We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking distance to everything on international drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center
Ranked #182 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the room was an appartment with full kitchen and full sized fridge and microwave. The lounge are was spacious with a breakfast bar and stools to sit at. The bedroom had a king bed which was very comfortable. My only complaint being the noise from the air condition unit we were on level 2. After the first night and not getting very much sleep as it was so loud, they kindly changed our room over to one on the 4th floor, which was much better. We enjoyed the space in the apprtment having just come off a cruise ship. The hotel had free buffet hot breakfast which was good and the choice was also good. The pool are was also quite large with a spa, but we didnt use as too busy doing other stuff. There was an ouside bbq for use if you wanted to use it and tables and chairs outside as well, along with a decent smoking area. The hotel offers free dinner at night a couple of nights a week with free wine and beer. We didnt eat there but did get use of the free beverages. Quite a nice touch by the hotel i thought.
Access to interational drive was via the back carpark, which has a lot of places to eat, senior frogs, fridays, and the bahama breeze which is really hard to beat for the food and prices along with entertainment. Tip go early around 5 to get a table. Wallgreens is only a few steps away so you can get almost everything you need there.. The trolly bus stops outside the hotel for univeral bvd to univeral and wet and wild and just outside wallgreens for the trolly bus on interational drive to take you to outlet malls. one night we walked up to the main road for dinner (10 mins walk , sorry cant remember the name of the street but it was at the traffic lights on universal, away from the convention centre end) we ate at the china buffet, the food was really good, all you could eat for $15, the food was fresh and huge variety of chinese food, very popular so the food replenished fast, the place was nothing flash but the food was of a very good standard and was licensed so you could get a beer or wine.
I would use this hotel again and can recommend, as it was clean and comfortable and very convienient to everything, desk staff were very helpfull, there was also a vending machine and cold fridge which stocked beer for $5 in the foyer as well as snack foods. I also found the size of the appartment a deffinate plus and for the price we paid thought it very reasonable.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor when booking in as these have less air con noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lassie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear "lassie79",
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review about our hotel. We are delightful to hear your stay with us was comfortable and pleasant. Thanks for pointing out to our free hot breakfast, manager's reception (Monday - Friday) and also our convenient location within walking distance to lots of different restaurants. I'm sorry you experienced a problem in the beginning with the AC unit being noisy and I'm glad to hear our staff was able to quickly resolve that by offering you another room. Again, Thank You and we all look forward to seeing you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 498 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Residence Inns are always fairly perfect. Like staying in your own studio apartment. But I reserved a mobility-accessible room, and there was no shower chair available. What's the point of having a handicapped-accessible room with all sorts of other features but no shower chair? That's kind of standard...and logical.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear "Mark1206",
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with other travelers. We are glad that your overall experience was good and want to apologize for the inconveniences we caused you with the shower chair missing from your accessible room's bathroom. It seems like that was, unfortunately, overlooked by our staff. We apologize and truly hope this would not prevent you from staying with us again! We truly hope you will give us another chance in the future so that we can really impress you with the service and amenities we have to offer. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have never stayed at a Residence Inn but I will stay again in the future. I was within walking distance of the convention center and lots of places to eat and places to see. Room was beautiful. Felt like I was in a high priced hotel. The free breakfast and managers reception was an added bonus

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Paula W.,
Thank you for sharing with others about your recent experience with us. We are glad to hear you liked every aspect of our property and found our location to be very convenient within walking distance to the Convention Center and lots of different restaurants and shops. We also appreciate you mentioning our complimentary breakfast and manager's reception. Hope to see you here again in the nearest future! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel in Orlando. The service upon our check in was nothing less than outstanding. We were tired and looking for a quick place to go to for dinner and the lady who checked us in gave us great recommendations and got us quickly checked in. We were very pleased when we got to our room. Large, CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, rooms/suite with everything you possibly could need for a quick or longer stay over. The staff in the morning greeted us friendly, housekeeping asked if we required any additional towels, etc. and if we were satisfied with our rooms. They were SMILING and seemed very happy to be servicing the guest there! Breakfast was great and the dinning room was kept clean and cleared no matter what time you got there during their hours. I stay at a lot of hotels for business and it is great when you go to one for pleasure and you feel so relaxed and glad you chose it for a fun weekend to rejuvenate with a loved one and family! I'll definitely be visiting this hotel again in the future. Great Job staff!

Room Tip: We had a king suite overlooking the pool and whirlpool area. You could hear some noise but it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKrajnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear "RKrajnik",
Thank you so much for taking your time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words about our personnel and are delightful to hear you truly enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to serving you here again next time you visit Orlando! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a decent two room suite on the 4th floor, facing the north parking lot. A lot of noise from the parking lot in the early morning, but I do think I'm the only one it actually woke. The rooms were clean enough and in good shape, we were comfortable. I still wish they had a two room suite with either one king and two twins or one queen and two twins. As my kids get older the pull out couch becomes a less comfortable option for them.

The lobby renovation is done and it looks marvelous. They also remodeled the breakfast area. There's a little bit of a problem with congestion if they're booked full and you try to get breakfast in the last 30 minutes of the time period they offer it in. It would be nice if they offered slightly longer hours on breakfast, after a long day at the parks the previous day, it's hard to get the kids up to eat by 9:00am. They're tired and want to sleep in a little more. Presumably that's a common problem for many families since they breakfast area is very busy between 8:30 - 9:00am. I'm assuming it's not quite so congested if you get down there earlier.

The location is a quick walk away from International Blvd where you can find plenty of restaurants and stores. We actually walked out the back side of the property and through the adjacent hotel's parking lot to be right on I-Drive. Miller's Ale House is a couple blocks down, Cici's Pizza is practically across the street and there are dozens of other options within a stone's throw. There's a Walgreen's (24 hr if I recall) just a block away. Very convenient.

I'll repeat that this location is more convenient to Universal, but we stay here when we visit Disney too because I typically see better rates here than at the other Residence Inns in the Orlando area. WDW is only a 20 mins or so drive away depending on the traffic on 4, which was fairly heavy, especially in the evening rush hour time period.

Room Tip: avoid odd numbered rooms, all floors that face the north parking lot. Ask for even numbered/interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aanuvane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear "Aanuvane",
Thanks for sharing with others about your recent stay with us. We are glad to have you back and are delightful to hear you liked how we remodeled our lobby and breakfast areas. We also want to thank you for all the comments you made in regards to our breakfast hours. We'll certainly look into that. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit and, hopefully, we'll be able to meet in person. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the Orlando Convention Center, March 17-21, 2013. This hotel is conveniently located near the Orlando Convention Center on a quiet location behind all the action on International Drive. There is open pasture across the street from the hotel where you can see horses. The staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent and there is always good coffee and lemmonade in the lobby throughout the day. The evening reception is more like dinner. On Italian night they had lasagna, salad, rolls, dessert, wine, beer, fruit, and vegetable lasagna. The bed was very comfortable and the lighting in the room was very good. The shower was great. The only negative is that there is no safe in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luzmarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Luzmarina,
Thank you for sharing about your experiences at our hotel. We are delightful to hear you had a great experience and fully enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out to our great breakfast and social hour selections. We look forward to your next stay with us! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booked a 1-bedroom suite using points. Check-in was a breeze. We arrived at around 1pm, and was told room was not ready. 15 minutes later, I received a call notifying us that our room was ready. Suite was spacious and everything was in order. Its location was perfect: close to International Drive, but not in the traffic mess. The only complaint I have was that the A/C unit was housed in the bedroom and it was very noisy when it's on. All other aspects were good.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina F, General Manager at Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Alex T.,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review about our property. We are all glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Appreciate your comments on our convenient location and good sized rooms. Hope to see you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Orlando International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center

Address: 8800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-9354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in Orlando
#87 Business Hotel in Orlando
#118 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $111 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Orlando Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Orlando Hotel Orlando
Orlando Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing