We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Ranked #87 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good spot for the money”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here at short notice for work. This place used to be a BAD Holliday Inn. It had been renovated several years ago and some age is showing. Furniture had normal scrapes and some marks but the room was clean overall. The single King Room comes with a nice couch and makes for a great place to relax. Bed was comfy and had a great view of Downtown. Parking is $15.00 if you self park. Close to all of the Downtown fun. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craystagefilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Craystagefilm,

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for giving us your positive feedback! We get very nice compliments on our rooms. We are glad to see you enjoyed your room as well. Many of our guests also enjoy being within walking distance to downtown’s venues such as the Bob Carr Performing Arts Center and the Amway Center. And this can be done by our complimentary shuttle service which is certainly a popular amenity for our guests to access the venues. We will certainly share your feedback with our team.

We welcome you to contact the hotel on your next trip back to downtown Orlando and we will be happy to assist with any arrangements you need.

Kind Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    235
    141
    79
    45
See reviews for
173
217
54
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is nice and clean and located close to downtown which is convenient. The parking however, is expensive and the immediate neighborhood has a bad reputation for being unsafe. I wouldn't walk around the hotel at night alone.

All in all the room service was ok and the staff was nice enough. Nothing exceptional but nothing bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear bella710,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and your nice comment regarding customer service.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding parking. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here because I was helping with a seminar that was the following day in their conference room. The location was right off I-4 so it was very easy to find. I arrived around 6 pm and was greeted nicely by the valet and bellman. The lobby was nice and looked recently remodeled. The front desk staff was very nice. I booked only a few days prior to my arrival. When I went back online the day I was leaving, I noticed the price had dropped about $30. I contacted the hotel and they honored the new price. Upon check-in they even upgraded my room to a king suite. Unfortunately, I was sharing the room with a co-worker. The upgrade would have been nice but we couldn't use it.
Here's where it started to go south: we got the keys to our room on the 8th floor. We got into the room and it looked nice. I went into the bathroom and the toilet was FULL of feces. We called the front desk and the moved us to another room. We had to pack up everything we had already unloaded in order to move. The next room was clean and no problems with the bathroom. The room had a nice balcony but the door to the balcony was locked and we couldn't open it. Once we unpacked, I tried to get on the wifi to get some work done. It would not connect to any of my devices. I gave up and went to dinner downstairs.
At dinner, we were greeted nicely by the staff. I ordered a burger but was disappointed because it came out rock hard. However, my friend's salad was good. After dinner, I went to get some ice. No ice machine anywhere except the second floor. I went back to the room and checked the wifi again but it still didn't work. Around 11pm, I noticed the sound of a train very close by and prayed that it didn't run all night...prayers didn't work. The train went past the hotel just about every 2-3 hours. In the morning, the traffic is very loud from I-4. But, the bed was very comfortable. The
fitness room is very small and not very accommodating if you are used to a good workout every day.
The room service breakfast was decent. As far as the seminar, the space was decent. Surprisingly, the food was the best I had during the stay.
Overall, I think this hotel was OK. It was safe, mostly clean, the staff was friendly and accommodating. The few things that weren't great really put a damper on this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room that is the farthest from the sound of the train tracks. Don't try to book a room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Ms. JamieLampitt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words, especially about our convenient location, cleanliness of the room, friendly staff from the bellman, valet, front desk team, restaurant servers and that we were able to provide a safe stay while attending the conference.

We regret to hear of the inconvenience you experience with the room change due to bathroom, restaurant order not to your standards, noise from the highway and the train as well as wifi problems. We take your feedback very seriously as we continue to improve our services so the information has been shared to the correct management team to correct the problems.

We will certainly share your feedback with our team. We welcome you to contact the hotel on your next trip back to downtown Orlando and we will be happy to assist with any arrangements you need.

Kind Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for our anniversary in April and it was wonderful. Even though it's downtown it's still worth it. I'm used to staying on International Drive, but this hotel has made me alright with the other side. I wish it was on International then that would be perfect, but if you're ok with being downtown this is a great hotel and the rooms are very comfortable and cozy and it makes you feel right at home. It was perfect for our romantic getaway!!! Great staff with great rooms!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLoveLoveMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Greetings KLoveLoveMe,

We are glad to hear you stay with us was wonderful. Thank you for choosing us in celebration of your anniversary and the kind words regarding our great staff and great rooms. Your feedback has been shared with our team.

Like you, many of our guests enjoy being within walking distance to downtown’s venues such as the Bob Carr Performing Arts Center and the Amway Center and the use of our complimentary shuttle service which is available 7:30am-11:00pm, 7 days a week, every 30 minutes.

We hope to have you back at the Crowne Plaza next time you are in downtown Orlando.

Kind Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a crossfit competition that was taking place at the central florida fairgrounds. It was called the Bacon Beatdown. When we arrived at the hotel it was raining but we valeted the car under a covered area. The only problem is that because there were so many guests arriving all at the same time, there wasn't enough luggage carts so we had to struggle to get our bags in and up to our room. (we had coolers too etc so we had a lot to carry!) Once inside, check in was easy and fast. We made it up to our room and were pleasantly surprised, the room was clean and looked like it had been updated recently. We were starving and wanted to go eat but didn't know where to go so asked the valet guys and they suggested we take the free shuttle to downtown and eat somewhere there. We did and the shuttle was awesome because we didn't have to worry about drinking and driving or about trying to find parking downtown. Later that night we had a couple drinks at the hotel bar which was nice enough for a hotel and the bartender was nice. We then went to change into our swimsuits so we could use the hottub but when we got outside to use it, security (very rudely) kicked us out and said it was closed. We weren't even allowed to sit outside on the patio. I smoke so I had to go sit outside near the valet to do so. Very annoying. I would say the pool needs later hours especially since the majority of the people at the hotel were adults. Overall the staff was friendly, helpful and the room was clean and comfortable, and the free shuttle was an added bonus! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Ms. Whitney R,

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for giving us your positive feedback! We appreciate the kind words regarding the easy fast check in you received and the compliments on the clean rooms. All of the rooms at the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown are meticulously maintained and offer the highest in amenities, including tile floors, granite countertops, wool carpets, real wood furniture and much more. Our guests also enjoy the service from our exciting and friendly bartenders, we are glad you did as well.
However, we are sorry to be informed our security team was not up to our standards and this information has been shared with our management team.

Because we are conveniently located to many downtown venues such as Amway center, dining and shopping; we do offer complimentary shuttle service used by many of our guest to access downtown. Our shuttle service is available 7 days a week, every 30minutes from 7:30am-11:00pm.

We welcome you to contact the hotel on your next trip back to downtown Orlando and we will be happy to assist with any arrangements you need.

We hope you did well on your Cross fit competition!! :)

Best Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good for downtown activity. Not convenient for Disney or Universal. Very busy and loud location; train tracks near-by! Old, dirty sheets on the bed (gross!) Not sure our room was even cleaned before we arrived.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BossMan2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear BossMan2005,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this helpful input. We apologize the hotel did not meet the approprite standards in regards to the sheets. The information has been appropriately shared with the correct management to ensure this does not occur again. Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to further discuss your experience with us at res@downtowncrowne.com

Regarding the location, many of our guests enjoy being within walking distance to downtown’s venues such as the Bob Carr Performing Arts Center and the Amway Center. The hotel also offers complimentary shuttle service every 30-minutes from 7:30am-11:00pm, 7- days a week.

Your feedback is valuable to us. Thank you again.

Kindest Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Orlando downtown is not the right place for family with kids holiday. Not knowing that, i divided my Orlando holiday into half at International drive area, half downtown area. A big mistake. Tried to move my crowne plaza orlando downtown booking to crowne plaza universal but didn't work. Crown plaza orlando downtown is actually a nice hotel, good service, helpful staff, it is just not well located. Far from disney, universal, sea world as well as the premium outlet, compared to hotels in international drive area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ridwan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccssvb, Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Ridwan I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words, especially about our nice hotel, good service and helpful staff! We do apologize for inconvenience you experience with you reservation from one location to another. The hotel actually has a complimentary shuttle service which is certainly a popular amenity for our guests. Many of our guests enjoy being within walking distance to downtown’s venues such as the Bob Carr Performing Arts Center and the Amway Center. We hope to have you back in Orlando downtown soon and be able to use this amenity.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Catherine B.
Assistant Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#104 of 339 in Orlando
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Address: 304 W Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32801-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, the newest choice among downtown Orlando hotels. Located off I-4 in downtown Orlando, this address provides easy access to everything to see and do in Orlando. The urban, chic Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is walking distance to downtown's impressive entertainment venues such as Amway Center home of Orlando Magic, the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, 6 miles from Universal Studios, Sea World Orlando and 15 miles from Walt Disney World Theme Parks. The Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is 4 miles from Orlando Executive Airport (ORL), fabulous shopping, and a vast array of restaurants and nightclubs. We are only 13 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO) and 10 miles to the Orange County Convention Center, Daytona 500 is only 48 miles away, and we are only blocks from Camping World Stadium home of the Russell Athletic Bowl, AutoNation Cure Bowl, and the Florida Classic. Known as The Place to Meet, the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel is a premier venue for meetings and groups, and is located close to industry leaders such as Sun Trust, Wells Fargo, HD Supply, Orange County Courthouse, FAMU Law School, and Orlando Regional Medical Center. We are proud to be a Green Lodging hotel and our dedicated team of professionals look forward to providing the ultimate in service. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing