We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd.
Ranked #233 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Positives:
Location and low price is what this hotel is good for. If you're planning on visiting CityWalk/Universal Orlando (about 1 mile away) the hotel is within walking distance and the cab fare is quite cheap if you choose to do so. The hotel rates are also very affordable, their best being from about $44 to $54 wherein many of the other close hotels are around $70-80 and up. The room itself was quite clean and had a fresh scent (I've experienced a few bad smelling rooms of smoke and whatever else).

Negatives:
Being that this is an extended stay hotel, it lacks many amenities and good customer service other hotels have. For example, being that the rooms are equipped with a kitchen, there is no breakfast of any sort. They also don't provide a shuttle to the park, which would be nice even though the park is so close for families and adults who may plan on drinking, an amenity most of the hotels that are within the same distance have. In addition, WiFi for laptops is not free, which is also pretty uncommon, even for cheaper hotels. Although I felt the room was clean, it had a significant amount of noticeable wear on the furniture including the television, lamps, and chairs as well as the kitchen counters. Some renovations or updating should be considered.

Overall, though it has a few downsides, if you're looking for an affordable room to sleep in after a busy day at the park, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamsmerdyakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    192
    74
    39
    38
See reviews for
203
155
34
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel a bunch of times. We had universal season passes and whenever we decided to go up for a last minute trip we would stay here. We actually found this hotel by accident when we were looking for a new hotel to stay at after our imperial swan nightmare and most places were booked for the weekend, others were charging higher prices then normal due to the fact that it was around halloween and everyone was in town for halloween horror nights at universal. They usually have last minute weekend deals and are very close to the parks. They also offer internet for 5 dollars per stay rather then 10 dollars per night like most hotels. I really love staying here and would recommend it to couples / friends looking for a decent priced place to stay in the area. For larger parties I would recommend the extended stay deluxe which is pretty much right next door. There are plenty of places to eat, many in walking distance. Overall good experience everytime we stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishouldhaveknown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel. We had a pleasant experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were glad that the room had a full size frige, two stovetops, microwave, small table for two, a saucepan & skillet pan, dishes for 2. (keep in mind u have to buy your own cleaning supplies) There's no daily housekeeping (unless u opt to paid extra for it) but that wasn't a problem for us I always clean up anyhow (I always carry lysol, ajax, febreeze every time we chk in to a hotel). If you need clean towels u just have to take the used ones to the front desk and they'll give u clean ones. This hotel did not have a pool but u could use the one across the street at the Extended Stay Deluxe (closes at 11pm). The parking was free. It's located in a great area right across from Universal Studios. There's a Whole Foods, Walmart, and several restaurants close by.

Room Tip: sign up on their website (extended stay) to get $10 off your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel was a great price especially for the location right across from Universal Studios. It was not a fancy hotel, but it was clean and quiet, the bed was confortable, and we had a full size fridge and stovetop. If you are looking for a place with a lot of amenities and fancy decorations, this is not the place for you. For the price, it cannot be beat. I was very happy with our experience, and would stay here again if I was in Orlando.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlmillr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly Area
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is considered a budget hotel, but I was surprised by all the things it has going for it. Location - minutes by car to Universal, about a 20 minute walk. Staff- super friendly and helpful, even early in the morning and late at night. This type of hotel only provides maid service once a week if you stay that long. The large room had a stove top, a full size refrigerator, and cooking supplies. Everything was clean and ready to go. Sure, towels are not as thick as the higher price places, and the toiletries included small personal bars of soap, but I paid less than $60.00 a night for a very comfortable queen size bed, air conditioning that worked great, a table at which to eat, and a desk for my computer. The Internet was one low price for the entire stay and the parking is free. In the resort area of Orlando, free parking is getting to be more of a rarity. No resort fees, etc. I would certainly stay there again. The excellent is given for the quality of the room, the staff, and the value of the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carl949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I booked non-smoking room in this hotel after reading mostly good reviews on tripadvisor. It was a big disappointment. Supposedly non-smoking room was full of cigarette odor, so we had to buy odor removing spray, and then get one from the front desk, but it did not help. I guess the smoke was all over curtains, carpet, beds. It was really bad and we had 2 little children with us. The beds are old and in stains, sheets are old, covers are old. The bed is not stable, it moves easliy. The box spring was riped off and pieces hanging from underneath. Bathroom was not cleaned well, with hairs and other dirt in the corners. You could hear every single noise from neighbors upstairs, it was really bad, you could literally hear everything. Apparently our room was next to elevatoir shaft, so we could hear elevator riding back and forth. The kitchen is outdated, the refrigerator roars like a tiger when shuts off. No swimming pool. But, the good things are the front desk was outstanding in their service and it is close to Universal Studios. Other than that, that kitchen does not make it worth staying there. Do yourself a favor, when on vacation just spent extra dollars and stay in best hotel you can afford. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank uzman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We go to Universal Studios every year and stay with Extended Stay America. We walk to Universal and our choice of restaurants close by. We've never had any type of issue and everyone is always pleasant. Definitely recommend them to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danLeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Clarion Inn & Suites
#115 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Florida Center
Comfort Suites Universal Studio Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd.

Property: Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd.
Address: 5620 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-7959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended Stay America - Orlando-Universal Studios features 123 guest rooms with fully equipped kitchens, recliner, free wifi, and a guest laundry. The hotel is within a mile of Universal Studios, and conveniently close to the Orlando Convention Center, Sea World, and Disney parks. An I-Ride trolley stop is located at the entrance to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Extended Stay America - Orlando Theme Parks - Major Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Orlando-Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Extended Stay Orlando
Orlando Extended Stay
Extended Stayamerica Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing