We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown
Ranked #9 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great staff and hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay here. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Very nice new lobby, bar, bistro, and multiple seating areas. And while the renovated rooms were not quite ready, we couldn't figure out why they even needed it. In ours, the carpet looked brand new, great bed and linens, good size room and shower, peacefully quiet. We travel from the Tampa area to dine in Winter Park's super restaurants periodically and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback regarding your recent stay. It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and that our staff and property where able to exceed your expectations.

We hope that you do have the time to visit us again once our renovations are complete. I am sure you will love our upgraded rooms and new amenities. Please contact our front desk at any time to make reservations. There is someone available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    151
    46
    11
    8
See reviews for
138
86
36
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is in the downtown business district. They are undergoing renovations but we were not disturbed by the work in any way. The hotel is immaculate, the staff is friendly and the food at The Bistro is very good. There are three computers in the living section, a large screen tv in the sitting area, a bar, and a library. There are two different free newspapers available. The pool is clean and the pool sitting areas outside of the pool fencing are clean and comfortable. The only problem for me was the sound of the trains going by about a block away. When they sound the horn it is pretty loud. There is a $10 per day fee to park as this is in the business district. Overall, it was a good value and we would stay here again. The entrance to get onto I-4 is convenient and just around the block. The Bistro staff, housekeeping staff, and desk staff are friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies may be smaller than rooms without balconies. Rooms facing the front of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2TravelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown. We are pleased to hear that our staff and hotel was able to provide you with an enjoyable stay. It looks as if you where able to enjoy the Bistro and all of the upgrades to the New Courtyard Lobby. We hope you have the time to visit us again once we have completed the room renovations. I am sure you will enjoy the new room just as much as you enjoyed the Bistro and New Lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our daughter, an Orlando resident, was married in Orlando in September, and this was the hotel we selected for our out-of-town guests. The price was very good for a clean, comfortable, up-to-date facility.
Our room was very clean, very comfortable, and quiet. The mattress & pillows were very comfortable. There was plenty of space to hang and store our wedding clothing. The furniture in the room was also clean. It was possible to set the air conditioner/fan to run all night, to provide white noise. Our room did not have a refrigerator or a microwave.
The hotel waived the $10/night parking fee for wedding guests, but this is normally part of the cost of staying here.
This hotel offers a very nice breakfast, but it is extra......not included in the room charge.
The front desk personnel were very, very welcoming and helpful. The men working the front desk were all most excellent.
The housekeeping personnel were very friendly when met in the halls, but were very unobtrusive. They were able to get in and out efficiently, when they noticed we were out of our rooms for however long.
We wedding-party-people had a delightful "get-together" in the breakfast/bar area Friday night, after the rehearsal dinner. The female bartender was quite good.
However, this same woman must have hit menopause the next day. We returned to the hotel about 11 p.m. on Saturday night, after marrying off my only daughter, and cleaning up the reception hall. I was dog-tired, and looking forward to unwinding with my beloved relatives after this once-in-a-lifetime event. The bartender told us the bar was closed (11 p.m. on a Saturday? Are you serious?) and told us we could probably find some wine in the supply store. Indeed, there were 2 half-bottles of Merlot for our group to share. And this female bartender was all over the man at the front desk to make sure he charged us sufficiently for that wine. I found this particular experience to be quite inhospitable.
Other than that Saturday night occurrence, our stay was very comfortable, and this would be one hotel I'd recommend in the downtown Orlando area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that overall you had a most enjoyable stay while here at our Hotel. Our Service Professionals take pride in their work and making sure the Guest are well taken care of . I will make sure to share your kind words with them.

Thank you also for provinding the feedback on your experience you had with our bar on your second night. Without your feedback we would not be able to take corrective action so another guest does not have the same experience.

We hope that you are able to visit us again. There is someone here 24 hours, 7 days a week to make a reservation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard Orlando Downtown for business. When I arrived in the evening, I noticed the road noise coming from Magnolia Avenue. I asked the front desk when the traffic noise would quiet down, and they told me by 8 pm. At 10:45 pm, the road noise was so bad it sounded like the cars were still driving through my room. I asked again for a room switch and was told they were completely booked. So, I turned on the even noisier AC unit, all night, just to drowned out the traffic. The hotel lobby is stylish and updated--don't be fooled about room decor. The room looked like it was from the early 90's. Weird plastic shower curtain, saggy mattress, and dated decor, which doesn't justify the price of the room. There is usually a charge for parking, and the breakfast menu choices are few and expensive. The bartender/ Starbucks barrista was great though.

Room Tip: Choose a room as far away from Magnolia Avenue as possible?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cahg333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. We understand when traveling you expect to have a good nights rest without many interruptions. Please accept our apologies for the disruptive noise you encountered from the road. Unfortunately, as a hotel located in a downtown area, our facility is not set further away from the road and traffic patterns can be unpredictable at times.

We hope that you do have the opportunity to visit our property again. We are currently renovating our rooms to a more updated decor with new furnishings. I am sure the new updates will blow you away.

A Front Desk agent is available 24 hours, 7 days a week, to assist you with making reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown when we attended the Cody SImpson/ Big Rush concert at the Amway Center in August 2012. It was an easy "in and out" experience by taxi and total cab fare with tip was around $20. The room was nice and the Star Bucks cafe was a also a nice touch (even if they didn't have my favorite- banana bread). My daughter really enjoyed a cup of hot tea after screaming at the concert all night! The front desk staff was exceptionally nice and it included a work out room and pool.
The only drawback to this hotel was the $10.00 parking charge to park your car outside in a regular, uncovered parking lot (it was raining). I mean, really? Ten bucks for that! It should be free with the room. Otherwise, I'd definitely recommend this hotel for concert goers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sightseeker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Staff - friendly and VERY helpful
Food - loved my breakfast (eggs, toast, potatoes, turkey bacon), also like the modern/contemporary furniture in the lobby/dining area. Really liked the booths with the personal televisions.
Room - Bed very comfy, slept well. Loved the Paul Mitchell hair products!
Parking - Plenty and free
Location - It was excellent for where we were going which was the Citrus Bowl.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeCee1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed one night at this Courtyard in Orlando.

The location is good, but there is a bit of road noise if you are in an outside room.

This hotel is in very good shape and has the new Courtyard lobby.

I stayed in a King room that was very large and the furnishings were in good shape. The bed was comfortable.

The Internet worked well and I was able to stream a TV show without any issues.

The breakfast in the lobby was very good.

Staff was very nice attentive.

I would recommend this Courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhamBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our new Bistro and upgraded lobby.

We hope that you are able to come back and see us after we have completed our room renovations. From September 4, 2012 to December 12, 2012 we will be renovating our rooms from top to bottom.

A Front Desk agent is available 24 hours, 7 days a week, to assist you with making reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Orlando Resort
#20 of 339 in Orlando
4,698 reviews
Central Business District
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown
Address: 730 North Magnolia Avenue, Orlando, FL 32803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Orlando
#69 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#70 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown is a top choice among Downtown Orlando, Florida hotels. We invite travelers to stay with us and experience a perfect blend of comfort, service, and convenience. Our accommodations are relaxing and spacious, offering free Wi-Fi, plush bedding, and Smart TVs with Netflix and YouTube access. Public spaces in our hotel are equally enjoyable and restful, and they include The Bistro restaurant and a heated outdoor pool. Stay at Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown for pleasure, work, or to host your next business meeting. Our hotel is ideally located in Downtown Orlando, with all of the area's top attractions - including shopping boutiques and Thornton Park - just moments away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando
Orlando Courtyard
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing