We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in Downtown Orlando”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Ranked #95 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Excellent location. Shuttle service was great. The staff was very friendly, polite and professional. The suites were aswesome, a bargain for the price paid. Will definitely recommend to others and will stay there in my next visits to downtown Orlando.

Room Tip: Don't know what other types of rooms they have, but the suites were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icogoodday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 907 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

I travel often for both work and leisure and this is one of my absolute favorite hotels. I've lost count how many times I've stayed here. I've always found it clean and the staff always friendly. It seems like they make improvements to the hotel with each visit. This time, I got to enjoy the new pool deck and hot tub. I also noticed a free shuttle and renovated bar as well as a rental car agency onsite. I had a block of eight rooms for myself and for friends this visit and everyone was really impressed with how nice the hotel is and no one experienced any issues. It's an incredible location for being near Thorton Park, Lake Eola, Winter Park, College Park, etc. Kudos to Jenna at the front desk for always being so accommodating and welcoming. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: If available, the corner suites are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAXcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thought it was a great value considering the amenities and convenience to downtown, which is what I needed, I have relatively few complaints. Comfortable rooms with nice TVs and free wifi, there is a lot to be said for that (nothing like paying a lot for a room then being asked to fork over more for Internet). Parking is extra and costly, but I didn't have a car so not an issue. A big plus is the hotel shuttle that runs downtown, theoretically within 3 miles. Saved me some money on cab fare, and running every 30 minutes it's actually faster than the local cabs, which are notoriously iffy. I didn't find highway or A/C noise to be an issue at all, but some people are more sensitive than others. Service was friendly and they always tried to assist, although execution was off. My coffeemaker didn't work, and a requested replacement never materialized. I could have asked again but it was a short stay and not a priority. Buffet breakfast was overpriced considering its quality, but that's fairly typical.

Room Tip: Views are good and noise perhaps less on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel. I think the rooms and location make it a great value. The only complaint that I have is the noise from the highway, it is unrelenting, at least in room 701 and I assume in the odd numbered rooms. So if you stay you should ask to face away from the highway.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seatbelt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I submitted a comment report to management with the following:

Hello,

Here are a few things I would like to mention so that maybe they can be addressed if we decide to stay with you again.

-We stayed on the 10th floor, the only vending area for ice was on the 2nd floor and nowhere is there any signage, directory, or room information card identifying where the vending is. We had to call the front desk and the front desk attendant answered my question regarding the location of the vending before I could finish, so he obviously gets those calls frequently.

-The shower head leaked badly and sprayed a small sprig of water laterally toward the center of the bathroom

-The desk chair had a gaping rip on the back

-The signal on the flat screen was really bad, so bad on all the channels that it really wasn't enjoyable

-The iron had a musty stench in the water reservoir, making my ironed clothes stink

-As a general suggestion, it would have been nice to have a ceiling light in the foyer area next to the bathroom, it was dark and made it difficult to see the we bar area and closet area

-The vent light under the microwave over the wet bar was burnt out

-The hallways were hot and humid/muggy

-Finally the thermostat was set to 65 degrees when we entered the room for the first time, so we turned it up to a reasonable temp of 74. This turned into almost 80 degrees and we woke up int the middle of the night in sweat becuase it was so hot. So it was either freezing or way too hot. The thermostat was inevitably broken.

I know this seems like alot of picky complaining but they are just things I noticed that if addressed would have made our visit a little more pleasurable. Thank you for reading.

-Nichelle

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ou8124af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaOrlandoDT, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Greetings Nichelle,

Thank you so much for the valuable information. We have passed along all of your notes to the appropriate managers in each department. We have our housekeeping director inspecting all of our shower heads as a precaution based on your feedback. Our engineering department is also going through proactively to remedy any issues similar to what you experienced. I hope that the guest service from our agents helped to make your stay pleasant.

We look forward to you staying with us again so we can exceed your expectations. Thank you again for the feedback.

Sincerely,

Austin A.
Assistant Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is not downtown, it is on the other side of 4 next to the Salvation Army.
There is nothing within walking distance and the area seems unsafe at night.
Parking was $13 per day in an area where there was plenty of space for there to be free parking but probably not a good idea to leave a car without a fence around it!
The room was fine and clean but the a/c would make really loud strange noises about every 2 hours all night long. When I mentioned at check out there was little response. Hope they fix it before the next person rents the room!
I would not recommend, much nicer places at less money in the true downtown area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrypacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Harrypacker,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please accept my sincere apology for the unusual condition of the air conditioning unit in your room. I have taken note of your comments and will forward them to the maintenance department to be addressed accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Walking in the hotel I was pleasently surprised by the beautiful fountain in the lobby and decor. The room was clean, smelled good, and the bed was super comfortable! I even went to the gym in the morning and had a great workout. It was a in a good location and we didn't experience any hotel nightmares that normally happen. I would recommend this hotel 100 percent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChynnaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#111 of 342 in Orlando
465 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Central Business District
Grand Bohemian Hotel Orlando, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown

Address: 304 W Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32801-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $133 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, the newest choice among downtown Orlando hotels. Located off I-4 in downtown Orlando, this address provides easy access to everything to see and do in Orlando. The urban, chic Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is walking distance to downtown's impressive entertainment venues such as Amway Center home of Orlando Magic, the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, 6 miles from Universal Studios, Sea World Orlando and 15 miles from Walt Disney World Theme Parks. The Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is 4 miles from Orlando Executive Airport (ORL), fabulous shopping, and a vast array of restaurants and nightclubs. We are only 13 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO) and 10 miles to the Orange County Convention Center, Daytona 500 is only 48 miles away, and we are only blocks from Camping World Stadium home of the Russell Athletic Bowl, AutoNation Cure Bowl, and the Florida Classic. Known as The Place to Meet, the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel is a premier venue for meetings and groups, and is located close to industry leaders such as Sun Trust, Wells Fargo, HD Supply, Orange County Courthouse, FAMU Law School, and Orlando Regional Medical Center. We are proud to be a Green Lodging hotel and our dedicated team of professionals look forward to providing the ultimate in service. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing