We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right Place if Expectations are Right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Vista
Ranked #64 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We've been coming to GV for more than 10 years already, and it continues meeting our expectations just right: the quality of housing, common areas, pools, grounds is very good; the crowds are consistently nice and easy to get along with; the staff is already great and steadily improving. In prior visits (spring, winter, summer) - check-in was often crazy, rooms had issues, pools had problems, staff shown attitudes. Adjusting expectations since we last visited 3 years ago, this time the mood was set to try enjoying great things about a winter holiday Orlando family vacation and keeping annoyances at bay. To our pleasant surprise - there was hardly anything that would get in the way of a comfortable quality relaxing time for everyone. A few things to mention: karaoke-style singing teenagers working out at the gym one time (was I the only one bothered?); every 2-seater pedal boat was broken (had to rent two "fun" boats instead, which were nicely given to us for the price of one pedal boat - well, I had to firmly ask for this discount); a smelly pillow (there were enough clean ones to choose from). We had a double room (both the one bedroom and the connected studio) for 3 people plus some visiting guests, and it did make things much easier and better as there was enough space to spread out and split up. Our experiences trying to fit into smaller spaces at GV were not as enjoyable. To me, it is really designed to use "villas" as a connected unit. All pools were heated (unlike 3 years ago). There were lots of activities for the New Year celebrations. Wi-fi was flying, no problem connecting multiple PCs and iPhones. This time we had a beautiful view over a pond and the golf course in the back of the property, in the direction of Orlando downtown fireworks for the New Year. As always, there was someone smoking on a nearby balcony once in awhile, and there even was something that sounded like a drunken fight on a balcony one night, but I looked at it as part of the entertainment package. Overall, as I noted, the level of guests at GV is consistently high, which to me is a key choosing a place to visit with the family. Marriott does a great job maintaining the price of accommodations that would discourage spring break-like crowds from filling GV up. The gym equipment was in good order and clean. I saw a cleaning lady there almost every time I visited and a mechanic once - testing and adjusting each treadmill. The 4 tennis courts on the property are clay; they would benefit from adding separating nets between the adjunct sections. 2 courts are backing a dense wild forest - immediate ball eater. Courts had spotty puddles after a rain, so they do need resurfacing at some point soon, I guess, but they are well playable as-is if the puddles dry out. A Tai massage was outstanding at the Spa. So, overall, the experience was really nice, starting with a flawless and easy check-in at what was supposed to be the busiest arrival time. Yes, the traffic everywhere around the area was crazy as usual, and the park experience dramatic (didn't go this time - from words of someone at the pool, they waited 3 1/2 hours in car line just to get to a parking spot). And it was cold and rainy more often than we'd like. But the place offers enough options on-site and proximity to everywhere in and around Orlando to keep a week in Florida busy and fun year after year.

Room Tip: Away from elevators - can hear the motor through building's concrete
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sv336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

We are happy you returned to Marriott’s Grande Vista on your recent visit to Orlando! Our team is thrilled to have exceeded your expectations and appreciate your detailed review. We look forward to hosting your family again on your next trip to Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,967 - 1,973 of 4,105 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just got back and had a few tips/comments. Likes: just a quick 15min drive to Disney and out of the way enough to feel peace, awesome golf courses, great babysitting--- the kids loved getting left for a night and they never like it, I really liked out room- 2 bedroom villa was really great, big enough for us and two kids along with another couple and their two kids, Great weekend- Very few dislikes: service was OK, not really great- understaffed at the Grill 2 out of 3 times we went to eat and one of the evenings we went into the bar for a drink and waited 20min for service b/c the bartender was serving tables and was not very quick. Another time we asked to sit outside with the kids so we weren't too loud and no one was out there.... she waited to get our drinks, then finally took us out there. I am very into service and these slight incidences as well as a non interactive bar tender made me want to help them learn how to serve.

Overall 4/5 stars- these were minor and not a problem. We also did the time share presentation and Alan, our guy was awesome! He was not overbearing and was very respectful. We declined but not b/c we didn't love the resort- I earn great vacations through work. Great week- thank you to the hotel for accommodations!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to eat off premises- great restaurants everywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottwdanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

If my rate was $150/night this property would get a 4 or 5 star review. At $315/night (with Orlando taxes more like $350) the value just wasn't there. I rented a one BR villa from 22 Dec - 27 Dec 2013. Positives: The room was generously sized and included a screened balcony, the kitchen was well-equipped. The bed was really comfortable, nice bath and pool towels. "The Grill" sit-down restaurant had great food and service. My main complaints were - thin walls (there was a lot of "action" going on at all times of the night and morning in the unit next door, that we couldn't avoid hearing - rather awkward for my family to say the least.) Furnishings in living room looked scraped up and the refrigerator had many dents in the stainless steel. The wireless just plain wouldn't work on any of our wireless devices until the very last day of our stay. I had called the front desk about this and they were unable to solve it for us. I travel all over the world with this PC and phone and they connect everywhere except the Grande Vista? There was no hotel book or amenities guide in our room - so we were a bit clueless on exactly what was offered in the resort and when. The tap water smelled terrible and we had to buy the water we drank - but maybe this is an Orlando thing. The hotel staff was quick to insincerely welcome us, check us in and offer us the Vacation Club meeting, then same experience on the check-out. The cleaning staff that we'd run into were always friendly and gracious however. I know what a $315/night hotel should be like, and Marriott disappoints on this property. Our inlaws stayed at Cypress Harbor and had a much more pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a detailed Tripadvisor review of Marriott's Grande Vista. Even though it is never easy to hear when a guest is not happy with their experience, we thank you for your feedback. We will share your comments with the appropriate departments for further review. We hope to welcome your family back to our resort on your next visit to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was just looking for a nice room for one nice, but this isn't a typical hotel. While everything is nice, it's a "vacation club" / time share. Most of the staff was outstanding, well above and beyond, but I received an attitude from two gentlemen at the front desk when calling to request a manager because of a problem in the room. The rest of the front desk staff was wonderful.
The place is big and area traffic was crazy when we were there. Our room is ready for a renovation. The room has a small kitchen and living room, which was great. The front desk put us on the top floor which was very much appreciated. The cleaning manager was very responsive and apologetic to an issue in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidScottTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

On behalf of our entire team, we appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Grande Vista! It is great to hear so many of our associates provided you with excellent service during your stay. Our team also appreciates your feedback about areas of improvement and for bringing them to our attention. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Marriott Grande Vista is a wonder place. We stayed for 7 days in one of the loft suites and had a wonderful time. The room was comfortable for our party of 3, but I would not recommend for larger parties. The room had a King bed, and pull-out sleeper sofa. The staff is exceptional, and the amenities (Spa, heated pools, W/D, on-site restaurants, on-site market, concierge services) helped us to relax and unwind. The property, which is centrally located off of International Blvd, is close to all of the Downtown Orlando attractions, including WDW, Universal, the Convention Center, and nearby restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott's Grande Vista for 10 days in the middle of December. From the moment we arrived, we had a great time. Check-in was fast and easy. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative.
We stayed in a very spacious 2 bedroom/2bathroom corner unit on the 6th floor (top floor), in Block 97, which is away from the main building, but very quiet and had views of the golf course, pool, and lake. Our unit was nicely decorated, clean, had comfortable beds, and had a full kitchen with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. We cooked a few meals and the kitchen has everything you would need to make a nice meal. It also had a nice washer and dryer, which was great to have, especially with kids. We were also provided a free playpen and highchair for our infant. The housekeeping was very good and even put your dishes in the dishwasher and turned it on. We had one call about the timeshare presentation and we declined and they never bothered us again.
The property itself is quite large and spread out, but they have free shuttles that drop you off at the various restaurants, or pools, or wherever you would like to go on the property. They also have walkways, which made it easy to get through the resort. We tried all the restaurants at the hotel since we had a $30 credit each day. The prices are typical for hotel restaurants and the food was good. A good variety of food if you don't want to leave the hotel. They also have a little market grocery store where you could buy your basic grocery items, so you really did not have to leave.
The pools were nice too. They had a main pool in the main building, which had a large pool, kids pool and hot tub. This is where the kids had the most fun. They have a zero entry pool which was nice for my infant to sit in the water and then they also had water sprayers. Our block 97 unit also had a nice pool and hot tub, which was quieter.
The hotel also had a monthly schedule of activities for guests of all ages. (ex. smore night, jelly bean tasting, gatorland show, wine tasting ect) When we were there, they had a breakfast with Santa day, so the kids got to make their own pancakes and sit and chat with santa and then have their photos taken with Santa. They also have an indoor play gym and activity center for the kids.
My husband used the gym and said it was pretty good. They had a good selection of work out equipment and it was clean.
The hotel is a quick 5 minute drive to Sea World and about a 15 minute drive to Disneyworld. It's a great option is you are visiting the parks because it's away from the traffic and noise, but close enough to get to.
Overall the hotel is a great option for families and couples. It is spacious and has all the amenities so you don't have to the leave the property.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, stay in block 97, if you want to be close to the main pool, ask to be in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2Travel1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of Marriott’s Grande Vista! We are thrilled to hear your family enjoyed the many amenities on property and the close proximity to the theme parks. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. We checked in very late. When it was time to sleep we noticed a bad odor in the second bedroom. The ceiling fan did not work and the curtains were torn. I was surprised as this was a time share. I though they would make sure the rooms were perfect to entice you to buy. Anyway they tried to deodorize the room which made it worse so they moved us to a new room. They were very pleasant about it all even carried all the luggage.
We didn't use the facilities there. The washer and dry in the room was a real bonus. I would recommend this hotel

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Zysli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Vista, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Grande Vista. Our team is disappointed your first room was not ready for you upon arrival as this is not typical of our resort. We are happy to hear the front desk as was able to move you to a new room and the rest of your vacation was pleasant. We hope you visit us again on your next trip to Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#15 of 340 in Orlando
1,818 reviews
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#86 of 340 in Orlando
3,218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
4.5 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Vista

Address: 5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821-7001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#24 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#39 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#68 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $129 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Grande Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Universal Orlando®, Walt Disney World®, and SeaWorld®, this 164-acre resort features one- two- and three-bedroom Orlando golf villas and three championship golf courses. Villas overlook a scenic lake and feature spacious living and dining areas, full kitchens, washer/dryer, and a master suite with an oversized soaking tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's Grande Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Vista Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Marriott Grande Vista Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing