvy travelers will delight in SpringHill Suites® by Marriott® Orlando Convention Center’s spacious studio suites. Located just a 15-minute walk to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center and steps away from many of INternational Drives restaurants and attractions. Guests will also want to advantage of our free scheduled shuttle to the Walt Disney World® Resort Theme Parks. After a long day of work or play, you’ll feel right at home in your comfortable retreat that includes a sofabed, mini-refrigerator, microwave, and free high-speed internet access. Don’t miss a workout with our on-site fitness room, and be sure to take a dip in the outdoor heated pool with kids play fountain. Whether your plans include business or pleasure, SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center is the ideal hotel to suit all tastes and budgets. SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center has 167 studio suites on seven floors. A heated outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Orlando Convention Center/International Drive Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Orlando Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing