We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sales pitch was relentless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Vista
Ranked #67 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are owners at Grande Vista and this is the first time we've been back since 2006. We like it here because the rooms are clean and many things (Catholic church, Publix, I-drive, outlet malls, etc) are nearby.

There is plenty of room in the 2- bedroom villa. The kitchen is well-stocked utensils and pots/pans to cook meals. Internet is free. Gym has a good number of cardio equipment. If you want a full-service gym, there is a Gold's Gym about 20 minutes drive that charges $15/day.

Every time we stay, we get a call asking if the Marriott Sales Dept can give us a sales pitch someone during our stay. Of course, I won't make an appointment unless some type of incentive is involved. In my case, they offered, and I accepted, $125 in Universal dollars. They have admission tickets for almost any attraction so you can ask for that too. I figured 1.5 hours of my and my wife's time is worth $125 on a vacation.

What I will say is that the sales pitch is really 1.5 hours (expected it would go longer). We were a little late for our 10am appointment. I think the sales person met as at 10:10 and we were out of there by 11:40. That's pretty good scripting by Marriott. I also got my $125 in Universal dollars in the form of 5x $25 gift cards so I was happy.

The sales person pitch the new Marriott points program pretty hard. Unfortunately, we are getting ready to by a house, so the money we would need to buy additional points would be money that wouldn't go towards the down payment for our house. We are talking $17K for the minimum and roughly $35K for the good package. If you want the ideal package, you'd need to pay $50-70K.

So we kept saying that we aren't interested. He brought it his friend as if it were a spontaneous thing, but it was obvious that they had done this before so their conversation appeared scripted. If I were alone, it would appear they were double-teaming me. We would budge on our no, so the sales person was very polite in accepting our answer, He said that another person would come into the office to do a customer satisfaction survery.

The sales pitch was over. The surveryor did another sales pitch. This time, she offfered a stay at a Marriott property in Orlando sometime over the next year. We would pay $150 for the reservation and $100/day for 7-8 days. The cost of the stay would go towards buying points if we were to decide on that visit to buy. In addition, the price they offered would stay the same even though the cost is expected to increase by next year. The details/numbers of the offer are a little fuzzy now, but the idea is that Marriot kept pushing.

We finally got out of there in 1.5 hours with our $125.

Bottom line is that the rooms and amenities are wonderful. The sales appointment was what you'd expect. If you think your time is worth whatever they are offering, then do it. If you don't want to sit there knowing you will say no already, then you probably should not accept the appointment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank #1Cubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,377 - 2,383 of 4,202 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We used our time share exchange for the first time at the Grande Vista. Our one BR villa was quite spacious with a large living and dining area. The screened porch was delightful (no bugs) and very pleasant this time of year. It also had doors to the bedroom and the living room which was quite convenient. This is a huge resort and the only problem we had was the distance from our building to the centralized pools and the main office area. I had knee surgery a few months ago and the walk was prohibitive and it seemed silly to drive! The Grande Pines golf course was very enjoyable for the guys, too. We had a very nice week. THe resort is very convenient to the major attractions. It's almost next door to Sea World, just a few miles from Universal and about 5 miles to the Disney Parks. A Great location for your family.

Room Tip: If you have small children to carry, you might request a building closer to the pool and play areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had the one bedroom unit. It was great. The grounds and pool area were very nice. Everyone you came in contact with was super. Was close enough to Disney World. My only recommendation would be to have gas barbecues between each building instead of the charcoal grills.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemaryfasino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Marriott has something for everyone. RETURNING MAY 2013
the units are so spacious and nice! the pool is luxury and property has palm trees every where. The golf and club house are also nice. it is also nice to have star bucks and food & snacks right there.
Close to Disney and all the attractions. but its not kiddy world.
if you want super kid friendly stay at Marriott harbor lake (RETURNING THERE NOV 2013, with water park area. Both are wonderful!!!
I have been to both many many times!!!!
MARRIOTT CYPRUS HARBOR OR MARRIOTT PALMS LOCATIONS ARE BEST FOR THE GOLFERS , RIGHT ON PROPERTY.
YOU WILL BE VERY HAPPY WITH ALL MARRIOTT LOCATIONS. WE LOVE THEM

Room Tip: Request room closer to main pool so you do not have to walk far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a regular resort room...which included a king bed, & a queen sleeper sofa. There was a lovely area with a prep sink, microwave, small refrigerator/freezer, toaster, coffee maker & basic dishes & flatware. @ a Florida resident rate of $118/night this was a good value. Being a vacation club there are over 100 building units! But all areas have basic pools & 2 main/ themed pools. We were unable to enjoy the child/family friendly pool due to a cleaning closure all day Sunday(our kids were very disappointed...they have old world style water cannons). Over all the staff was extremely courteous, but if you have special needs...book your rooms online, call the front desk & insist on speaking to a manager the morning of your arrival....we had all of our needed requests ignored because they did not read the details on the reservation. They apologized, but my children had to wait for hours to get into our room & then I still had to bring our own allergy free items/linens to make it safe. So NOT like the usual Marriott Resorts. We would try this resort again , but only after verifying available needs with the front desk manager first.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RN4FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here last Friday to Sunday. We were in a 3 bedroom suite, coming to Orlando for a Disney weekend. The suite was lovely, and the property was "GRANDE". Tons of activities, clean, well maintained, and excellent service. My only complaint was that the water pressure in the shower was just awful. If you're going use a water saver, use a shower head which increases water pressure. We did not take advantage of all that the resort offered, but for people who do, you couldn't help but have a fabulous time. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenJLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After visiting this resort I am astounded that there are any negative reports as it is fantastic. The grounds and public areas are well maintained, it's close to attractions and shops and the two bedroom condo is really fantastic. We didn't spend a great deal in the resort as we were making the most of our fourteen-day Disney passes but we did visit the pool area and it was lovely. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. I would thoroughly recommend this resort for all ages.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
3.6 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 341 in Orlando
3,401 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Tuscany Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
1.4 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Lake
Marriott's Harbour Lake
#15 of 341 in Orlando
1,852 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort Villas- Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Vista

Address: 5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821-7001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#28 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#39 Family Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#68 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $125 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Grande Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Universal Orlando®, Walt Disney World®, and SeaWorld®, this 164-acre resort features one- two- and three-bedroom Orlando golf villas and three championship golf courses. Villas overlook a scenic lake and feature spacious living and dining areas, full kitchens, washer/dryer, and a master suite with an oversized soaking tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Grande Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Vista Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Marriott Grande Vista Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing