We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time - good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Vista
Ranked #58 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“2nd time - good”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was our 2nd stay at MGV - with little kids. Our room had a slight musty smell and was an x-smoking room, I purchased an air freshener from Publix on the first night which helped, but still the must was strong. Clean rooms as usual, and staff was okay - watch the bartenders - they were pouring cheap vodka when we ordered (and paid for) top-shelf. The first time, I let it slide, the 2nd time, I had to say something. He said it was a mistake. Grounds and pool areas were clean, food was average, but we didn't visit Nicks this time. Nicks was great the last time. Fire alarm went off accidentally one day, and the housekeeper rapping on our door at 10 a.m. on the dot on our day of departure was slightly annoying.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jengaloveshawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,227
    1,171
    353
    153
    97
See reviews for
2,232
780
47
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schertz, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Just returned from 7 day stay at Grande Vista. We are Marriott owners of a Gold Week in St. Thomas, and traded our week for Grande Vista so we could take the kids to Disney. We have stayed previously at Marriott vacation resorts in St. Thomas, Breckenridge, and Aruba.
We had done a tour of Grande Vista in 2007 before we purchased, and it was advertised as one of the nicer properties. Here are some of the things we liked/disliked:
The grounds were very nicely done and the amenities (pools, tennis courts, etc.) were nice. I liked the central courtyard area with the store, gym, and activity center(s). Although the kids prefer pools with slides, they enjoyed the water cannons and fountains at the pool we used. The resort is within a couple of minutes from shopping dining and grocery stores, and within 15-20 minutes from Disney parks. There are 2 main pools and 2 smaller pools at the proprty. The 2 main pools have poolside bars/dining, which is nice. We had a couple of minor problems with the room upon check-in (a missing sprayer at the kitchen sink, and there were roaches on the back patio). The maintenance staff were there within an hour and fixed the sprayer and sprayed the patio.
On the downside, we were hoping to get a room close to the one of the main pools, but the only thing they had available was one of the older buildings on the fringes of the resort. We had a view of part of the golf course, but it was a LONG walk to get to the main area. Even though we arrived early and told them we were Marriott owners, the front desk said all the good buildings were reserved for Grande Vista owners. The design of our building could have been better, as well. Thare was one elevator for the whole building, and not only was it very slow, but there were many times we had to wait for cleaning crews to get on and off with their carts. They could have added a service elevator for the guests' convenience. Also, we stopped by the poolside bar to grab a drink before picking up a pizza, and the female bartender was pretty rude. She was doing a 'wheel of fortune' game with a couple of other folks, and they must have been tipping well, because she treated my wife and I like major annoyances. Another female bartender we had at the kid's pool area couldn't have been nicer, though. There was a thunderstorm that closed the pool, so we camped out under her awning and had a couple of drinks and she was extremely nice.
Overall, I would recommend the resort, but not enthusuastically.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiffRaff63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Went on vacation the first time with my 4 yr old grandaughter. She loved it, We had a two bedroom condo overlooking the baby pool and the big pool. I was a little worried about some of the comments but it turned out to be a wonderful place for my family. The trash was picked up very fast and the people that worked there were very friendly. My daughter had a friend that is working in Orlando for the summer and came to visit and he could not just come in, She had to come and meet him. So it is very secured for families. We just loved it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savanna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Just returned from a week with my boyfriend at the Marriott grande vista and what a brilliant week it was! The rooms are fantastic, massive comfy beds and pillows. The hot tub in the room is brilliant! The kitchen was well equipt with everything you could need. The pools are lovely and never too busy, it was never a problem getting a sun bed. The pool bar is expensive but does the best strawberry daquiris!! I would recommend this place to anybody!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Stayed here for 2 weeks in May 2010 in a 2 bed 2 bath unit using an II exchange. We paid for an additional night (incl $30 food and beverage credit) at the start of our stay to work around our flights from the UK.
Resort check in attentive and courteous - we had travelled for 24 hours thanks to the effects of the Icelandic volcano. Despite check in staff's efforts we had to move rooms on the first morning from block 83 to 78. The move was dealt with quickly and someone came to help us move our cases. In light of the negative comments on this site we were fearful that our second room would not be as lovely/well appointed and furnished as the first. We should not have been concerned the only difference was that we had a beautiful lake view from our new room in block 78!
Excellent sized and appointed accommodation with good quality furnishings and equipment. The only niggle is the lack of reasonably priced cleaning/housekeeping services. When asked the central Housekeeping staff were unaware whether we would have a full clean at the end of the 1st week's stay before our 2nd week started, and were similarly vague about the cost citing approximately $80. We ordered a full clean on day 6 - which was not as comprehensive as the name suggested e.g. sink counters not cleared and cleaned, towels were removed and not replaced with clean ones etc. We then got a further "full clean" on day 7. This standard of resort deserves a reasonably priced bed and towel change service midweek for those guests who choose to stay in excess of a few days. There was a washing machine and dryer in the apartment and I used them so that I came home with cases full of clean clothes. However, I do not expect to have to wash my bedding on holiday.
The grounds are beautiful and constantly manicured. The range of organised activities for all ages is excellent. Our 3 year old was a little too young for some of these yet, but he thoroughly enjoyed running around in the indoor a/c play area. The pools were very attractive and we had no issues with people reserving (and then not using) sun loungers during our stay. The pools were open until 11.00 pm and so if you have little children you may want to be based in blocks away from the immediate vicinity of the pools. We used the pool a couple of evenings to refresh our aching limbs after long days in the parks!
There is a small convenience shop on site which had a reasonable selection of goods at a slight premium - but you're paying for the convenience of not having to get in the car and go and find Publix etc. There is also a Pizza Hut which will deliver to your door but we didn't have time to try it.
We ate breakfast in Nicks Grill once - food was good (except the very uninspiring fruit cup) but it was a little pricey, and the staff there were miserable and disinterested.
I used the on site spa 1 day but the staff member was not especially friendly or communicative, and snuffled her way through my treatment. I think there are probably better pamper options off site.
The location is brilliant - away from the hype of I-Drive proper but incredibly close to Seaworld & Aquatica, and the joys of Disney are only 10-15 mins away. We would definitely recommend this resort particularly to those travelling with children, and are hoping to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holseeker_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

My wife and I are owners at Sheraton Vistana Orlando and wanted to try the Marriott on an Interval Getaway. Boy it was cheap...cost wise. We paid under $300 for 7 nights for a studio which is all we needed for the week (I was fairly busy at meetings from morning till 9 pm)

Marriott's Grande Vista is exciting when you enter the property. The drive in from International Dr tells you that your stay will be quiet...the best point of the resort. You are off the beaten path so you know you will have a chance for a good night sleep...till you find out that the pool areas are loud and stay open till 11 PM.

The guest services are very good including the guards who raise the gate for you. They greet you well and keep it up all week long. The registration is slightly faster than that of Sheraton and very helpful. The guards at the entrance really make you feel at home.

We only had one meal at Nicks Grille. It was very good but kind of pricey for the portion size. The girl at the pool we used surprised me by making a mixed drink for a girl who was probably under age. She never carded her. The girl who ordered brought one of two drinks over to her father and she took the other one. Florida has a drinking age of 21. That is a pretty serious legal violation. Someday they will get caught and it will cost them.

There were a few things about the property that were kind of issues or just off. First, there is NO wireless reception in the guest services area. I got a gut feeling they do that on purpose. Second, wireless service on the property was somewhat limited. My Verizon Droid did not work well here. Third, the bathroom vanity had water damage on the base of it. Needs replacing. The sinks and counters seem old. Fourth, for some reason the closet was rather small. Fifth, there is only one elevator for the building we were in, #92. This place has 6 floors of people! The elevator also has no air conditioning in it and is steamy from all the people coming in from the pool. Sixth, they have way too few pools for all the people here. Sheraton has tons of them and they are larger, or seems that way. Seventh, there is no washer/dryer in the unit. There is a set down in the pool area which was not too bad to use. Finally, the unit bathroom had no air conditioning vent. We had to keep that door open all the time to keep it cool.

One excellent thing about Vista is that there is good parking. Lots of cars but good parking. Be careful when turning left onto International Dr. Very hard to get out. It would be best to turn right and use the u-turn lane just down the road.

Overall, a good stay but Sheraton, which is newly renovated, beats it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Had a great week at the Grand Vista. We stayed in a 3 bedroom in Bldg 80 and it was very nice. The resort is a little dated but exceeded all my expectations. I truly recommend this resort for family's as there is a lot to do without leaving the property. I have been a Marriott Vacation Club owner for 8 yrs and this was one of the best stays I have had. I will be booking here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meri675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#15 of 338 in Orlando
1,765 reviews
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
1.0 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
4.5 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Vista

Property: Marriott's Grande Vista
Address: 5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821-7001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#21 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#39 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#68 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Grande Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Universal Orlando®, Walt Disney World®, and SeaWorld®, this 164-acre resort features one- two- and three-bedroom Orlando golf villas and three championship golf courses. Villas overlook a scenic lake and feature spacious living and dining areas, full kitchens, washer/dryer, and a master suite with an oversized soaking tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's Grande Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Vista Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Marriott Grande Vista Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing