We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Suite is worth it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Ranked #89 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for our wedding night and it was perfect.

Pros: The bed was probably the nicest I've ever slept in and the shower was out of this world! Seriously, there is an overhead rain-type shower head, a handheld head, and three adjustable nozzles on the wall along with an in-shower seat. The whole room just looked like something straight out of a catalog, down to the fluffy towels and spotless kitchen. Also, the staff was amazing! I naturally forgot to bring a razor and realized it last minute. My husband called the front desk just to see if they had items like that, and not only did they offer them, they personally brought that and shaving cream up to the room even though it was after midnight!

Cons: Although I didn't love the saloon-style doors separating the bedroom from the bathroom, it's really a minor detail. The way I see it, if the biggest complaint I have is that there weren't solid doors, then that's pretty good. Also, I know a lot of people on here mentioned the location and the highway noise as being an issue, but I honestly didn't notice it nor was it a problem.

So, do yourself a favor and pay the extra $30 or whatever and upgrade to the suite because I guarantee you won't regret it!

Room Tip: The higher up your room, (i.e., 7th floor versus ground level) the less you notice any traffic noise...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lupie_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 888 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

I thought it unique that there were earplugs left on the bed along with a night mask, around 1:00 am the train came by and blew the whistle, it is directly on i4, traffic noise was not really a problem. Room was fantastic. You pay for $13 on parking (self) could have cheated and not paid anything for parking, if you self park and just press button at gate (without entering room number) gate opens automatically. Did this on priceline for $60 a night, so cant complain, ordered room service for 6:45-7:00 arrival had to call at 7:05, it arrived a few minutes later for $13 it was great room service breakfast. Being that the train is there and i4 noise its at a great location

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jistaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Ok location - close to services that will get you there. But don't expect the staff to help in any way. Front desk (through room phone) assistance = unknowledgable and extremely unhelpful. The lights in the room didn't work (lamps + bulbs blown) and they had an awkward/unworkable keyboard remote for tv. The room was LOUD due to highways all around, and also very light from streetlights. No wonder they give out complimentary earplugs and eyemask on artival. They also say they give out lavender spray for your pillow - but it was missing all nights. I expected much more from a Crowne Plaza - it is privately owned and operated though. But after all my moaning, you absolutely can NOT beat that price. Hence the 3 stars and not 1 star.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very noisy, felt like the room was on the interstate.Restaurant was fair at best. No others eateries within walking distance.Stay elesewhere

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week on business in December. I will start this review off by saying I am a neat freak in a lot of ways. Overall the hotel was fairly clean. The first sign of dirt was the elevators. The corners of the elevators were filthy. This is a bit off putting considering that the elevators are what you see after the immaculate lobby. My room was nice. I immediately noticed many more small things not quite clean. I noticed cobwebs on the ceiling, some of the walls were dirty, open coffee wrapper, and a discarded soap wrapper left on the bathroom floor.

Nice modern decor. Large television, nice couch and great desk. Free wifi was a major plus.

The redemption for me and this hotel, was the staff. The staff was nice and eager to assist. I ate dinner most nights in the restaurant in the hotel. The food was decent, but not consistent. I ate the same meal twice in a row and it was completely different.

Although the hotel does not have an airport shuttle, they do have a local shuttle that will take you within a few miles of the hotel. This was a great service and the employees were wonderful.

I would recommend this hotel, because in this price range and unless you've rented a car - you don't have many wonderful options in this immediate area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickyTravelerLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

clean rooms and comfortable beds. easy on/off I4. ice machine located on only one floor. valet parking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights during the bowl games with all the celebrations. The hotel was very quiet. Employees were helpful and polite. Rooms are large and very clean. Real close to interstate and within walking distance to public transit anywhere in city including Universal and Walt Disney World. We took a bus to each of the parks and never worried about traffic. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cannotpass4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#107 of 340 in Orlando
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown

Address: 304 W Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32801-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $113 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, the newest choice among downtown Orlando hotels. Located off I-4 in downtown Orlando, this address provides easy access to everything to see and do in Orlando. The urban, chic Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is walking distance to downtown's impressive entertainment venues such as Amway Center home of Orlando Magic, the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, 6 miles from Universal Studios, Sea World Orlando and 15 miles from Walt Disney World Theme Parks. The Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is 4 miles from Orlando Executive Airport (ORL), fabulous shopping, and a vast array of restaurants and nightclubs. We are only 13 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO) and 10 miles to the Orange County Convention Center, Daytona 500 is only 48 miles away, and we are only blocks from Camping World Stadium home of the Russell Athletic Bowl, AutoNation Cure Bowl, and the Florida Classic. Known as The Place to Meet, the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel is a premier venue for meetings and groups, and is located close to industry leaders such as Sun Trust, Wells Fargo, HD Supply, Orange County Courthouse, FAMU Law School, and Orlando Regional Medical Center. We are proud to be a Green Lodging hotel and our dedicated team of professionals look forward to providing the ultimate in service. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing