We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to like it, but I did!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area
Ranked #229 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Didn't want to like it, but I did!”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Just stayed for 2 nights last week. I read some reviews and went in with an eyebrow raised. Was welcomed late as weather delayed our arrival. The front desk attendant was very helpful and friendly!

Room was a nice size for two days. Comfortable bed, nice desk/couch/work area. Internet was free and very fast. I was looking for a comfortable room at the end of each long day and I most certainly got it! Even though it is off of a busy intersection, you coudl barely hear anything.

Breakfast was nice. Lots of options for meals and beverages.

Only area of opportunity (and I feel this way about a lot of hotels) - when you turn on the light in the bathroom, the fan comes on and it is a bit loud. But, hey, I got over it!

Will most certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    30
    9
    8
See reviews for
52
15
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed here back in December 08 (but couldn't find this place on TripAdvisor for the longest time).

Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Internet in room worked fine. Also in biz center in lobby. Convenient location to UCF and the technology areas around it. About the only negative was the breakfast was a little steeply priced.

Could do a lot worse than this place for sure.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

After 3 other hotels this week, this bed was by far the most comfortable. The room was a suite, the living room area was much larger than a typical room.

The room was clean, the staff was friendly. The front desk has a 'market' which sells soft drinks, beer wine, snacks, even frozen dinners for the microwave. A basic breakfast buffet was available for a charge.

The coffee maker in the room confused me. It had no pot. Found out it is a 'by the cup' coffee maker.

The screen door to the patio was leaning against the back of the room. We had to keep the door closed to keep the frogs, lizards and bugs out of the first floor room.

Staff was available to bring extra bedding for the fold out at 11 pm.

The university is only minutes away. We attended a 'rock' concert there and were parked within 10 minutes of leaving the hotel.

Every imaginable chain restaurant is within minutes. Two large strip malls are adjacent to the hotel.

  • Liked — Located near everything UCF
  • Disliked — Parking was limited but available.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DeeOhGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

I stayed at this Courtyard for two nights in January when I traveled to Orlando for some meetings. I was a bit skeptical of this property based on the earlier reviews, but thankfully I found a standard Courtyard, clean and predictable. These accommodations are perfectly fine for a short business trip or a jaunt down to UCF for a game.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, and I had no issues during check-in. The room was a standard Courtyard room, and all of the fixtures and amenities are consistent with the current Courtyard offerings. The room was clean, the TV worked well, the internet was adequate, the shower had plenty of hot water, and the bed/bedding was very comfortable.

The only issues that I encountered with my room were concerning the A/C unit. The room had a slight musty odor, and having lived in Central Florida before, I recognized it as A/C mildew (very common in humid climates). The odor wasn't overpowering, just noticeable, and turning on the fan helped a bit.

I didn't use the pool or eat in the restaurant, but based on the accommodations alone, I'd stay here again on my next business trip.

  • Liked — Clean and Quiet Room
  • Disliked — Musty Odors
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DCBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2007

I am a trainer for a major national bank, and travel at least 2 weeks per month, so I know business hotels. This Courtyard is one of the worst I have encountered.
Rooms were damp and dingy (I tried 2). Bathrooms had peeling caulk. Quilts were average at best. The pool itself was clean and nice, however the lounge chairs all seemed to have broken straps. Service for breakfast was virtually non-existant. One girl working each morning, trying to maintain the buffet and service the customers. She never had a chance. It went on like this for 5 days.
The worst part was the incompetence of the staff. There were many things that were simply unacceptable, however I'll share just one:
I was teaching a class to prepare employees to take the stockbrokers exam for a full week. My company pre-paid for 27 rooms with their corporate account. During the lunch break, I elected to go up to my room and read the newspaper. I was greeted with a blinking red light on my door as I swiped my key. After waiting for the very young front desk girl to come in from smoking her cigarette while sitting on a bench outside, I was told that somebody programmed the key wrong and that she was sorry. It was only the next morning when I learned that every single student had the same thing happend to them.
To make matters worse, after talking to the hotel salesperson who was my contact for the stay, the problem was not corrected and the same thing happened Tuesday and Wednesday!
There are so many hotels in Orlando, save your time and your money and go elsewhere

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — Staff, Location, Rooms, Beds, Service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fsuga11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We have family in this area and have stayed here a few times; most recently in May 2006. This is a very clean, comfortable hotel. The front desk employees are friendly and professional. The rooms and beds are very comfortable - the blackout drapes make it nice and dark. Our non-smoking room was completely odor-free. Had we not had to be somewhere in the morning we could have easily slept until mid-morning. The vanity area was a little small (only one person at a time) but for a few nights, we can put up with that.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meetingpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando East/UCF Area
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Orlando East/UCF Area
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Orlando East/UCF Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orlando UCF
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando East/UCF Area
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orlando/East UCF Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area

Property: Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area
Address: 12000 Collegiate Way, Orlando, FL 32817-2157
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Orlando East/UCF Area is one of Marriott's premier East Orlando locations. The new state of the art lobby at Courtyard Orlando East provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This East Orlando hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather, and airport conditions via our GOBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is the Bistro-Eat. Drink. Connect. which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Orlando East / Ucf Hotel Orlando
Orlando Courtyard
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing