We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and close.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown
Ranked #11 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good and close.”
Reviewed August 13, 2009

The hotel itself is really nothing to write home about. The rooms are fair and the bed is cozy. There was no mini fridge but no biggie. There was both wired and wireless internet access in the room so that was nice. I thought the 10 dollars for continental breakfast was a little much considering you have to pay to park your car there as well. Overall though a well priced hotel in downtown Orlando. It's about 6 dollars for a cab ride to the center of the downtown district. Close to I-4 and close to tons of restaurants. I might not stay here for an extended amount of time but for those short trips or over-nighters it's money well spent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StartingOurTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    149
    45
    11
    8
See reviews for
130
83
35
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BOCA RATON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Recently I visited the Courtyard by Marriott located in downtown Orlando due to business trip. Fortunately, I only had to spend one night. The hotel is located in a less than desirable area of the downtown a few blocks from the bus station and right off Orange Blossom Drive. Lucky for the Courtyard, I arrived at night-otherwise, I would have been able to cancel my reservation and kept driving to another hotel. The hotel appears to be a typcial Marriott Courtyard. However, when I stepped into the room I was made by a strong strange odor that smelled like a combination of disinfectant and hair gel or spray. But for the fact that it was fairly late, I would have complained. In retrospect, I should have complained. The room was very worn and in desparate need of refurbishing. The toilet handle had to be held to flush the toilet and generally, I did not feel as though I was in a clean room. Such fact was confirmed the next day when I developed an itch on my chest only to determine that I had what appeared to be bed bug bites. Not very pleasant. On top of all of that, the parking lot is not very well lit and I was somewhat concerned that my car would disappear overnight. Fortunately it did not. Next time I travel to Orlando and need to stay downtown, I will gladly pay a few extra dollars to stay at the Grand Bohemiam.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenango, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

A decent Courtyard, although really nothing to write home about.

Its a big facility. There's two elevators, one at each end of the hotel. Nonetheless, you need to walk a little ways to actually get to your room.

Free laundry. A nice touch.

Restaurant/bar looked nice, although I never ate there. Nice exercise room with several treadmills. Decent looking pool/hot tub.

Location is a tad far from downtown. Its probably a mile to Church Street. Not really in walking distance. If you want to walk to downtown, stay at the Embassy on Pine Street.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bkafrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

The hotel is a great place. It has a lot of options. The food at the hotel is great. The hours of the in-house restaurant is quite reasonable. The layout of the room is quite beautiful. The view of the room is quite pleasant even if you are on the less presentable say of the building. Checking in and Checking out is quick and painless. The internet is is fast and easy to access. This hotel also offer the option of wired and wireless. This is the first time I found this available at a hotel. I was quite impress. The hotel had a lot of parking. The only problem I have with the parking situation was that there was only two ways to get into the hotel which makes the walk to your room a little longer than it has to be. The neighborhood is nice. I did not get a feeling like I was endanger or not safe walking around. The cost of the hotel was good for the location. I normally do not go hotel do to location, but after my partner insist on staying there, I was able to enjoy my stay. I recommend the hotel if you want the location at a good value.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pakole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed here for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The hotel was clean and quiet, it had free internet, coffee & washing machines. The fitness centre was new or very well maintained and it had a nice spa and small pool.

The staff were always freindly and corteous and breakfast was great - huge selection and great value.

You could walk to downtown (Church St) in 15 mins and there were plenty of places to eat drink nearby. It is also right next to an exit of the I4 which makes getting around by car very easy.

I would definitely stay here again if returning to Orlando

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RRS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised with the Courtyard Marriott Downtown. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable as you would expect at a Marriott. Our room faced the 7-11 next door but I never heard a peep despite being concerned about it. I didn't find the walk downtown to be bad at all- probably about 15 minutes to nice restaurants- and felt safe in the neighborhood. I will absolutely stay here the next time I'm in Orlando- it's a great value.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerri_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
426 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2008

This hotel is listed as downtown but it is a good mile to the entertainment district of downtown Orlando (Church St.). Not a bad walk during the day, actually quite scenic, but kind of sketchy at night. The hotel itself is clean and quiet. The staff is nice enough but not familiar with the area. The fitness center is under renovation also and looks to be a while before it is complete.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tmarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 337 in Orlando
4,605 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown
Address: 730 North Magnolia Avenue, Orlando, FL 32803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Orlando
#69 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#70 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown is a top choice among Downtown Orlando, Florida hotels. We invite travelers to stay with us and experience a perfect blend of comfort, service, and convenience. Our accommodations are relaxing and spacious, offering free Wi-Fi, plush bedding, and Smart TVs with Netflix and YouTube access. Public spaces in our hotel are equally enjoyable and restful, and they include The Bistro restaurant and a heated outdoor pool. Stay at Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown for pleasure, work, or to host your next business meeting. Our hotel is ideally located in Downtown Orlando, with all of the area's top attractions - including shopping boutiques and Thornton Park - just moments away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Orlando Courtyard
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing