We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly Ghetto - Doesn't cut it as a Red Roof Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall
Ranked #210 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Formerly Econolodge and it shows. The desk people were not unhelpful - average I would say. It looks like they just slapped a Red Roof Inn sign on the property. Mattress below average quality Needs maintenance and not the cleanest motel I've stayed in. Noisy outside the rooms at night. Parking is barely adequate. There is an Orlando Ale House right across the road. Good food and drink. Not a really bad property overall but not up to Red Roof standards. The RR Inn across from the convention center is probably much nicer, but I didn't want to stay on I-Drive this trip. As a former Orlando area resident, I know the South Orange Blossom Trail corridor can get flaky, but they have steadily improved the area over the last 20 years or so. I just wouldn't stay here again and Orlando has every type of accommodation to choose from.

Room Tip: Up nearer the office, the better, I guess. Very long, narrow property. The rooms are pretty much th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaHeat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on the Red Roof Inn Orlando South. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We have recently replaced our Mattresses, televisions, and flooring. We have also worked diligently to make this a fun, family friendly property. We offer a 100% Hassle Free Guarantee. I would love to talk to you regarding your stay and obtain more feedback from you. Please give me a call at 407-240-0570.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 404 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel over all was good the pillows and towels were great. However we arrived at midnight and had to change rooms due to the mattress was broken. New room another broken mattress. By this time it was after 1 am so we just went to bed. Decided to use the jetted tub yeah it was broken too. Ok so we call and we are moved a third time. You know the saying third times a charm well not in this case. The mattress in this room was worse than the first two this one actually had the metal sticking out. The mgr was nice she gave us free snacks and water in the third room. And refunded one of our nights stay. So if you stay here just remember to bring your own mattress.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaimewgentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on the Red Roof Inn Orlando South. After we spoke the morning of your departure I reviewed the rooms that you stayed in, and have remedied the issues. New mattresses are being installed in those rooms, and the jacuzzi has been fixed. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to accomodate you while you were in Orlando, and I hope that you will give us another try on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The worst thing about the hotel i wold have to say is the location. Still it is only 20 min away from downtown disney and the premium outlet and about 10 minutes away from universal studios. The rooms are clean and the bathroom is clean. Employees are friendly and willing to help. Overall a very good hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Ch33z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review on the Red Roof Inn Orlando South. We pride ourselves on our service and work hard to make sure everyone is comfortable while they are staying with us. We hope to see you the next time you visit the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is mediocre. We stayed for one night between Disney and driving back to TX. I thought that the room could have been a bit cleaner. Other than that, I think that the hotel was just fine for a one night stay. I wouldn't have stayed there for one night, but it is certainly a good price. It is a little far if you plan on going to Disney or Universal, so I would reconsider staying there if that is your plan. The individuals working at the hotel were excellent. We booked on expedia to get a lower rate than what was posted online.

All in all, decent but not worth staying a long period of time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emily31778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Emily,

Thank you for your review on the Red Roof Inn Orlando South. While we are not next door to the theme parks, we are only a short drive from them, and have special deals worked out with cab companies for those guests who are not driving. We are also within walking distance of the Florida Mall, Central Florida's largest shopping mall. We are staffed by individuals who love what they do, and enjoy assisting our guests and making their visit to Central Florida the best it can be. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Dear Travel
SERVICE WAS AMAZING thanks to KEIRA and other great employees who CARE
AT THIS WONDERFUL HOTEL ,romms are very clean and it is located in a GREAT LOCATION that is close to everything

LOVE JIMMY
Jimmyland Corporation , J MUSIC GROUP

Room Tip: amazing service from EVERYONE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIMMY D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Jimmy,

Thank you for your feedback on the Red Roof Inn Orlando south. We always look forward to seeing you each week, and are happy that we are able to accomodate you. Our staff always tries to go the extra mile for all of our guests, and enjoy hearing feedback from everyone.

Thanks again, and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hello Travelers, Red Roof Inn Orlando is an excellent place to stay in. Pricing is affordable for those trying to save a little bit of money. The manager and Staff are very helpful. Hotel rooms are clean thanks to the hard working Staff. Definitely recommend the Red Roof Inn Orlando South- Florida Mall.

Room Tip: Sorry no restaurant oops. Accidentally rated this portion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Red Roof Inn Orlando South. We greatly appreciate the time you took to leave us your feedback. We always strive to provide every guest with a great stay, and will share your feedback with everyone here. We look forward to seeing you on y our next visit to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The room was very clean, spacious and in good order. But a few nits,
- extra charge by default on the nightly bill for use of the safe, you have to explicitly ask them to remove it at the end of your stay (scam).
- informed the night manager (11/23) the previous occupant left their pajamas on the hook on the back of the bathroom door and she assured me they'd send someone over immediately to pick them up. On checkout, I brought it to their attention again and that it included someone's used underwear. Only upon mention of the underwear did she make it a point to write it down. Don't know if they ever did remove them.
- WiFi worked only 1 out of 4 days.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmeliaAirheadOnTheRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Red Roof Inn Orlando South. First, let me apologize that you were not aware of the safe charges upon check-in. We inform all of our guests of this feature in your room upon check-in. To ensure that the GSR explains the program we have each guest initial that they understand this small charge will be assessed at check-in. If the safe is not utilized, we are always happy to refund those charges.

I deeply apologize for the way your issues were handled, and I can assure you that the GSR's have been shown your concerns and this will not happen again. We also have a 24 hour tech support line for our Wi-Fi that is free for our guests. We always try to remedy the problem at the property level first, but we understand how important Wi-Fi is to our guests and we are always happy to call tech support on your behalf.

We hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Knights Inn Orlando
Knights Inn Orlando
#255 of 341 in Orlando
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florida Mall
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#290 of 341 in Orlando
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Florida Hotel & Conference Center, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#169 of 341 in Orlando
654 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn at International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall

Address: 8296 S Orange Blossom Trl, Orlando, FL 32809-7606 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Mall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $77 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Orlando South - Florida Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge At Florida Mall Hotel Orlando
Park Inn Orlando
Park Inn Florida Mall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing