We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice hotel - loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center
Ranked #254 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“really nice hotel - loved it”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Don't be worried by some of the negative comments on here i have never heard such a load of nonsense. Sure, its not the Ritz, (none of the hotels on I drive are) but this hotel really is fine.

Rooms - spacious, with kitchen area, dining area, and sofa / lcd tv etc. Air con unit, The free wifi was really good in our room but guess signal strength depends where about you are located in the hotel. seperate spacious bedroom with 2 double beds, very large wardrobes and TV. bathroom small but adequate . large mirror, wash basin and vanity area outside bathroom

Pool - very clean and towels available, nice and relaxing , never overcrowded. nice pool bar with daily happy hour

Free Breakfast - good selection of branded cereals, kellogs cornflakes etc, coffee, tea, toaster, pancakes/waffles, eggs, really nice sausages - enjoyable and not worth going elsewhere to pay for a breakfast.

Lets just clear one thing up - I have just got back from 2 weeks and never once saw a lizard inside the hotel. Like everywhere in florida, there are some small lizards in bushes etc but they are harmless and dont bother you (why would they ??) they actually do a good job getting rid of any small insects !

We had a car so never used it but there is a complimentary shuttle bus to the parks - there is also trolley stop right opposite the hotel so really easy to get anywhere on i drive. Really easy to get on and off the I4 freeway without getting snarled up in traffic on international drive.

small shop, free ice machine, wash room. fitness room

really enjoyed and would be happy to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rogers_merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    342
    281
    195
    143
See reviews for
598
148
21
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in Hawthorn Suits for five nights in July 2012 during our stay in Orlando. We did not book the hotel ourselves. Our family in the USA did and paid for our room as well.

The hotel is very basic by any standard. We enquired about the usual rate for rooms and in our view it is quite expensive for what you get. Our intention during the stay was to visit the Disney Parks and the Universal Studios therefore we were only in the hotel for the night.

Room we got was in the second floor. It was sufficient for a family of four with a separate sitting area, tiny kitchenette, bathroom and a bedroom with two double beds. The vanity was outside the bath room/toilet which to a degree prevented one person from blocking all others up in the morning.

Room and the entire hotel was very dated and badly need refurbishment. Carpets were old and furniture tired. Beds were small but all right and not something to write home about. The noisy air conditioner was in the sitting room and there was a small hole with a fan to blow air in to the bedroom! This arrangement simply did not work, especially given that it was summer. Bed room would soon be quite hot with four people and the temperature setting had to be brought all the way down to get some comfort in the bedroom.

Kitchenette was basic and we would not recommend using it for any form of decent cooking. Dish washer was very small and in our room its door scraped the wall.

On a positive note, the rooms were serviced daily. There was also a shuttle to Epcot Centre every morning that was free for those wishing to visit the Disney Parks. Three return shuttles would leave Epcot Centre at different intervals in the evening for the return journey.

Breakfast was a bit of a joke. It was the same basics things everyday. Toast (one toaster was broken very day we were there and continue to produce charcoal), scrambled eggs and breakfast sausage was there every day. We decided to have breakfast outside in the last few days.

There are some shops and several eateries walking distance from the hotel. The red i-Ride Trolley stop is right outside the hotel and is a convenient way to travel down town along International Drive. There is also a service station around the corner.

Disney is not too close from here. So expect a decent drive. Shuttle takes 30 to 45min to do one way trip. There is a tour counter where tickets to the parks may be bought. Hotel also has decent amount of parking. Universal is closer. But the shuttle for Universal leaves rather late in the morning and therefore it is recommended to take a Taxi.

We did not use other facilities in the hotel such as the pool, bar, laundry etc.

Overall, if your plan is to use the hotel for the night only, then it may be worthwhile as long as the rooms can be had for a very good rate. Otherwise, there may be better options elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OZ-Travelling-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We found this Hotel in the tripadvisor that took us to booking.com. Was the first time we did that. The Hotel is okay, we were in 4 people and the room was changed because of the size of the first choice we made. They immediately gave us a new room, bigger that was okay for us.
We faced problem with the sanitario and take longer time than I expected to fix it.
The breakfast we do not recommend.
Is close to Sea World and closer to Universal than Walt Disney World.
I could return to this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubatao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you plan on staying at the Hawthron Suites on Westwood Blvd, reconsider now. This hotel is false advertised. It need repairs throughout the entire hotel. Hotel mgr is rude, service sucks overall!!! The bathrooms are dirty & none of the housekeeping barely speaks any English for you to request extra towels.. The pool area was dirty and never stacked with towels.. The beds are old and thin, might as well sleep on the floor with the lizards that are in the rooms.. The breakfast was horrible, don't waste your time getting outta bed. The arcade consists of 4 old games that probably was out of service just like the one of two vending machine.. The kitchen was so horrible and dirty as if it was never cleaned. & if you are traveling with a large group be prepared to pay for your own transportation to and from parks because the shuttle will not take you without a fee.. Overall this is a terrible hotel and my entire family was not satisfied... DO NOT WASTE your money, it is not worth it.. Stay at a different hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssnowden06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a Thomas Cook package holiday and after reading mixed reviews, we did not know what to expect.
We had a King size bed suite on the 3rd floor (311).
It was cleaned every day with towels changed daily and bedding twice per week.
Although not luxurious, the rooms were more than acceptable.
Air conditioning units in both rooms worked perfectly (we stayed during the heatwave in July 2012).
The kitchen area had a two hotplates. microwave, fridge and dishwasher.
We did not cook in the room but made great use of the fridge for beer, water snacks etc.
The bedroom was large with loads of storage space in wardrobe and drawer units - there was also a digital safe and TV in the room.
The living room was spacious with a settee bed, dining table and two chairs and a flat screen TV - also free wi-fi throughout the hotel.
Our price included a free breakfast - we tried it twice but it was not the best in our opinion - the choice and quality of food was limited.
The pool bar opens from 4pm until 10.30pm with happy hour from opening until 7pm.
Bar prices were reasonable e.g. cocktails at $7, half that price during happy hour.
The pool area is clean with plenty of sunbeds and tables.
Staff were friendly but not chatty - they would not pass you without a smile or 'good morning'.
I usually find that if you are respectful to people, it is generally returned.
The hotel is ideally located just off International Drive, close to Seaworld.
For guests withour a car, the Lynx bus (no.111) stops right outside the hotel and will take you to the Disney Transportation Centre at Magic Kingdom for only $2. Children under 5 travel free (much cheaper than a taxi plus you are not restricted to times of the courtesy bus)
Also, the I-Ride Trolley stop is also right outside the hotel and will take you the length and breadth of I Drive for $1.25 or £17 dollars for a 14 day pass.
Kids under 12 travel free and passes can be purchased at the hotel reception.
Glad to say we were not disappointed with our hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chris_devlin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at the hawthorn suites in May 2012 and found the hotel to be exactly what we wanted, though it was a little dated and the hotplate did not work fully. It was after all somewhere to lay ones head after a very busy day chasing the kids around the theme parks and this it did very well, there was no noise to spoil your sleep once you got used to the aircon.
Hotel staff was excellent and could not do enough for you, only thing is the free shuttles to the parks was not often enough, and public transport is not good enough either

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeminiStar1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I took my 13 yo son down to FL for his FIRST time for his bday. Booked thru a travel agency as they said reviews were good & close to Universal & Sea World as thats where we were going. We were on 4th floor. Lizards in room. We caught & called to have sum1 come get, when I asked if this was normal, the guy laughed & said he didnt know because he worked nights. Bathrooms VERY small. (We had the 2 room suite, 2beds, sleeper sofa) ONE AC in living room, w/a vent to bedroom that barely gets any coolness in there. When we returned from Universal that night, there was ANOTHER lizard & the it was about 95degrees. The guy that came up was the same guy that was dressed fancy working desk during day in grubby clothes opened AC said he fixed & let run 10min...needless to say at 12:30 i demanded they switch our rooms. When we got to that room it wasnt that cool & it was set to 65degrees, he said you cant set ACs to low or they will shut down. The so called arcade has 4 OLD machines in it. Breakfast is Gross. I rather swim in a pond then the pools! Stay elsewhere! I complained of course. The travel agency did re-imburse us 1night. Good Luck! Last but not least...the room they transferred to was NOT clean...pubic hairs in tub, candy wrappers under sink, crumbs on kitchenette floor!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Sports Complex
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Ctr - 6443 Westwood
0.1 mi away
Best Western Orlando Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando International Drive
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites At International Drive
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Orlando Convention Center/International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center
Address: 6435 Westwood Blvd, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing