We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Vista
Ranked #69 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Booked a 2 BR, 2 BA villa through Expedia for Apr 10-15 and had no trouble with reservations though we arrived earlier than the 4 o'clock check-in and our room was not ready; it became ready about an hour later. Our villa was in bldg. 97 on the 3rd floor overlooking one of the pools. It had 2 balconies to sit out on and enjoy the weather and the view. The rooms were adjoining and for a family with 2 teenagers, it was good to have separate quarters. The kitchen was roomy and well-stocked with equipment. We shopped at Publix nearby and ate almost every meal at MGV. The rooms were clean, quiet, and the beds were comfortable. The walls and some parts of the kitchen were a little banged up, but nothing horrible. Bring hair conditioner and coffee--as there is none provided here like other hotels. MGV timeshare staff called to sign us up for a seminar, but we declined, no pressure at all to go. On the grounds of MGV, we had some time to swim every evening, play ping-pong, and took a paddle boat out on the lagoon. This was a Universal trip for us and we took the I-Line to a stop near Universal, walked to Sheraton Studio City hotel and took a $5 cab ride to Universal. The I-Line pass for 3 days was $5 purchased at Walgreens (one right near Sheraton, otherwise it was $1 per person/per ride). We had a car a day later and was glad to give up the long (but pleasant) rides on I-Line. Bought the on-line 2 park 7 day unlimited tickets for about $86 each. Preferred parking ($16) was only $5 more than regular parking. We would definitely stay at MGV again for any trip to Orlando; it was worth the money compared to renting 2 other hotel rooms without a kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank witraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,400 - 3,406 of 4,151 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2007

We L-O-V-E-D this resort! There were so many great activities for both families, just kids, and adults only onsite that it was surely a PLUS to the off-site activities we had already booked.

We had a 2 bed/2 bath villa with a full kitchen. There were 5 adults and one child on our trip. We really needed the space and loved that the rooms were laid out very well to feel so open. The easy chairs in
each room were very comfortable and we liked having the counter with bar stools as well as the full dining table to eat together. The rooms were well insulated and the screened in patios off the master and guest room were very nice as well. Our room looked onto the golf course and it was blue skies and sun for our entire trip.

Our overall impression of the our accommodations was great until the bottom of the refrigerator door fell off half way through the week and the washer and dryer made a lot of noise. Other than that, the rooms were beautifully decorated and everything was VERY comfortable.
The beds were spacious and the sleeper sofa (queen) worked well for one of the adults in our party.

There are 7 or 8 pools at the resort and they are WONDERFUL if you have a family!! So many options to keep kids busy with the different pools from a zero entry "water world" complete with showers, sprayers, sprinklers, etc. plus the 2 kiddie pools (one on each side of the lake at the pool locations) was ideal. There are also numerous
hot tubs at each pool so there is lots of space for everyone. We never felt crowded although clearly, there were families, adults, spring breakers, etc. everywhere. The noise level was surprisingly contained and the music in the afternoon was enjoyable; there are also activities for the kids poolside in the afternoons.

There is also a beach that is fenced in along the lake with a full volleyball court and a rock climbing wall. They offer a game room and exercise room as well as fishing, biking, and boating that is all done at the resort.

The concierge provided an excellent recommendation and we had dinner at Roys (Hawiian-fusion) and we took advantage of other delivery services, the grocery store (1/2 mile away), as well as the general store, Copa Loca Grill & Bar (poolside) and the pizza hut onsite for dining.

We picked up a 2-day park hopper ticket to the Magic Kingdom and spent one day at Disney World and split the other day at Animal Kingdom/Epcot/MGM. It was busy but well worth it! We had dinner at Planet Hollywood at Downtown Disney (15 minutes away) and also partied at Pleasure Island. Make sure that you stop in at the giant Disney Store if you head to Downtown Disney ... it is out of this world!

We booked our vacation to Marriott's Grande Vista through Interval International, an exchange company that works with our home timeshare, Marriott's Beachplace Towers in Ft Lauderdale. We continue
to be impressed with Marriott's excellent guest relations/
satisfaction as well as attention to detail in helping to plan excellent vacations for our family.

We will DEFINITELY be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank ElissaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We stayed for one night in March of '07, as we arrived in Florida a day earlier than planned. The staff at the Grande Vista was excellent, the property was maintained very nicely, and the room was both large and spotless. Overall a great stay!

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank habs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2007

The resort is very large, but beautiful. We requested a pool view room but got a lake view room instead which actually worked out better for us:) The lake view rooms are beautiful. There are 2 large pools which were very busy all week. The one thing that we did not like about this resort was that the people were putting towels and personal items on pool chairs VERY early in the morning to "save" them and then not returning until hours later. So, people who actually wanted to stay at the pool had a very hard time finding lounge chairs, especially the ones in the sun. We were there during Easter break for ALOT of the kids, so it was packed. There is alot to do for the kids and the staff is excellent. Everyone there was very nice and helpful-Good job Marriott! We own other timeshares, but where very impressed by this one. There is no mid-week free cleaning here though. If you want your room cleaned, you will have to do it yourself or pay a daily charge for it. The washers and dryers in the one and two bedroom units are definately a plus:)
One thing that I would like to see at this resort is Marriott transportation to the Disney and Universal parks. The drive is only about 20 minutes, but after staying at other Disney area resorts who had transportation, I would probably look for that next time I stayed in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MomWifeGrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

We stayed on a guest certificate / time share exchange and absolutely loved it.
Would recommend this resort to anyone staying in Orlando. Lots to do by the poolside and plenty of room for a large family. Close to Disney but if you are staying here, don't hesitate to stay home for a day instead of doing the parks.
Hope to be back again someday

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bradford_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2007

This vacation was another time-share exchange during college winter break. We brought our MSU student with us and decided to go to Orlando because our oldest son now works and lives in Orlando and we could combine some R&R with a visit with him.
We had done the Universal/Disney thing several years ago, so this visit was a getaway from the cold, white north without the lines and cues of paid for amusements. We were there to relax and enjoy the warmer weather.
We had a one bedroom suite. It was very nice with all amenities, full kitchen, whirlpool tub, shower, couches, table...etc. We stayed in the 'main' building. Our balcony/patio overlooked the large U-shaped pool and was spacious and comfortable for reading, relaxing and viewing. There was no daily maid service unless you want to pay for it. We declined. Below us was the Marketplace, with Starbucks, Pizza Hut, Eddies Ice Cream and a convenience store...which was very convenient for quick needs.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds were very well manicured and kept very clean and organized. Parking was never a problem, occasionally you might have to walk a little but nothing dramatic...not a problem. You can take some nice stolls aroung the place, the ponds were nice and there was also a conservation area walking path.
The people staying there were rather diverse...colleges students who were well behaved, families of all ages, older and younger couples...it appeared to a mixture of everyone.
They had lots of activities for both adults and kids but mostly for kids. We rarely ventured far from our building while at MGV, so activities in other areas I can not comment on.
Now for the nuts and bolts...Drinks were a bit expensive. We made most of our refreshments in our room and it was never a problem to carry them about. The Lighthouse bar made some good tropical concoctions which we did partake on several occasions.
We never ate at Nick's Grill which is the MGV's nice restaurant, so I can't help you there, it looked very nice. The pool grill had a limited menu and was slightly overpriced but the food was pretty decent. A good place to go for a snack to hold you over before going out for your meals. We did buy some necessaries at the Publix grocery store, but it was mostly for snacking and drinks.
We did the timeshare presentation, for 1.5 hours. No real hassles, we got $100 Marriot cash to close out our bills from the pool grill and bike rental.
We were in a very nice location because we requested a room near one of the main pool areas. I highly recommend that you request this. Some of the buildings were a walk from the two main pool areas and although I think all the rooms overlook either the pools, golf course or lakes, we were in a prime location (for us). We called ours the 'Presidential Suite'.
It appeared to be a very nice place to relax or rest from the amusement parks which we presumed many people were doing based on the abundance of Mickey stuff the kids were wearing.
The MGV is a short drive from all the restaurants and putt-putt and other activities on I-Drive.
We did go to Lakeland and watch the Tigers play Atlanta. We even got Gary Sheffield, Justin Verlander and Curtis Granderfield's autographs. We did a casino cruise and won some money. Went to the Science Museum to see the Our Body exhibit and we ate a many nice restaurants. Texas de Brazil was awesome.
It was a fun time and a nice place to stay. You should be happy with it. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 Stars was because I have stayed in other places that had nicer rooms....more marble, tile, newer appearance. The MGV is very nice. My MSU student said it was nicest place he has ever stayed!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank chiller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

We stayed at the Marriott and booked through a Timeshare exchange. This is a beautiful hotel and resort. They have really nice pools and there are several. It was a quiet place and relaxing. The hotel is not far from all of Orlando's attractions. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was huge. The was a juzucci tub in the master suite which didn't work at first and we called maintenance. It was working within the hour. The hotel staff was friendly. We attended at couple of events at the hotel and enjoyed it very much.
Nice hotel, great pools and spacious rooms.
Nice place to stay and we would stay there again without hesistation.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LinAnnBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
3.6 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 342 in Orlando
3,314 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#16 of 342 in Orlando
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 342 in Orlando
1,501 reviews
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
5.6 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Vista

Address: 5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821-7001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#28 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#39 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#68 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $130 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Grande Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Universal Orlando®, Walt Disney World®, and SeaWorld®, this 164-acre resort features one- two- and three-bedroom Orlando golf villas and three championship golf courses. Villas overlook a scenic lake and feature spacious living and dining areas, full kitchens, washer/dryer, and a master suite with an oversized soaking tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's Grande Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Vista Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Marriott Grande Vista Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing