We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for 1st "Disney" vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Vista
Ranked #55 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great resort for 1st "Disney" vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

My parents are Marriott timeshare owners and they used their points to treat us (me, DH, 7 yo son and 4 yo daughter) to a week stay in a 2 BR unit. They stayed in a 1 BR unit in a different building. The resort was beautiful. We were there the first week in March and the weather was unseasonably chilly so we didn't use the pools much. The resort is quite spread out, but it was a nice walk to their little store and coffee shop. We had a ground floor unit with a nice view of the pond. The unit was plenty big for our family of 4. Free wifi was nice.

It's very easy to get to any of the Disney parks. You do need to pay for parking because we weren't on-property Disney guests, but no big deal since I knew this going into it. We spent 4 days in the parks. It was a perfect amount of time. My DH played golf on one of the off days and enjoyed the course across from Grande Vista (I believe that's where it was). My daughter had an accident in the bed one night, so early the next morning we requested a total bed linen change on her bed. Got back from the parks later that evening and it still wasn't done. Poor thing was so tired and ready for bed, but we had to wait for them and come change the linens. About 20 minutes later it was done.

Staff was friendly upon arrival and we got free t-shirts. We didn't really participate in any of the resort activities, but we've always loved them at other Marriott resorts. At lunch at the poolside restaurant the last day and that was good. Huge sandwiches if I remember correctly. We never took advantage of the bar due to kids needing to get to bed at the end of busy days.

I'd stay here again if we're looking to stay off property for Disney or if we're looking to do other Orlando attractions. But soon we'll be staying on property at Disney to see how that is, which I'm really looking forward to!

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pamperedbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,153
    1,131
    343
    150
    92
See reviews for
2,149
754
46
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (953)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

We just returned from our trip to Disney and our stay at the Marriott Grande Vista. My family consists of myself, my husband and our 2 1/2 year old son. We also vacationed with our friends who have a 2 1/2 year old boy as well. We arrived at the Grande Vista mid-day and were welcomed by the beautiful grounds and friendly check in attendant. We received our keys and headed off to our 2 bedroom villa. We stayed in 3109 & 3110. They were adjoining rooms. The rooms were spacious and clean. It was equipped with a full kitchen including all pots, pans, dishes, silverware etc... It had a dishwasher, full size refrigerator, oven, microwave and also a washer and dryer! Everything was clean and in place. The bedrooms were nice as well. One room had a king bed and a Jacuzzi tub along with a full size bathroom. The other room had a queen bed with a queen pull out sofa in it and again its own full size bathroom. The adjoining room was the kitchen/ dining room/ living room. The dining room had a full size table and seating for 6. There was also a breakfast bar with swivel chairs. The living room had a pull out sofa and a couple of comfy chairs and of course a flat screen TV. Off to the right of the living room was a screened in porch with a table and chairs.

The property was great. For children they have a playroom called the Maze that was fantastic... there is a huge jungle gym like structure for the kids to play in for hours. There was also arts and crafts and different activities offered throughout the day for the children. An example was they had a build a bear workshop and also offered kids cooking lessons! The staff there was super friendly and lots of fun.

There were also various pool areas throughout the property. I think there were 4 but we visited only 2. One had a toddler pool, and lap pool along with a huge family pool to hang out in. The other had a really fun "kid" type pool with squirting guns etc... and also another family type large pool. Both areas had food available. One was like a bar and grill.. the other had a pizza hut and sandwich shop along with a bar... both fantastic!

The ride to Disney from the property is about 15 min and the ride to the airport is about 15 min... It's located right in between and very convenient!! It is also located next to a Publix market and other food places if you want to fill up your fridge or if you want to eat out!

I also wanted to mention that I visited the spa for a pedicure which was great! Not only did I have a nice 45 min relaxing pedicure but the price was super cheap compared to any surrounding resorts! This property has a full services spa that you will want to try out if you have some time :)

I would definitely suggest this hotel to families traveling to Disney! You will get MORE room than staying on Disney property for a cheaper price!! I have stayed on Disney property before but would definitely go back to this place again in the future!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyVacationer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

We are usualyy Disney customers while staying in Florida but our friend managfed to get us a deal through her Timeshare company for a one room studio. We were used to much smaller quarters on Disney property so the Grande Vista's room was a treat. We arrived on an eraly flight and the Marriottt allowed us an early check in. Our room was on the third floor near the stairs and we got our exercise going up and down. Our building overlooked the golf course and driving range so we were aross the parking lot from the quiet pool. Everything was lovely and clean. The wet bar and fridge served it's purpose and we could have cold drinks and snacks. Half way through our vacation we had new neighbours and they were VERY LOUD and the children could not sleep. After 11 pm we had to complain to the front desk and they sent security over immediately with an apology. Even after the 2nd and 3rd times complaining 3 a.m. Security was very good.

The next day the front desk moved us into a one bedroom with kitchen, laundy and jacuzzi at no charge. They were EXTREMELY apologetic. We were grateful and continued to enjoy the lovely stay. We also received 3 calls asking us to attend a timeshare presentation. We declined as our children had managed to pick up Influenza B on the flight (ack!..see After Hours PEdiatric if you need a Doctor in ORlando..they are fabulous.) and they stopped calling. They were always polite and never pushy.

Aside from the noise coming through the lock-out door on our first room and the 2 or 3 calls we received to come to a timeshare presentation this was a divine stay.

We are going back in September!

(*Oh and don't forget the WiFi! Disney doesn't even do that at most of it's resorts! And it's FREE!!!)

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DisneyFanOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa,Fl.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

We were invited by family to join them at this beautiful resort. However, things did start off a little rocky.

An early arrival was requested by my father and it was 3:30 before the suite was ready. Not an early arrival I'd say. Once the room was ready we got together and drove to the unit. Got to the 5th floor and the card keys would not work. We called the front desk and they sent someone to get us in and bring new keys. Took around 20 minutes, no biggy but it was blazing hot outside. Once inside it was noticed how worn things were in this unit. Definitely not up to Marriott standards. The ceiling fan in the master bedroom was swaying around lopsided making a banging noise, they sent someone to fix that. The room all together is very nice just showing some wear and tear of the years they have been in use I assume.
The grounds and pool areas are just beautiful. You can see fireworks from Universal from some of the units at night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

somebody broke into our villa and stole cash that was hidden in the drawer,,, cause i didnt see the freaking safety deposit box they stole my iphone my husband handbag and the 7 passports of the 7 of us .... loss prevention didnt help at anything we got the police report but they didt care... the manager did help us by not charging the food we ate for the rest of the days and the phone calls we made ...and for extra charges... that was good,,,, but the insurance company marriot has is a ripoff they didnt help at anything at all... so be carefull cause people steal stuff here.,... tehy broke in through the porch door. and they did this to another room too cause they left and ipod case that wasnt ours but it belonged to the other guests.... and the maids steal stuff too we are sure of it..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutefati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

I really can’t complain about anything at all. This property is HUGE!.. with a nice golf course and beautiful grounds. Our suites (we had two) were very tastefully decorated with beautiful views of the pool and lake. The hot tub in our room was very spacious and comfortable. The staff was more than friendly, they even offered to take us around the property in a golf cart! The children's indoor playground is pretty new and the area is very well maintained. I think it's amazing how many activities this resort has to offer. We played volleyball, did BBQ, bonfire, paddle boats, golf, billiards, etc.. They also have a fully equipped gym with free weights, a spa, business cntr, ice cream store, restaurant, etc.. So much fun... so much to do! It has 3 pools (at least) one of them has water canyons for both kids and adults to play. There's also a bar/rest. by the pool with great music, great service and good food.

This resort is located about 5 minutes max. from Sea World and Aquatica but this is a property that must be enjoyed :) So take a day or two off from your busy theme park schedule and enjoy what it has to offer. We will be going back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Besitos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed at Marriott's Grande Vista Aug 14-21.

Check in: We arrived at the resort at 3:30, right before the scheduled checkin of 4:00. There was no line, no wait. We walked right up to the counter and the staff member was more than happy to assist us. She checked us in quickly and gave us a quick tour of the huge property through a little map, then sent us on our way to the building we were staying in.

Building: We stayed in building 85, Cristobal, in the west village, which consisted of about 5-6 buildings. Our building had a lake view, and it was the next building over from the 2nd largest pool area and a bar called Copa Loca. The building has 6 floors, each with about 7 villas on each, 2 stairs on each side, and an elevator in the middle. Our room was on the 2nd floor, right near the stairs on the right side. We thought we might have trouble with noise, but this was not the case. In fact, the whole stay any time of the day at the resort, it was quiet, with the exception of the pool areas obviously.

Room: We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. The master bedroom had a king size bed, lounge, nice flatscreen tv, and a balcony off of it with a sliding glass door, and a huge bathroom. There were 2 sinks and a huge whirlpool tub near the bed and further into the bathroom with a door was a toilit and a huge shower. The 2nd bedroom was on the other side with 2 queen sized beds, a flatscreen tv, and a balcony off of it. It also had a bathroom which not only connected to that bedroom, but it connected to the kitchen and living area, therefore 2 doors in this bathroom. The bathroom was the usual,but it was a nice size.

The kitchen, dining area, and living area seperated the two bedrooms. The area was a nice size also. The kitchen had everything you need for a weeks stay and more. Nice fridge, microwave, toaster, coffeepot, sink, dishwasher, dishes and silverware and much more. It was decent sized for a kitchen on vacation. It also had 3 barstools and a counter to eat a quick snack. The dining area had a huge table with 6 chairs. And the living area had a huge flatscreen tv, dvd player, and 2 couches, 1 with pullout coach, we never used it.

The villa also had a washer/dryer combo next do the double door bathroom and a closet right across from it. All in all, this was one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in.

Property: The grande vista was a huge property right off of international drive near sea world. You needed swipe your card just to get into the building areas, which was a nice saftey precaution. The property has a huge lake with a bridge that connects the west village with the main side. You could rent paddle boats for the lake also, and fishing poles. The property had basketball and tennis courts, a restaurant near the golf course called nicks grill, a bar in a pool area called Copa Loca, and it had a market place in the main building with pizza hut pizza and other items. There was also a store in the main building with starbucks coffee, donuts, and food items like a tiny grocery store. There was a small bar in the main pool area and finally a lighthouse that has an ice cream parlor at the bottom. The property also has a fitness area, and full spa with tons of spa services. 4 pool areas are in the resort, including 2 large sized areas and 2 smaller areas. The Copa Loca pool area had a little area for children to play in.

I would definitely 100% recommend this resort to a friend!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cot427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#14 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
1.8 mi away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#20 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Vista

Property: Marriott's Grande Vista
Address: 5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821-7001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#20 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#39 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#68 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Grande Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Universal Orlando®, Walt Disney World®, and SeaWorld®, this 164-acre resort features one- two- and three-bedroom Orlando golf villas and three championship golf courses. Villas overlook a scenic lake and feature spacious living and dining areas, full kitchens, washer/dryer, and a master suite with an oversized soaking tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Grande Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Vista Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Marriott Grande Vista Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing