We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Vista
Ranked #65 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our first time staying here and had a wonderful experience! We stayed with our two young children and grandmother and nobody has a single complaint. I generally don't write reviews often but after reading some negative reviews I felt I needed to chime in about our nice experience. Here's a list of what we liked and we will be back:

-When arrived asked for highchair and pack and play for our room and was there within the hour.
-kids pool area was clean and perfect for 1 & 4 year old
-pools were clean, warm and never overcrowded
-grilling areas were nice for family cookout (especially one by pool next to building 92)
-every staff member we encountered was so friendly and helpful (one staff member made it his mission to find my daughter's lost crocs)
-piña coladas by pool were a little overpriced but so worth it!!!
-other people/families were friendly (only encountered a few sour pusses)
-kids indoor play area/arcade was a big hit for our 4 year old
-when we arrived, they had us in a 2 bedroom villa on first floor and we asked for a higher floor and moved us without a problem
-room was clean and always had everything we needed
-perfect for families with young and old kids.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 bedroom villa in building 92 on backside with golf course view. I heard some building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

It is always rewarding to hear when we have exceeded our guest's expectations! Especially when there are so many positives, you can create a list! Thank you for your great review and please come visit us again soon at Marriott's Grande Vista.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,924 - 1,930 of 4,110 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014

After staying at the property last year and enjoying it, we decided to stay here again this year. This year was disappointing. We just spent 9 days at the Grande Vista. When we arrived at 4pm to check in I was told our room was not ready and it could be another 2 hours. After traveling all day and with a toddler I found this was not acceptable. The front desk person told me they would call my cell phone when the room was ready. The next day I found a bunch of miscellaneous charges on my credit card. I went down to the lobby and the woman at the front desk had no clue and brought in a manager who gave me a lame excuse about having to authorize a certain amount to my card each day even though my card was already charged for incidentals. On the last night of our stay I requested a wake up call which I never received. Good thing I had my husband set the alarm on his phone or we could have missed our flight! Customer service was not up to par and for the money spent and as a Marriott rewards member I would have expected more. Not sure I'd be back again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florida_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Grande Vista. As a valued Marriott Rewards member, we take your feedback seriously and apologize we were unable to exceed your expectations. The service you described is not typical of our resort and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We would welcome the chance to personally respond to your concerns and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and for returning to Marriott’s Grande Vista.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a party of 6 adult couples. We left the kids at home. We had timeshare points through Interval International that we used to set up three separate 3-bedroom units. Prior to arrival, about 2-3 weeks, you should contact the Pre-Arrival Team and give them your requests during your stay. For us, our criteria in order of preference was:
1. We wanted the 3-bedroom units to be as close as possible to each other (the property is split up into many buildings and each building only has one 3-bedroom unit per floor)
2. We wanted to be as close to the main pool as possible because all the amenities (fire pits, volleyball court, boat/raft rental, workout facility, lap pool, ice cream shop) are centered around it.
3. We wanted to have the highest floors possible per bedroom (from reading other reviews, most people said that the highest floors offered the best views)
4. Rooms that had a view of the main pool.

Upon arrival, the Pre-Arrival Team had actually managed to get all of the three 3-bedroom units in the same building (a feat which they said would be almost impossible) AND on the highest floors!! They were very accomodating. I was a bit disappointed when I was told that the units were on the North end of the property and away from the main pool since that would mean a 3-5 minute walk to the main pool, but I didnt realize that the pool that was located directly across from our units (there are 4 pools on the property) was actually going to work out better since it was smaller and more intimate and less chance of having to compete with kids in the pool. We did go to the main pool as well and we actually enjoyed the 3 minute walk.

The property is huge. But everything is literally within a 5 minute walk. There seems to be plenty of parking, however the parking spaces themsevles are quite narrow so if you're driving a bigger vehicle you might need a space empty to the left or right of you. The staff was very nice and seemed to be aiming to please with any request. Timeshare units do not get the daily housekeeping services (we knew this ahead of time so no prob), but if you need towels, soap, etc. they are happy to provide promptly. The queen beds had plenty of room and are bed bug free (one of our party members works for a major pest control company and always does a thorough inspection of a room before staying anywhere). The 3-bedroom units have a full kitchen and most everyday-type of kitchen appliance. It was also nice that they had a laundry washer /dryer machine in the unit as well. We used the kitchen quite extensively.

The tennis courts were always empty so even though you need to call ahead to reserve a court, you probably wont have much trouble. All of our units were in a recently refurbished building (Bldg 88) which had views of the golf course (great for heckling, ha!). Every building has 3-5 luggage carts as well so it was easy to load and unload all of our luggage.

The ice cream shop is located in the lighthouse and its awesome. A lot of ice cream for a very reasonable price. Although we didnt order any food from the property restaurants, the prices all seemed very reasonable given we were in Orlando. The resort is very centrally located and only a few minutes drive from the main restaurant section of International Drive.

February seems to be a slower time of the year to go as far as crowds at local attractions. If you're looking to get away without the kids, February would be a great time to go since most kids are back in school.

Room Tip: Bldgs 87 and 88 are recently refurbished. (check with the front desk to find out which buildings ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivingTheDream100K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Our team is happy to hear you had a great time on your vacation with your friends and enjoyed your room location. Please visit us again at Marriott’s Grande Vista!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is one of the nicest resorts in the Central Florida and is our favorite whenever we go down there. Multiple pools so you are never far from the water and many things going on daily on-site as well as the fact the resort is 5 minutes from Sea World and 10 minutes from Disneyworld.

Room Tip: Get a room near the Copa Loca area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed_Pritchard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Grande Vista! It is truly an honor to be your destination of choice when visiting Orlando. Our team looks forward to your next vacation with us and thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We just spent a few nights in a two bedroom lockout. We were four adults and two children ages 9,6. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. The facilities clean, comfortable, and fun. Easy access to everything in Orlando. Just a great place to spend your vacation. I do not believe in time shares and do not like to be bothered at all with tours, or offers. But for the last 6 years when traveling with my kids and family, only stay at Marriott vacation properties. All have been terrific. This one is no different. (Hilton Head...was just a bit too pushy with timeshare and rude about it too. )

Room Tip: Book in buildings 81-83 if you want to be near the big pool and club house with activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colliguay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

We appreciate your five-star review of Marriott’s Grande Vista! As loyal Marriott Vacation Club guest, we take great pride in providing you with an exceptional vacation experience. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just spent 9 nights at the Grande Vista. 4 adults in two bedroom lockoff unit on 4th floor of building 99. Lovely golf course views out two balconies in this corner villa. We used the grills and enjoyed eating out on the balconies two nights. Short walk to small pool with hot tub and small bar/grill. Little longer walk to the two bigger pools and had several great meals and drinks at the Copa Loca bar/grill. Used Mears transportation service from Orlando airport, r/t cost $64 for two. Played the Grande Vista executive course 3x and several others. One rather cool day we shopped at the nearby Premium Outlets and other shops. Found great pizza about one mile away at "Flippers" and ice cream next door to that at "Swirls". Was disappointed to have no tidy service during 9 nights, but learned at checkout that we could have gotten towels etc by dialing front desk. This is a great property with lots to do- tennis, golf, walking, pools, kids activities, workout room, nice restaurant at club house The Grille, paddle boats, live music several nights. Very close to Sea World, not far to Disney. I would be happy to return.

Room Tip: High floors have nice view of lake or golf. Lower floors for quick access to pools.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

We are happy to read your five-star review of Marriott’s Grande Vista! Our team appreciates your detailed feedback and tips for fellow travelers. We look forward to your next vacation with us in Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here and enjoyed many of the amenities offered. The pools are gorgeous and very clean. The food was excellent and service was very helpful. Ali checked us into our room without a problem. We had a hotel-style room with a king bed, bath, and small kitchenette area. I would definitely stay here again in the future! The only downside was a 10am checkout which could not be extended when we called at 7am to request a late checkout. Other than that, it was a very nice resort and close to all of the major parks, especially Sea World!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing your family’s experience with us! Our team is happy to hear you had a great time on your vacation in Orlando. It is also rewarding to hear Ali made your check-in experience memorable. Please visit us again at Marriott’s Grande Vista!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#15 of 340 in Orlando
1,819 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 340 in Orlando
3,226 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
4.5 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Vista

Address: 5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821-7001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#25 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#39 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#68 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $129 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Grande Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Universal Orlando®, Walt Disney World®, and SeaWorld®, this 164-acre resort features one- two- and three-bedroom Orlando golf villas and three championship golf courses. Villas overlook a scenic lake and feature spacious living and dining areas, full kitchens, washer/dryer, and a master suite with an oversized soaking tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's Grande Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Vista Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Marriott Grande Vista Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing