We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit, yeah, I think so!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Vista
Ranked #57 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Return visit, yeah, I think so!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My photos do the talking. We had a great time and will definitely be returning. Although we have family in Leesburg, it was nice to stay in Orlando so we didn't have to travel as far. Seaworld was practically around the corner and Disney parks/Downtown/The Boardwalk were within a 20 minute drive. The only bummer was that the Chocolate Museum (2 minutes down the street) was not open yet. By the time we come back, it will be open and hopefully successful.

Room Tip: 1. If you have a family, ask for a room by the main building. They have everything in one area: Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLR-D29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,212
    1,163
    351
    152
    95
See reviews for
2,211
777
47
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am a lifetime platinum member and used points for a 7 night stay. There were 6 adults and 3 kids in our party and we rented a 3 bedroom. The purpose of our trip was to go the theme parks so the hotel wasn't super critical,we just wanted a nice place that would house all of us in one "room". I stay at marriotts over 100 nights a year so I've seen the range of quality and issues everywhere.

There are some issues with this place:
1. Rooms need some pretty significant maintenance. There was mold all over the baseboards of one bathroom and what wasn't moldy had already rotted away. This sort of stuff really needs to be addressed.
2. Room keys. This was sort of a running joke. 4 of the 6 keys didn't work at all at first. We went back and had them redone. Then 2 didn't work. Again. Finally, all 6 worked. Then one night when we tried to enter the gate they stopped working. Apparently others had the same issue as evidenced by the long line of cars unable to get in with their room keys, yet the guard seemed like it was an isolated incident. Then none of the keys worked. All told we made 5 visits to the front desk to get working keys, others had issues too.
3. Water smell. It really is bad, the water from the taps stinks pretty bad. I wouldn't drink it and I'm not picky about this sort of thing.
4. Washer and dryer gave out. I guess this is an issue that could happen anywhere at any time, however.
5. Noise. Again, I'm not usually picky about this but the rooms had no sound isolation and you could hear everything above and below and to the sides. It was truly one of the noisiest rooms I've seen in a while
6. Bugs. This is part of central Florida but it was excessive, we had to call twice to have spraying done to rid the room of obvious bug issues.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Austin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed at most of the Marriott Orlando resorts over the years and the Grand Vista is just 'grand'. We requested a quiet area as we were traveling with a baby and were given a perfect 2 bedroom unit at the back, overlooking the golf course. At Marriott they are very eager to accommodate your wishes.

This was a 'getaway' purchase through Interval International and one of the perks of owning a timeshare.

This resort is huge but well laid out and you are never far from a pool and services. We particularly loved the clay tennis courts, strolling the many walkways and bird watching from our balcony. The antics of the resident red shouldered hawk were fun to watch. Our unit was well laid out, the kitchen well equipped (we love to cook) and it is a definite plus to have a washer/dryer in the unit. Kudos to Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a great stay. We had a week on the bottom floor with a golf course view. The front desk were excellent and informative, and we were able to check in early. When we rang reception for help they answered using our family name which made us feel important. We had trouble with our TV and this was replaced within 1/2 hour. The accommodation it's self was well maintained and a pleasure to walk into. We had to swap rooms and the day we had to do this we rang reception - there was a room available not what was requested but available so we decided to take it. A staff member came over with the key for new room and offer to shift our luggage. The new room was smaller but still comfortable. The resort was like the photos and beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitty414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to access the theme parks. If you wanted, you could stay in the resort n never leave. It is huge but retained a warmth and personal touch that was most welcome. The rooms are very spa joys and accessing a full kitchen is helpful for an extended stay . There is an on site market but the large supermarkets- Publix or Walgreens are very close . There is no shuttle to the parks but the staff will drive you to the gate and for a cost of $1:50 you can get on the I Ride trolley which travels International drive. We found a great taxi service and used the same guy all week. Taxi to disney or

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort for 5 nights. The venue is surrounded by lush greens, flowers and palm trees. Absolutely gorgeous. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Upon check in, we were given a "welcome" package with discount cards, directions to tourist spots, etc. Nice touch.

The resort is huge. We were in a building not far from the main lobby which was great. The room was a one bedroom suite. AMAZING! Very big! Jacuzzi, shower....two big sink areas which was lovely for two people. Balcony was great with a table and chairs. Full kitchen, laundry machines with soap, etc.

Air conditioning worked great. Nice air flow all over. Housekeeping was very good until the last day when they forgot to clean our room (in spite of a call to let them know we were leaving our suite around 10am or so). We left a $5 tip every day and were well taken care of. I was worried if we even got housekeeping after reading the reviews, but we were treated like normal hotel customers and housekeeping came daily. I'm guessing the other reviews apply in cases where timeshares are the case.

The pool is lovely. Lots of chairs. Pool towels are provided in the rooms. We went to the Coco something restaurant (across the bridge) and it was great food and service. The bartender in the main pool area (near the Marketplace) was fabulous. She makes a wonderful long island iced tea:)

Downside is that most of the facilities close down fairly early. We were at the pool bar at 11pm one night just sipping our drinks, when a security guard told us we had to leave the grounds (OK - I didn't expect Vegas but this is ridiculous). One night we arranged to meet my husband's co-workers at Nick's Cafe. We agreed to meet there at 9pm for drinks. NOT!!! When I showed up, the hostess informed me the restaurant closes at 9pm!!! Say what? At a tourist resort?

We don't have kids but the number of families and kids never really bothered us. Everyone did their own thing, and the resort is so large you never really hear any kids anyway.

Parking was plentiful and we always found a nice spot in front of our building. The Marketplace was great and we easily were able to spend our credit dollars on food (the resort offers a $30 food credit per room per day). Nice.

Cons (besides the early facility closings)....the first morning (9am) we got a call from a rep inviting us to a meeting re. timeshare purchases. A bit too soon I think. At least give guests a few days to settle in! Lots of noise some days from day to day maintenance of the golf course. The third to fifth days there was a lot of noise above us and we discovered they were renovating the room. That's OK unless the noise starts around 8 or 9 am...which it did.

The last day there was lots of noise (it sounded like a party and I mean it) from a bunch of contractors working in the room beside us. Luckily we were leaving that day so it wasn't a huge concern.

Overall, a great experience with a few big cons for couples. I was on my own for part of the time and never ran out of things to see or do. There are also social events like chocolate tastings for guests which is wonderful. Would recommend for sure...but don't expect late night drinks or food!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skategeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I went with my family for New Years Eve, we were 8 adults and 4 children, so we were divided in different rooms. I stayed at a one bedroom room. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, with a good bed, Jacuzzi, complete kitchen and dining and living rooms. They also have a terrace overlooking different areas of the resort, I had a view of the golf course which was very nice.

The sorroundings are great, golf course, pool, tennis courts, lakes and great places to walk or run. We also used the gym which is very good, and there are restaurants and a supermarket inside the villa. There is also a kid’s place for them to play which the children really enjoyed. There are plenty of squirrels around and I also saw some deers in the area. The staff is very nice and polite, they helped us a lot when we needed it.

The location is also good, you are near many theme parks and attractions, malls and supermarkets.

Overall it’s a great place to stay, you feel like at home and it’s nice to stay inside the villa and rest whenever you are not at some of the many attractions. It’s definitely my choice for Orlando, you can't ask for more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViviBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#15 of 337 in Orlando
1,752 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
1.0 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at SeaWorld
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Lakeshore Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Vista

Property: Marriott's Grande Vista
Address: 5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821-7001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#21 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#39 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#68 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Grande Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Universal Orlando®, Walt Disney World®, and SeaWorld®, this 164-acre resort features one- two- and three-bedroom Orlando golf villas and three championship golf courses. Villas overlook a scenic lake and feature spacious living and dining areas, full kitchens, washer/dryer, and a master suite with an oversized soaking tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Grande Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Vista Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Marriott Grande Vista Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing