We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown
Ranked #89 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We recently attended a family wedding in Orlando and the host family booked a block of rooms at the Crowne Plaza. We booked our room online and then read several of the Tripadvisor reviews. After reading some of the negative comments, I was a little concerned about staying there. My worry was totally needless--the experience was wonderful. I had read about noise, light polution through the shutters and smells in the rooms--we did not experience any of those problems. There was a packet in the room with earplugs, eye shades and linen spray, none of which was needed. We live in the country so I thought that being next to the interstate would be a problem--we did not hear any traffic noises either night we were there and the shutters totally darkened the room. The staff was wonderful and I would certainly stay there again. A big thanks to Crowne Plaza for a delightful weekend.

Room Tip: Join their travel club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaOrlandoDT, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

We are so glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown. A lot of our guests find our sleep amenity package one of our added values. We also thank you for becoming a Priority Club Member. As you will find the rewards are limitless. We hope to see you back with us and if we may be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.
Warm Regards,
Michael Ridgewell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 891 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

I love this hotel and the Crowne Plaza as a chain in whole. Every time I travel to Orlando I stay here, and I travel there often, since 3/4 of my family is there. Its not exactly by the airport but its right downtown were eveything is anyways. The rooms are elegant and most of all roomy, and everytime I stay there, I ask for a complimentary upgrade and they usually upgrade me to a suite, and they are sweet.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-Mac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaOrlandoDT, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2011

We are so glad you got to enjoy one of our complimentary upgrades. We always do our best to upgrade our Priority Club Members. Our suites are very roomy and so glad you were able to enjoy one. We hope you travels bring you back to us real soon.

Warm Regards,
Michael Ridgewell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel six times in the last year, but this is the last time. After each time I stayed before, I convinced myself that the low rate and free parking I was getting made it worth dealing with any of the host of problems with this hotel, such as 1) The hotel no longer claims that the rooms are as quiet as any hotel; they simply provide ear plugs to every guest (some idiot years ago replaced all of Kemmons Wilson's infamous sliding doors on the outside of every room with even worse quality "french doors" that have no sound or weather insulation, so you hear every car, truck, motor cycle, train, and barking dog in a one-mile radius all night); 2)There are no curtains, just "plantation shutters" that don't keep light out, so the hotel also provides eye masks for every guest; 3) some rooms have a funky odor, so the hotel provides a little bottle of linen freshener; 4) It takes a while to realize that the new-looking thermostat on the wall isn't really functional (you still have to squeeze between the bed and the wall to operate the AC unit); 5) there is usually only one person working in the cafe in the morning, so plan on at least an hour to finish breakfast. So, as i said, I kept giving this hotel second chances until now -- I arrived today and found out that they are now charging $10 for self-parking! Well, they will get that $10 from me today, but not the hundreds they would have gotten from six more stays later this year. When I complained to the front desk man, he told me it was a standard policy now with all downtown hotels. That is unfortunate for me and for them, because there are a lot of hotels that we can choose from in Orlando that don't stick you with a parking fee after you arrive, and I, and others, will take business elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMP30324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaOrlandoDT, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear JMP30324,

Thank you for your review. I would like to first of all apologize for the poor night’s sleep you encountered and our parking fee which was implemented January 30th, 2011. I understand the frustrations that can occur when someone has expectations and those are neither met or exceeded. The items in which you found on your bed upon arrival are Crowne Plaza Standards. This is part of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program which can be found in all Crowne Plaza's. This is inclusive of an eye mask, earplugs, and a lavender spray. The lavender spray is to spray the linens as lavender has been found to be calming and assist with sleep. We are always looking for opportunities to increase our guest service and experience. Therefore our property found that with the implementation of the $10 parking fee we also include value added amenities such as; overnight security, secure parking, a complimentary shuttle, and 24 hour bell assistance was beneficial. With any downtown location it presents the ability to improve and we appreciate your comments.

If I may be of any assistance please feel free to contact me.

Warm Regards,

Michael Ridgewell
michael@downtowncrowne.com
407-241-1244

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I travel frequently and rarely do I take the time to write a review, but my stay at this hotel deserved my time to give them an excellent review.

From the time I checked in, "NO WAIT", and the front desk person treated me like I was important, How rare is that, these days??

The room was spotless,the towels were so soft. Also the food in the restaurant was very good, I actually ate there every night. I felt like I was at home.
.Everyone at the Hotel Staff always greeted me and ask how was my stay, or if I needed anything.

Even though I was in Orlando for business, I will make sure and come back to this hotel and refer any and all of my family and clients
Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnie0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaOrlandoDT, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear bonnie0918,

Thank you so much for your pleasant review. We strive for excellence and satisfaction. We enjoy providing outstanding service for all of our guests.

If I may be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warm Regards,
Michael Ridgewell
michael@downtowncrowne.com
407-241-1244

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Interior of hotel and room were nice and modern. Room was spacious and comfortable. Some noise from I4 but not a particularly bothersome. AC went out at 4 am and we awoke sweating. Staff was nice. Downside was that there was a homeless shelter around the corner and lots of homeless around the hotel block. I didn't feel particularly safe exploring by foot. Wanted easy downtown access. Used free shuttle service to go out (ran until 11 pm) but needed to take cab home ($10). Just on other side of I 4 from downtown bars, restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebbs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaOrlandoDT, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear Ebbs2011,

Thank you so much for choosing the Crowne Plaza Orlando Dowontown. I am glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful rooms. With any large metropolitan area the territory can have its signs of challenges. I would like to reassure you our hotel is a very safe property and do have a gated lot, on staff security, and staff 24 hours to assist you.

If I may be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warm Regards,
Michael Ridgewell
michael@downtowncrowne.com
407-241-1244

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed at this hotel one night, and one night only! My favorite hotel, Hilton Orlando, was sold out and my travel agent persuaded me to stay here until rooms opened up at the Hilton. What a disaster. All night long, I heard traffic from I-4 and railroad/train sirens. The room was extremely dusty, hairy and had a white crusty film on the leather head boards. Attempted to call the front desk to complain, but got no response. Even called the hotel manager's hotline as instructed on the welcome letter placed in room, never heard back. I have no desire to stay at another Crowne Plaza in Orlando, Florida.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
Thank BusinessTravelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My family chose this Hotel in Downtown Orlando for its close proximity to the Amway center. The Amway Center is actually a 6 block walk away (at night in downtown Orlando) the front desk gave us times for the shuttle but failed to mention that you need to make reservations due to limited seating.
One of the elevators was broken and the hotel was fully booked, this meant a 20 minute wait for the elevator. We had booked a 2 room suite and ended up with one room with a queen size bed and a small twin size pullout couch for a family of 4.
There is also no pool and we ended up missing personal items from the hotel upon checkout.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK2Flmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaOrlandoDT, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Dear AK2Flmom,
We do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. Our hotel shuttle is based on a first come, first serve basis due to the fact that it is a complimentary shuttle service with limited seating. Our driver's do their best to accommodate to the many requests of our guests and we are trying to find a simple solution involving pick up/drop off services that we offer. Your feedback is very helpful for improving this service.
The elevator, which is now fixed and working, had became inoperable over the time of your stay. We tried our best to have it fixed as soon and we are sincerely sorry that you had an awful experience with having to wait, seeing that we were sold out that weekend.
On very rare occurrences, our reservations center or on-line website do oversell our hotel and all our staff do their best to meet with all the guests requests. We apologize again that you did not get the rooms requested.
As we are very concerned about your items, we would like to request more information. Did you mention to the front desk at check out that there were items missing from your room? Did we take it in to action and check with housekeeping about this incident? We trust our staff to be honest and loyal to the Crowne Plaza Hotel and all of our guest, so this is a surprise that something like this would occur.
Aside from the inconveniences we would like to have you back as our guest again at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Downtown Orlando. We are in the process of renovating out restaurant and having a pool build in for our guest to appreciate. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to arrange for a day that your are available to give us a second change at showing you our "WOW" factor!


Thank you,

Jenna Muth
Guest Service Manager
Crowne Plaza - Orlando Downtown
www.cporlandodwtn.com
407-241-1251

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#102 of 340 in Orlando
457 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown

Address: 304 W Colonial Dr, Orlando, FL 32801-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $147 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown, the newest choice among downtown Orlando hotels. Located off I-4 in downtown Orlando, this address provides easy access to everything to see and do in Orlando. The urban, chic Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is walking distance to downtown's impressive entertainment venues such as Amway Center home of Orlando Magic, the Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts, 6 miles from Universal Studios, Sea World Orlando and 15 miles from Walt Disney World Theme Parks. The Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown is 4 miles from Orlando Executive Airport (ORL), fabulous shopping, and a vast array of restaurants and nightclubs. We are only 13 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO) and 10 miles to the Orange County Convention Center, Daytona 500 is only 48 miles away, and we are only blocks from Camping World Stadium home of the Russell Athletic Bowl, AutoNation Cure Bowl, and the Florida Classic. Known as The Place to Meet, the Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel is a premier venue for meetings and groups, and is located close to industry leaders such as Sun Trust, Wells Fargo, HD Supply, Orange County Courthouse, FAMU Law School, and Orlando Regional Medical Center. We are proud to be a Green Lodging hotel and our dedicated team of professionals look forward to providing the ultimate in service. We are a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing