We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Inn Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #176 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a terrible experience at the Clarion Lake Buena Vista last week (Oct. 2012). We had been swimming and when we returned to the room there was a 1/4 inch of water throughout our room. Our bathroom toilet had overflowed into the entire room soiling our luggage, shoes, and various other items. We immediately called the front desk and a maintenance person did arrive within 10 minutes, but only to say he'd be back with a vacuum. We asked him if the hotel manager was coming and he stated that we needed to call the front desk again. Not one person from the hotel staff offered to help us gather our soaked belongings. We waited 30 minutes before the manager finally came to offer us a new room. She gave us tokens to do our own laundry, but not enough to do all that had been soiled. Meanwhile, the maintenance man was vacuuming up the water and proceeded to dump the contents of the vacuum outside on the walkway beside all of our belongings causing them to be soiled yet again with even dirtier water. The whole ordeal caused us to spend the rest of our evening doing laundry and cleaning our things. We had to throw out numerous food items that were not replaced. The lack of hospitality and customer service was appalling. No refund or compensation for our loss of time and soiled items was offered. I wouldn't recommend staying here ever!!!

Room Tip: Warning: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,781 - 1,787 of 5,102 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is a dump! The staff is rude and the rooms are horrible! This place is very old and it shows. The doors need maintenance. It took us several tries to get in every time. Everything in the room is yellow and red including the lights. The lights in the bathroom are this disgusting low wattage yellow so you're unable to see anything. If you stay here bring a flash light or lantern. The cleanliness of the rooms is also very bad. It's like they only make the bed? We had hair all over the bathroom including the shower walls and there were ants on the desk and dresser and other critters running around. There is no water pressure so good luck brushing your teeth or flushing the toilet. And if you want to sleep in forget about it housekeeping will be banging on your door around eight in the morning to ask you when you plan on checking out which I thought was very rude! I mention some of these issues to the front desk and they didn't care. I would save your money and go elsewhere you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: No room is a good room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here 10.7 - 10.8 for Halloween Horror Nights 2012..

First of all, killer location. Just a left turn away from Downtown Disney right there on Palm Parkway.

Got to the hotel, check-in was relatively easy, although the desk clerk didn't seem to excited to be there.

Got to the room, was actually impressed with the cleanliness, I wasn't really expecting it.

We had room 1112, looking at a pond and the interstate.

We go out to HHN, and do our thing, come back to crash for the night.

The only issue I really have with this hotel was the road noise you could hear from I-4.

It was pretty tough to sleep, but I imagine the rooms on the other side of the hotel were pretty quiet.

The soap smelled horrible, but I won't nit pick at that.

All-in-all, pleasant stay, nice hotel, and if I want a hotel for $55/n again, I'll consider staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room in the part of the hotel facing Palm Parkway as opposed to I-4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosenHotels, Manager at Clarion Inn Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have been to Florida many times but I have never stayed in Lake Buena Vista always Kissimmee but due to a late deal we booked Clarion Inn Lake Buena Vista. We have just come back from spending two weeks at this hotel it is very clean with excellent facilities in the room with a micro wave and fridge. and FREE wifi. It is in a great position for all the attractions, with a the main restaurants in the surrounding area. The pool is great with an abundance of pool towels, could do with a bit more of a clean round the tiles. Which I would add is the only downside of this hotel. I especially liked the fact that they had 24 hr security gate letting you in only if you had a pass. If I go back as a couple I would certainly book this hotel again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essexbird15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosenHotels, Manager at Clarion Inn Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Excellent hotel situated in a great position for all the attractions in Orlando.
Very clean with all the facilities needed.
We have stayed in five different hotels in Orlando and found this to be the best value with no complaints at all.
We are Mid sixties, been about a bit. and can easily afford dearer hotels but this hotel is great for the Florida Vacation. Woud certainly use again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a decent hotel especially if all you want is basic amenities, safe place and a pool. The room had microwave and fridge which is great. Internet was decent. Pool is fine as well, I especially liked that they have a deeper section (I hate it that most pools are only 5.5 ft deep - this was over 6 ft).

PROs

Nice pool (though not heated)
Microwave, safe and fridge included

if you use the free Orlando Magic card (search internet), you get free breakfast. The breakfast is not that good btw, most thing seemed they were made from frozen items (especially the turkey sausages), bacon was terrible, and so were the pancakes (seriously, how do you screw that up?). Also a lot of the fruits were from a can. So do NOT pay for this breakfast. For free, it was edible.

Free internet and printing at the lobby. This is great for boarding passes.

Free parking

Close to a lot of shops. There is a food mart just down the road next to the strip mall next to Holiday Inn

CONs

- water pressure was really bad, especially at the sink. we were at 5th floor so maybe it is better lower floors
- breakfast was really not good
- kinda moldy bathroom
- the unfriendly Disney and other attraction sales people. After you check in, they tell you to go talk to them, saying they have a welcome packet. It is nothing more than a sales pitch. We waited 10 minutes for the guy to finish his phone conversation, and then he gave us "tips". It is a sales pitch for time share. You get 50% off disney tickets. This is actually a bad deal as for example, in Mexico, they give you $200 worth of stuff for the pitch.

Also he recommended us (before telling us about the pitch) that we should just get the regular tickets as opposed to the park hopper for Disney and upgrade at the park. Turns out the reason he told usthis is because you would get 50% of the tickets if you went for the pitch. If you agreed to go to the presentation, then he would only be giving you 50% of the cheaper tickets (not the more expensive park hopper). Shady. This was on 9/27/12.

Then he got all bent out of shape visibly when we said we are not interested, and tried to pressure us. No thanks.

We bought our tickets for Disney the next day from them after the lady said that there were long lines and it would take 30 minutes. They charge you $5/ticket. She was also not friendly at all. I guess seeing just a one person buying a ticket she was trying to get to the bigger families. Guessing they get commission.

In fact, these two people were the only unfriendly people we met in our trip to Orlando, very nice people otherwise! This was on 9/28/12.

In conclusion, if you want a basic room at a cheap price, this is a decent option. Pity, they can make the place more attractive with just couple things like including some yogurt and decent food, and making sure the "attraction sales" people are actually nice people.

Room Tip: Do not choose 5th floor. Water pressure was very bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdxswing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from two excellent weeks at Clarion Inn and found it to be a brilliant base. Far enough not to be bothered by Disney all the time but only a ten minute drive to Downtown Disney and Pleasure Island. The hotel is surrounded by the best of restaurants catering for all tastes and likes. Universal Studios is around a twenty minute drive and the I4 runs past the hotel but causes little or no disturbance from traffic noise. The room was cleaned daily to a good standard and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn International
#118 of 342 in Orlando
6,804 reviews
Rosen Inn
#103 of 342 in Orlando
3,050 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Lake Buena Vista

Address: 8442 Palm Pkwy, Orlando, FL 32836-6413 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $63 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Lake Buena Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 640
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than 2 miles from the world-famous attraction Walt Disney World(R) theme park, the Clarion Inn lake Buena Vista, a Rosen Hotel is your ideal choice in location whether you are visiting for business or for an Orlando family vacation. We are an official Walt Disney World Good Neighbor(R) Hotel distinguished by meeting high standards of quality and service. We are also AAA 3 diamond approved. Our package page offers Walt Disney World(R) tickets combined with a deluxe guestroom to help you plan and budget your Walt Disney World(R) vacation wisely. Walt Disney World(R) tickets can be purchased at our guest services ticket and attraction concierge desk. Here you can pic up the theme park, Lake Buena Vista Factory Outlet(R), and Premium Outlets Vineland shopping shuttle schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Clarion Inn Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Comfort Lake Buena Vista
Comfort Inn Orlando
Orlando Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing