We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Orlando Convention Center
Ranked #274 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Booked this hotel by mistake at the Travel Agents(intended to book Hawthorn Suites Universal) Read comments and reveiws before we flew and was quite concerned about comments re Bathroom problems and horrible food.
That will teach me to look at the more favourable comments next time.
We had a fabulous holiday and found the Hawthorn Suites just the ideal accomodation.Hotel was clean and far better than we expected.
Breakfast was substantial and yes you do get fed up with scrambled egg but there were other choices such as muffins ,toast,cereals etc.
We took two teenage boys who thought the breakfast was great and ate enough of it to get an opinion.,

Hotel was on the I ride route so travelling on International Drive was no problem.Sea World was within walking distance but on the I ride route if you couldnt cope with the walk.

Disney Shuttle bus was punctual and although it only went as far as Epcot you could access free services to all other parks.
we discovered that if after a few days of parks that you did not have to wait for the return shuttle as there is a Lynx Bus from Magic Kingdom to Seaworld that brings you back every 30 mins but you will have to pay one dollar 50 each .

This was our second trip to Orlando and the Hawthorn suites were far better than the previous trip.If you want the glitz and glamour of the top Hotels then you have to pay for it but we found the suite to be clean, plenty big enough and ideal for our needs.

Try Village Inn for great meals and service only two minutes walk away and local shop and liquor store is only a few minutes away.This is the first holiday I came home from with clean clothes in the cases as I put a load in the washing machines and dried it (Coin operated) every evening the washing machines and driers only cost a dollar a load and were large capacity .

Staff did not seem over freindly but gave us all the information we needed will be staying again when returning to Orlando

Stayed: January 2008
7  Thank ROYNON4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2008

We were discouraged about this place by checking reviews before we travelled. We stayed at the LBV Hawthorn two years before and it was fantastic and thought this one would be too.

COMMON AREAS/RECEPTION

The receptionist who checked us in was quite surly and not very friendly, but the other receptionist was great. The reception is small but very nicely done out. The corridors to the rooms seem dated and tired and need decorating but seemed quite clean. The pool is quite small but adequate and tvery clean, hey had lots of pool toys around the pool (not sure if they had been left by guests, we left ours when we left). The pool chairs were very old with slats broken and were not very comfortable.
There is a whirlpool/jacuzzi which was nice.

The free breakfast is fine, there are cereals, toast, porridge, fruit and hot choices, such as tator tots, sausages etc. There is also fresh juice and coffee. Its does become repetitive after a few days, but is filling and free.

There is free wifi in all rooms, which is very easy to connect to.

The shop is okay for snacks etc. but the person on reception also oversees it and sometimes you have a wait to be served.

There are no manager specials here as advertised on the Web site and the park shuttle only goes to Disney not Universal. The shuttle was okay and left three times per morning and came back three times per evening.

ROOMS

Our room was on the ground floor and although outdated was very clean. The Tv's and kitchen equipment were quite old but did work well. The beds (two queensize) were fine. The Air con was quiet. The bathroom was very small but on a par with other hotels we have stayed with in Florida. Housekeeping were great, they came every day and changed beds, any washing up left in sink, they put in dishwasher. Our housekeeper also found my silver charm in the room, I had lost it, and left it on the table where I could find it.

LOCATION

I found it to be a very good location. Just far enough from the bustle of I-Drive to be quiet but near enough to get to everything.
Within five mins walking distance is a little shopping area which has a garage which sells snacks, newspapers and most things you may need. There is also a liquor store, a subway, a Chinese resturant and a couple of nice resturants, Bennigans an Orlando Ale House, and a gift shop.

It is on the trolley route which is very cheap $1 per trip, although we bought the 14 day pass. You can get anywhere on I-drive with the trolley, Seaworld is only a couple of stops away, although it takes about 30 mins to get to the North End, near Universal and Prime Outlets. There is also a Lynx bus stop outside the hotel which takes you to Florida Mall.

OVERALL VIEW

This hotel was okay for us. It was clean and tidy. The location was great, quiet but not far away from the action. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again. If we want somewhere to rest your head after a busy day the Hawthorn Suites is ideal if you arent looking for five star accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Steviefox69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We arrived roughly 2pm on 2 Jan - check-in was quick.
This is a very central location - quick to everything Disney & Universal - across the road from Sea World & I-Drive is around the corner.
The room was fine. My husband & I slept on the sleeper couch which was really comfy & my parents slept in the main bedroom. My brother & wife came up from Boca for a weekend & the other bed was satisfactory.
The breakfast was sufficient & tasty (except the powered eggs) - good variety - oatmeal, breads for toast, scrambled eggs, sausages.
All we did at this hotel was sleep, shower & eat - we got home so late from the parks so we didn't really experience anything else the hotel had to offer.
They do offer a shuttle service but we rented a car.
We used the laundry room which was fine except the one night 2 of the washers weren't working but they were fixed the next day.
All in all for $77, not bad, yes the hotel needs some work but we were on holiday to enjoy the parks, not laze around at the hotel. It could've been worse.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondieSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2008

I initially booked Hawthorn LBV. I chose this hotel because it seemed like one of the last decent properties available in my budget range on what was a very busy MLK weekend). The sister and I arrived to this hotel after being bumped from LBV. LBV claimed that many tour groups were staying the hotel and that they had overbooked. (I booked through Hawthorn directly)

The lobby seemed decent but the walk to the elevator was another story. The hotel looked old. Floor edges worn, raised/damaged, doors showed rush touch-up paint jobs, door number plates looked chipped. The elevator was old but efficient.

The room was spacious but old. Old Zenith TV's, very old mini fridge, worn cupboards that stuck to the washer making both hard to use, torn and used paper guest directories, copious pizza delivery sheets pushed under the door, old cheap seating in kitchenette. Bedroom bedding was old, thin and torn (the spare blanket had three big rips). Sheet covers were thin, letting one see through to the mattress. Springs came though making sleeping on the side impossible. The large and unsightly air unit was loud when running. Thankfully it was cool so we could keep the air off. The bathroom had old tile with discolored grout. The shower while good dripped incessantly even when turned off. Light switches showed excessive use. Every corner found some overly used, beat-up surprise. Lastly, towels were old, small and thin.

We tried the buffet once but the food tasted old.

Many families stayed here so at least one feels reasonably comfortable knowing this is not one of those shady establishments. Still, Hawthorn Sea World is failing in the competition to provide modern, comfortable accomodations. With a solid renovation (new bathrooms, sheets, paint, electronics) this could be a good hotel and the Hawthorn could easily charge double its 99 a night charge.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanakoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

we stayed at Hawthorn suites from 9th oct to 23rd oct.
On arrival male receptionist was not overly friendly however we found another male receptionist to be very cheerful & helpful during our stay .
First impressions of our room were it was dated but reasonably clean, the bathroom however was tiny & needed replaced badly.The bath tap dripped constantly & the floor & skirting boards were rotting !
Beds were changed reguarly as were towels so no complaints there.
The complimentary breakfast got a bit boring after a while but it was adequate, it saved us a fair bit of money.
We used the pool a few times , the sun loungers like th room could do with being up dated but our 3 kids seemed quite happy to use pool etc.
There is a very small shop which sells small selection of soft drinks & crisps etc , however as there was only one person on reception you had a long wait to be served.
All in all for the money we paid I feel it is pretty good value for money , whether we would stay there again - the jury is out on that one , there are probably better places to be found for similar price.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank scot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

I'm just back from Orlando and thought I would share my experience of the trip with anyone planning to book a room at Hawthorne Suites Orlando. First thing to mention is that there are at least two Hawthorne Suites in Orlando so make sure that you are reading the review for the correct one. This is the one on Westwood Boulevard near Sea World. The next thing to note is that the brochure from the travel agent and possibly the Hawthrone Suites website is not factually accurate about the some of the facilities on offer. There is no free happy hour drinks event on a nightly basis. There is no safe in the room (they do offer the use of a small safety deposit box at reception - but you are warned that if you lose the key it is very expensive to call out a locksmith). The only free transfer on offer is to Epcot (from Epcot you can transfer onto Disney's own free transfer buses which can take you to other Disney resorts - but be warned these can add an extra half hour onto your journey).

Hotel Location: Don't be fooled into thinking that you are near the hustle and bustle of International Drive - you aren't! It's a good fifteen minute i-trolley ride (local cheap tranport) to get to the busy part of International Drive. There is nothing of real interest withing walking distance of the hotel. The i-trolley service does luckily stop outside the hotel so you can catch that (the service stops at 10pm and it is slow because it of the numerous stops en-route). I would recommend that you purchase the 7-day i-trolley pass so that you can jump on/off the i-trolley as often as you like - or you can just use the service pay-as-you-go for $1 per trip per person. Sea World by i-trolley is very convenient as it is only a few minutes away. The i-trolley is very popular and sometimes standing room only. The drivers are very knowledgeable so do ask them for tip on how to get about.

Hotel reception
There is one very friendly receptionist and one with a real attitude - so it's the luck of the draw I'm afraid. The one with the attitude was quoted as saying that Scots are serial complainers.

The room
We were on the third floor in a suite which is supposed to sleep 6. Admittedly the suite was large - split into three sections - the living area which contained the kitchenette, the bedroom and the bathroom. The overall impression of the room was that it was very dark - there is no overhead lighting and the windows don't let in enough light during the day. The table lamps just weren't powerful enough to light up the entire room - same for the bedroom. The carpet was dirty and you didn't feel like walking on it with bare feet. The place needs a complete re-fit - it's looking very shabby. Some of the sockets were coming away from the walls and looked unsafe.

Bathroom
A real problem area for such a small space. The faucett kept running no matter how tightly you turned the tap. There was a bad smell coming from the bathroom the first day. The bath is small, but the shower in the bath was powerful and the water remained hot regardless of when we used the shower. Alas the towels are a horrible beige colour which makes them look permanently dirty.

Kitchen Area
Crammed into a small area in the main living space - looked very dated and a bit dangerous. The fridge was very old, very noisy and froze everything. Tip - the bottom shelf seemed to be the only area that would refrigerate rather than freeze.
I tried the microwave once and it seemed to work ok, but didn't look very clean. You get a couple of casserole pans to do any heating and some not-so-clean cutlery. We were left with some dishwasher tablets even though there wasn't a dishwasher. There is no electic kettle to boil water - just an electric coffee maker which I suppose you could use to trickle-boil water. No tea bags in the room - so take your own. Tip - we would go down to the breakfast area to get plastic cups of hot water and pick up the tiny cartons of UHT milk and brew up in our room that way. The receptionist didn't seem to mind. The extractor didnt work - I expect it doesn't work in a lot of rooms as the fire alarm went off on our floor when someone burnt toast! - oh yeah, there's a toaster.

Maid Service.
She did turn up daily (sometimes mid-afternoon) and did change the towels, tidy bed and actually washed some dishes when we snacked in the room - so can't complain there. She did knock on our door on the morning that we were checking out for her tip - er - sorry - to make sure that everything was ok with our stay :-)

Watch Out!
You will get leaflets slipped under your door - mostly likely for pizza delivery - these are scams so don't ring the number on the leaflet and don't give out your credit card details.

Free Wifi
Fortuneately there was free wifi reception on the third floor so I was able to keep an eye on the local weather and look out for local discounts and events on my laptop.

Free buffet breakfast
It was free so I didn't expect too much. Scrambled egg with sausage, toast and cornflakes. Available fruit: apples and orange slices. Tea/Coffee/Fruit juices. Basic stuff - but it did fill us up for the theme parks and shopping trips.

The pool
There was one there but I didn't use it - had too much else to do. I can say that it seemed to be popular with other guests - even when it got a bit darker in the evenings.

The gym
Forget about it. There are only a handful of machines, and I didn't see a single person ever use the gym the entire trip - I couldn't tell you how many of the machines were actually in working order. No treadmill.

Theme Park tips
September seems like a good time to go to the parks as they are not that busy. If you time it so that you go to the park on weekdays then it's even quieter and very little queuing even for the most popular riders.

Watch out for people trying to sell you cheap tickets - you will need to attend a timeshare seminar to qualify for the tickets and they will keep you locked away for most of a day so it's not really worth your while to attend these sessions - just pay the ticket price and avoid the hassle.

The extreme 'space' ride in Epcot will make you feeling a bit sea-sick, so make sure that you haven't just eaten before you go on this. The ride 'Soarin' was very popular so try to get to this early.

Don't bother with the Universal 'Express Fast-Pass' $40 ticket if going in September mid-week - it's a waste of money as you can get on all the rides pretty quickly. You can easily do the two Universal parks in a single day. Universal offer a discounted ticket at their kiosk to do both Universal and Island of Adventure - I recommend that you do this - even though the parks closed at 6pm on the day we went.

The weather
It rained for short burst during the entire week, but it would dry off very quickly because it was so hot...so it didn't spoil any of the trip.
Invest in tourisy ponchos to keep you dry during these outburst. They are also useful for the wet rides in the theme parks. You can pay $7 for one in the park, or you can pick them up for £2 in most of the cheap stores on International Drive.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank portraitpictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

saw a video on the internet for this hotel thought ok it looks fine. it is in need of a complete refurbishment. fridge froze everything from cans of pop to my mini bag of milkyways.breakfast was terrible. tried it twice, once on the polystyrene plates with plastic knives & forks they supply and once with plates from our room,it didnt taste any better!on our very last day i met a cockroach which decided to hide behind our mic. needless to say wont be going again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunderland_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando International Drive
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Convention Center - Sports Complex
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Orlando Convention Center Hotel
19.2 mi away
Orlando UCF Extended Stay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Orlando Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Orlando Convention Center

Address: 6435 Westwood Blvd, Orlando, FL 32821-8025 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Convention Center)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range: $144 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Orlando Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Orlando Convention Center is steps away from the Orange County Convention Center. Also nearby are SeaWorld Orlando and Universal Orlando. From great restaurants to lively nightlife, theres something for everyone. Orlando International Airport (MCO) is 13 miles from our hotel.Where You Want to Be. We have everything you need for an amazing stay. Make time for a good workout in the fitness center, and swim in the outdoor pool. Relax with a drink and watch a game in our Lounge. Two boardrooms can seat up to ten people each, and presentations can be displayed on a 55-inch TV.Home away from Home. Choose from 150 well-appointed guest rooms, including 119 suites with separate living spaces. Stay connected with free wired and wireless High Speed Internet Access, as well as a 55-inch TV. Get a good nights sleep in a comfortable Four Points signature bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Orlando Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing