We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the luxury hotel that is represented online!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Ranked #89 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the luxury hotel that is represented online!!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We were looking to stay at a upscale hotel while we were in Orlando for a concert on our 23rd Anniversary. When we arrived and went to our room, it smelled like smoke. This is a non-smoking hotel, so we were surprised. I went to the front desk and they acted like I had been smoking in the room! Finally they moved us to the room across the hall. It at least smelled clean. Very disappointed that the kitchen in our suite did not have dishes. We had to call down to the front desk to get wine glasses and some dishes. Room was fairly clean. The bathroom was nice and roomy, except that the hotel website claims that they have garden tubs. That was one of my main reasons for booking there---a good long relaxing soak in the tub. It was a regular bathtub and I was very disappointed. The maid service did not come to our room even though we stayed for 3 days. The only real redeeming quality was the bed. It was like sleeping on a cloud! Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. I was not impressed with the staff or the quality of the room. I should have stayed at the Peabody for $100.00 more.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovetosail0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager60, Hotel General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, May 19, 2009
We do empathize with this reviewer, but would like to clarify the details of the guest's stay. We advertise ourselves as a 100% non-smoking hotel. Occasionally, guests choose to ignore our policy, and are subsequently charged a $250 deep cleaning fee. If a guest notices anything in a room that displeases them, we will happily assist in moving to a room that is acceptable. We do not list any of our rooms as having kitchenettes or dishes, but if a guest has a request for dishes, a call to the front desk and we will gladly deliver dishes. We do offer garden tubs on our top 4 floors and have reiterated with the Front Desk Staff where our garden tubs are located. The Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown provides daily housekeeping service. This guest stayed with us for two nights, not three. As this guest checked into a clean room, housekeeping would not have serviced the room until the next morning, but we are showing this guest had a Do Not Disturb sign on the guest room door, which we honored and did not enter the room. The following morning was the date of check out, so the housekeeping department would not have serviced the room until after checkout. I am pleased that this guest was satisfied with our beds, we have been told numerous times they are the most comfortable in Orlando. We take our Guest Service extremely serious and currently rank as in the top 20 performing Crowne Plazas in North America as told by IHG's Guest Surveys. We have contacted this guest to give the Crowne Plaza another opportunity to show our commitment to our level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    231
    138
    78
    45
See reviews for
164
213
54
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed here while on vacation in the Orlando area. This hotel is very well managed and exceeded our expectations in every way. The General Manager and his staff went out of their way to provide us with outstanding service and made our three day stay a very memorable one. Priority Club members are not only recognized but are given extra special treatment. Our room was very modern, 42" LCD TVs, Granite counters, awesome shower, and very comfortable beds. The hotel also has a nice fitness center equipped with new treadmills and elliptical machines. This hotel is close enough to Universal Studios and Sea World, and about 20-25 minutes to the Disney Parks. If you're looking for a hotel that goes out of their way to provide you with awesome service this is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbaker2858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I must admit I was very impressed with this property! From the extremely friendly and professional staff working at the check in desk to the cookies at at the elevator, this hotel was top-notch!

I got an excellent rate on priceline for this property and it was worth every cent. Recently renovated, the rooms were re-done in a very modern design that I really like and want to replicate in my house. I really liked the dark wood furniture with silver accents and the large LCD tv mounted to the wall. Dark brown carpet was also nice. The bathroom was also modernized with a great sink area that I wish I could buy for my house. Even the bathroom walls were painted a warm, pleasing brown/tan color that you don't expect to find in a hotel. Shower was also tastefully redone with a great showerhead. Pity that there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom and that the overhead light in the shower was so bright that it felt like a spotlight shining on me. I turned off the lights and put the vanity mirror lights on it was so bad.

Back to the room...the leather headboards were a classy touch and the bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in recently! Two weeks ago I was at a Ritz Carlton property and the beds did not compare to the beds at the Crowne Plaza! The sheets were soft and the duvet was very nice. I could have slept all day. My only criticism about the room is that they need to dust more (the dark furniture really shows it off!) and I could not for the life of me figure out how to set the time on the clock. I ended up unplugging it.

Free parking was very welcomed and a reason to stay here again. A very nice downtown area is a short drive away or you could walk if you wanted to. The area is "ok" with some homeless people about so I wouldn't walk alone or at night. The downtown area (Orange Ave.) has some great clubs and restaurants and nice sculptures/scenery. We ate at a place called Urban Flats and loved it.

Overall, this was an excellent hotel and I would recommend it to anyone needing a place downtown. Located right on I-4, you can get anywhere very quickly!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everyshadeofblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Drove into Orlando on a Saturday to check on my dad...only there overnight. (Me and my 3 children) Boy, I was pleasantly surprised! What I liked: Located right off I-4. Got to this exit just before entering all the major I-4 congestion. Luckily I had to go west of colonial, because east was conjested. (SIDE BAR: I went east by accident and saw a healthy looking, clean cut/shaved, tanned man holding up a sign stating he was homeless and needed $$...he turned over the sign and it said, now accepting visa and master card!..HOW FUNNY IS THAT ORLANDO?)... Anyway, back the review. I can only speak on the lobby area and my room. Didnt have time to check out rest of facility. Lobby had contemporary decor and a neat infinity edge water fountain. Check-in was smooth and quick (got a really good AAA rate). The room was just the right size. Nice shutters on the double doors that lead to the balcony. Had a coffee maker (w/coffee, etc), microwave and granite sink, wardrobe, nice flat screen tv, and chocolate colored furniture. Sea blue wall color with off-white crown molding and beatiful chocolate rug. Lovely, relaxing color scheme. Bathroom was just as nice with granite sink, extra soaps, shower cap, sewing kit, toiletry samples, etc. (did have to call for a few extra bath cloths/towels and got them right away). could not find a switch for a fan so the mirror kept fogging up. THE BED...now this was the best. It was the most comfortable bed I'd slept on since the Georgian Terrace in Atlanta. Super soft pillow top mattress but right amount of firmness. Down pillows and duvet and super soft sheets, etc. I definitely did not want to leave. I felt as if I was at a 5-star carribbean resort. (sorry no pics this time, forgot the camera). AND the kids thought the room was awesome.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melskins
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

I was very torn between this hotel and the Courtyard marriott hotel and finally decided on the Crown Plaza. I'm so glad that I did!! I was a beautiful hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. We were given an upgrade when checking in to the King Suite, they said because we were Priority Club members. I was sceptical at first but very pleasantly surprised. The suite was really nice with a seperate bedroom with a 40 in flat screen tv in the bedroom and the living room. It had a really nice kitchen with granite countertops and breakfast bar, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator. It was a little strange though as their were not any dishes, so we could not have really cooked if we wanted to. The bathroom was top notch but their was no door between the bedroom and the bathroom so it was a little less than private. It worked out though because we just shut the bedroom door between the living room and bedroom if we needed privacy in the bathroom. The biggest thing that I wasn't sure about booking this hotel was the complaints of the noise through the patio doors that were nailed shut. This did prove to be true. It was pretty loud from freeway traffic and sirens at night. However, I did make use of the complimentary ear plugs on the second night and the noise did not bother me at all. The beds were the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again when visiting family in Orlando.

  • Liked — the suite
  • Disliked — the noise
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank melskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Upon arrival I was given a notification that I somehow had booked a condominium room. This was fine, as the room had no problems. However, be aware that if you book one of these rooms you do not receive a receipt for expense purposes. After I left the hotel, I have spoke with three different managers and they all have been unwilling to help and keep sending me to random phone numbers it seems and random e-mail addresses as none of them went to the condominium owner. I am now sitting on hold for the fourth time to try and get an answer. However I was sent another bogus e-mail. The manager that was unhelpful to me was Bernadine Cotin. I would never stay at this hotel again or suggest it to any of my Orlando clients. I am in the travel industry and will only give poor reviews of the Crowne Plaza Downtown Hotel.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Love_Farm_Animals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager60, Hotel General Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
While we repect JenniferUFL's opinion of the condominium she rented, she did not book a room with Crowne Plaza or any of their affiliates. JenniferUFL rented a room from an individual condominium owner, furnised and serviced by the unit owner, not the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown. The reason someone was unable to assist JenniferUFL is that we have no knowledge of the transaction between JenniferUFL and the condominium owner, what the rate paid for the unit was, or any payment information. This is all handled by the condominium owner. Please make sure you book your rooms directly through The Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown or through one of its affiliates. Our level of service at the property is our number one focus, and is reflected with our top 20 rankings of Crowne Plaza's worldwide in overall guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#90 of 338 in Orlando
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Address: 304 W Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32801-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, the newest choice among downtown Orlando hotels. Located off I-4 in downtown Orlando, this address provides easy access to everything to see and do in Orlando. The urban, chic Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is walking distance to downtown's impressive entertainment venues such as Amway Center home of Orlando Magic, the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, 6 miles from Universal Studios, Sea World Orlando and 15 miles from Walt Disney World Theme Parks. The Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is 4 miles from Orlando Executive Airport (ORL), fabulous shopping, and a vast array of restaurants and nightclubs. We are only 13 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO) and 10 miles to the Orange County Convention Center, Daytona 500 is only 48 miles away, and we are only blocks from Camping World Stadium home of the Russell Athletic Bowl, AutoNation Cure Bowl, and the Florida Classic. Known as The Place to Meet, the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel is a premier venue for meetings and groups, and is located close to industry leaders such as Sun Trust, Wells Fargo, HD Supply, Orange County Courthouse, FAMU Law School, and Orlando Regional Medical Center. We are proud to be a Green Lodging hotel and our dedicated team of professionals look forward to providing the ultimate in service. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing