We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,457)
Filter reviews
4,457 results
Traveler rating
2,468
1,288
404
177
120
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,468
1,288
404
177
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopa locabedroom villasea worldfull kitchenmarriott vacation clubpaddle boatspizza hutmain pooltime shareice cream shopwasher and dryergreat resortmarriott propertiesinternational drivedaily activitiestennis courtsscreened in porch
Filter
Updating list...
3,417 - 3,422 of 4,457 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Just returned from a week long stay at MGV. I traveled with my sister a couple of our friends. I have stayed at other Marriott properties in Florida and this one was similar to the others. We are timeshare owners and traded to get MGV. We called 10 days in advance to request a specific unit in Building 78 in the West Village and upon check-in our request was honored. We actually had an early flight and although check-in is not until 4 pm, by 1 pm our room was ready!

Check in and out- no problems very smooth

Customer Service- great! Front Desk called to make sure all was well and that we were well taken care of.

Rooms- smaller than other 2bdrm 2 bath units at other Marriotts but comfortable. Clean, well appointed, and 2 balconies which was very nice!

Housekeeping- my only problem with the resort. Although they were friendly- they never came to give us fresh towels during the week. Since its timeshare and not a hotel- I am used to getting fresh towels just one time for the week but that never happened. We called housekeeping and within 30 mins we had fresh towels!

Staff- Everyone was VERY friendly and helpful!

Amenities- the resort is HUGE! 4 different villages- each village has 6 buildings, each building is 6 stories high. 6 pools, more than 4 hot tubs, a sauna, nice gym/workout center, rock wall, tennis, basketball, volleyball on small sand beach, large lake with paddle boats, etc. There seemed to be a lot for young children to do.

Overall- nice resort for vacationing families, close to all parks and shops and restaurants. If you want peace and quiet at this resort request to stay in the west village (which is located across the lake from the main village and all the ammenities) as this affords a more quiet atmosphere (away from young children-especially at night) but is just a short walk across the gorgous bridge to the stores, activities, and restaurants.

Not recommended for honeymooners or older couples looking for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyja44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Beautiful place, you do not feel like you are in Orlando so close to the theme parks. We have come to visit friends here but this is our first stay ourselves. We traveled with extended family. Half of our party checked on a Thursday and we arrived Friday night. After a restess night sleep we woke up to find bed bugs in our bed and evidence of their dinner, Me! We reported the problem immediately and they had us move to another unit. If this happens to you save one of the bugs like I did in a bag to show them. We moved our things our of that area immediately to prevent them getting on our things. Luckily I had just read about this and did not dismiss it. They are on the rise even in upscale hotels and resorts. This was no small move with 3 children and 4 adults and a refrigerator fully stocked. The resort was apologetic and helped us in the move and gave us compensation for our inconvenience. The continue to check on us throughout our stay. The new room worked out fine and we were able to enjoy the rest of our stay. The kids really enjoyed the pool, planned activities, and indoor playground. We only ate at the pool bar once and found the food to be fair. We loved the upscale rooms and their decor. We did have some key issues as many have mentioned and we learned that they are sensitive to cell phones and can cause your key to be disabled. They did say they are upgrading the lock system soon to help with this problem. Despite some issues we will return to this resort and as a traveler more knowledable about what to look for before settling in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firefighterteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

When our family arrived we all were taken back by the gorgeous exterior. When we first arrived everyone was very courteous and helpful. My family was offered a ride to our villa which was in building 97. We had two villas in the same building. The rooms were beautiful and clean. When I needed clean towels or sheets. I received my request in less than 15 minutes and even received a courtesy call requesting to know if I received what I had requested. The activites at this resort are really neat. My thirteen year old daughter had a blast with the American Idol WII, Game Room, Teen Mystery Night etc., I personally loved the fitness room, the beach area and walking over the bridge. However, my eighteen and nineteen year old sons advised that there was not a lot of activites for their age group. That is one suggestion that I have is to have more activites for the older teen and young adults.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smitchell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed here while taking the family to Disney World for the week. We're owners at another location and traded into Grande Vista. Evidently there are different codes for 2 bdrm villas versus lock-off units. We wanted a 2 bdrm but got a lock-off. Wasn't really a problem, just had to prop the lock-off door open during the day.

Location
Great location. 10 minutes to Disney, just up the street to Sea World. Tons of other timeshare/condo resorts around the area. A Wal-Greens and Publix are just down the street along with a McDonald's. Wal-Mart isn't too far...although we went on Saturday night to get groceries and Wal-Mart was a madhouse. Could barely walk for all of the people. It was worse than shopping at Christmas. Most must have been new arrivals in town doing the same thing we were. I'm sure Friday and Saturday are big check-in days. Upscale outlet mall is just down the street on Vineland. Very close to lots of restaurants on both sides of I-4. The resort sits back off of International Drive, you can't see it from the road. That makes it very quiet from a traffic and business standpoint. It's not in the congested part of International Drive either, so we never had a problem getting out of the resort. The trolley does go by if you want to take it up and down that main stretch.

Size
This is a huge resort. We've been to several other Marriotts, but this was the biggest. May be at least 10-15 buildings, 4 pools. We were in building 84 next to the Copa Loca pool, which is the kids' pool. It was pretty crowded even in the morning at the pool. At night I guess teenagers and others come out because we could hear noise and talking from the pool in our villa. But Marriott was good about closing the pool and all of the noise stopped right at 11pm every night. We never made it across the large lake to visit the other side of the resort since it is so large, and we were so busy going to the parks.

Villa
Our villa was on the first floor of Bldg 84. The bldgs around the kids' pool have been remodeled somewhat, but not completely overhauled like some of the other bldgs. Staff said since those bldgs are so popular they can't shut them down to do the work. So you could see the age on the villa but it also had some nice upgrades too with granite counters, down bedding, etc. Floor tile is older, shower and jacuzzi tub are older, some of the light fixtures had loose parts, dining room chairs showed wear on the wooden part, etc. But everything worked and what didn't work was fixed within 24 hours. The villa didn't have all of the kitchen utensils and pans that the other Marriotts have had, but we had enough for what we needed. You can always call and request something that's missing.

Guests
This resort had a broad range of guests staying there. Many were foreign tourists. I'm sure it's because of the theme parks that you have such a variety of demographics. Many more teenagers than we've seen at other resorts and some of the guests were a little rougher than what we've seen at Marriott's beach resorts. But no one caused a problem. The crowding at the pool was the least favorite part. By 10am, there were already several families there. The teenagers came out closer to noon. One afternoon some guys were floating in tubes in the pool drinking beers. Would have preferred that they keep the drinks out of the pool. Again, we were only at the pool a couple of days since we spent most time at the parks. We did notice that the resort did not require anyone to have on a wristband noting that they were a guest like we've had to do at other Marriott beach resorts.

Amenities
Nice golf course surrounds the resort, beautiful lake sits in the middle with paddle boats you can take out on the lake (it was too hot for us to do it). Cute lighthouse with a dessert/sweet shop under it. Nice workout room. Good kids' program with lots of activities (as if you needed more being in Orlando). Small beach by the lake with a volleyball net and a rock climbing wall. Nice store/small restaurant with Starbucks by the registration building. Bar/grill next to the kids' pool called Copa Loca. Four pools. The kids' pool has four fort/tower type structures that have water cannons the kids can spray into the pool. You never know when you're going to get hit with water, but my 6 year old son loved it. They didn't work all of the time, but we did see Marriott staff coming out to try and fix them so they were all working as much as possible. There's a sidewalk around the lake and the map shows the distance and paths you can walk if you're wanting some outdoor exercise. They also have nice sets of swings overlooking the lake. The grounds are secured so everyone has to pass through the guard before entering the property or have a room key to access the gates.

It's not a brand new resort like Marriott's place in Myrtle Beach, but it's still a nice place that we enjoyed. It worked great for us. We could easily go to the Disney parks in the day and quickly come back for a few hours in the afternoon to swim or eat before going back again at night. Disney makes parking as easy as possible, and you only have to pay for parking once each day so you can go and come as you please. We stayed at Marriott's Cypress Harbour last year and it was pretty comparable to Grande Vista in the villa itself. It seemed to be a lot quieter.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pirate_Mom316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Stayed here in a villa (which is actually an apartment) for a close location to Disney but about half the price. Overall the place was clean, large and comfortable. Our room was a bit close to the pool pumps/machinery and sometimes had a slight damp smell due to this - nothing bad enough to complain about, but try to avoid that position. We actually checked out then decided to stay one more night and had a better location (near the "average for the price" Nicks Grill).

Overall, a nice stay and would recommend but no idea about the facilities on site as we didnt use any of them!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaJambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews