We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center
Ranked #168 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dirty!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel itself seems recently remodeled, and I use that term loosely. It seems that they came in, replaced the carpet, painted most of the walls, and updated parts of the bathrooms and kitchens. Having said that, the interior seems dated and worn. Holes in the walls were simply patched with gobs of plaster and not even painted over. The wood furniture is worn and appears to be 15-20 years old. The walls and windows do not keep out sound.

The worst part was the cleanliness of our room or lack thereof. There was urine in our toilet, there were BBs and pellets all over one of the bedroom floors, and someone's chap stick was laying in the middle of the floor. Clearly the room was not cleaned. Gross. I called and maintenance came up and cleaned the toilets and took all the BBs and pellets I picked up.

Simply put, the hotel itself and the cleanliness were not up to expectations of a Marriott establishment.

As a side note, I had an earlier review for this location removed for being published to the wrong location. It was not. It seems as though the hotel did not like my accurate review. In fact, I have seen other negative reviews mysteriously disappear recently as well. Hmmmmm.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Dizane, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologizes for the inconveniences we caused you during your stay with us. I have personally looked into issues to ensure we do not repeat the same experience you had again. I truly hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    153
    66
    20
    19
See reviews for
206
68
19
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Not quite up to what I was expecting but the beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. We reserved a 2 bedroom suite so we could take our granddaughter to SeaWorld to swim with the dolphins. Maybe it was the word suite that is the problem, it brings up connotations of comfort and elegance and at a total price of $290 for a night that is what I was expecting. The first room we received still had underwear and food in the dresser drawers from a previous occupant in our granddaughters room. When my wife called down to the desk they said they would send someone up to clean it but I called back and they moved us to a room on the fifth floor immediately without any problem. The initial room was on the 2nd floor and smelled a lot like curry throughout the halls. The fifth floor did not seem to have this problem. Both rooms were what I would call a little tired, patches here and there and painted over furniture to cover scratches. Management seemed genuinely concerned and had sent me emails by the time we got home apologizing for the situation and even crediting my Marriott rewards card with bonus points which was very considerate. I would suggest updating the worn out furniture and use a professional contractor to do repairs.

Room Tip: 2nd floor hallways smelled of curry, 5th floor had no odors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear DKB100, Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you pointing out to the comfortability of our beds. I apologize about the issues you faced with your room and will be immediately looking into these issues to ensure they are corrected and do not reoccur. I am truly sorry to hear your experience with us was not satisfactory. This is definitely not what we strive here for and I truly hope you will give us another chance in the future so that we can really impress you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The hotel itself seems recently remodeled, and I use that term loosely. It seems that they came in, replaced the carpet, painted most of the walls, and updated parts of the bathrooms and kitchens. Having said that, the interior seems dated and worn. Holes in the walls were simply patched with gobs of plaster and not even painted over. The wood furniture is worn and appears to be 15-20 years old. The walls and windows do not keep out sound.

The worst part was the cleanliness of our room or lack thereof. There was urine in our toilet, there were BBs and pellets all over one of the bedroom floors, and someone’s chap stick was laying in the middle of the floor. Clearly the room was not cleaned. Gross. I called and maintenance came up and cleaned the toilets and took all the BBs and pellets I picked up.

Simply put, the hotel itself and the cleanliness were not up to expectations of a Marriott establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Dizane,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment about our hotel. We truly apologize for the lack of cleanliness you experienced. I have notified our entire staff of this incident and we are working really had to make sure this problem never occurs again. If there is anything else we can do please let us know!

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Gina F
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Terrific hotel with great staff, especially Will, Lourdes and Kevin. Very clean, great service from maids and most of the reception staff. Thanks Fernando for putting out lounger on the patio when the pool was getting reconstructed. Only downside was that we only managed 2 days at the pool after it was finally ready. Did get to us pool at the Hyatt but must admit slightly disappointed as part of my holiday is being able to got to the pool after being out.

However, the pool now looks fantastic. Would not go to any other hotel in Orlando as it take some beating on cleanliness, friendly staff

Room Tip: We prefer a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Margaretl, Thank you so much for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We will make sure to pass on your comments to all our team members. We appreciate you pointing out to the cleanliness of our hotel and to our newly renovated pool. We look forward to serving you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell Ga
Level Contributor
146 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The rooms were great for a family because of the fold out bed and kitchen area. I can't say the fold out is comfortable but what fold out is? The place was clean, quiet, and the location was perfect if you are going to Universal and not far at all from Disney. We didn't realize it but just down the street is a ton of restaurants and shopping also. They serve a breakfast buffet every morning. It's not the greatest but it's free and it's there if you want it. What we didn't know was during the week they have a cocktail hour and free dinners. We had no idea it was included in our stay. After being bled dry of money at the theme parks it would have been nice to know. The staff however was very friendly and when we complained that our air was really really loud they were on it right away. They tried to fix it but it was still loud. The best part is they gave us a discount for our trouble without even asking after we got home and filled out the survey. NOW that is GOOD CUSTOMER service that you rarely see. Overall I would recommend the place in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I would not stay on the first floor only because of the foot traffic in the morning going to and fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkay57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear dreamer5363, Thank you for taking a moment to review our property on TripAdvisor, we'll make sure to pass your comments on to everyone on our team. We apologize about any inconveniences you faced during your stay but are pleased to know that our staff was able to accommodate you. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Really enjoyed our four nights here. Only problem I had was that the toilet seat would not stay up on it's own. Not a problem for the ladies though.
The freezer was fairly slow in making the ice but a member of the staff got some for us.
These are very minor problems and nothing to put us off staying there on our next visit to Orlando.

Room Tip: Hotel has very easy free parking. Good internet service. This place is close enough to the conventi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear John A, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 4 night stay and apologize about the issues you had with your room. We will be immediately looking into these issues to ensure they are corrected and do not reoccur. We do appreciate you pointing out to our parking and high speed Internet that we provide complimentary to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
373 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have to echo what other have said. This is simply a great place to stay!! The staff are friendly and accommodating, the suites are well appointed, clean, spacious with comfy beds and wonderful fluffy towels. Because the hotel is located on Universal Blvd it seemed at first blush to be a bit remote. However, Universal Blvd parallels International Drive. So a simple walk over to I-drive (about two blocks) leaves you smack in the middle of tons of restaurants and things to do. It's also about a 10 minute drive to Universal and about 15 minutes to Disneyworld. At breakfast there was a good selection of eggs, bacon, breads, fruits, cereal etc. More than adequate and better than the fare at a lot of other similar hotels. We never made it to the Manager's reception in the evenings because we stayed out late but it was probably good as well. As in all, our four night stay was a delight!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Jonsha, Thank you very much for such a great review of our property. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable and pleasant one. We also thank you for pointing out to our convenient location and to our breakfast buffet selection. We look forward to serving you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center
Address: 8800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-9354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in Orlando
#87 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Orlando Hotel Orlando
Orlando Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing