We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,167)
Filter reviews
2,167 results
Traveler rating
1,010
790
225
89
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,010
790
225
89
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews universal studios international drive free shuttle free breakfast the breakfast area front desk staff clean rooms hot breakfast fridge and microwave yogurt would stay here again a great stay booked this hotel each morning shuttle service the bus parks
Filter
Updating list...
1,018 - 1,023 of 2,167 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a wonderful experience! They were updating the lobby and breakfast area but it was quiet during the evening/early mornings. They had a great variety for breakfast with very helpful staff. The rooms and bathrooms were updated. Beds were very comfortable. We would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasLikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando Near Universal Blv / International Dr, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Hello TexasLikestotravel!!

I am happy to see you had a wonderful experience while staying with us!! We are very excited about the improvements happening to our hotel! We will have a much larger breakfast room with plenty of seating and a beautiful new lobby, business center and fitness center! Our team doing the work is very aware that our guests are here to relax and do their best to work only during the day when the majority of our guests are out having fun!
Hope to see you again soon!!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Hutchinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel. It was very clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was a terrific breakfast for a free breakfast. I would recommend it for those who are concerned about cleanliness. Each day the duvet covers are washed.

Room Tip: There is a sign that each day the duvets are washed. I think that is unusual.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nleffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando Near Universal Blv / International Dr, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Hello nleffel!

Thank you for your great review!! Our success is dependent on the feedback we get from loyal customers like you! I am pleased that you enjoyed our clean and friendly hotel and the delicious breakfast we offer every morning! And yes, those duvet covers and sheets are washed for EVERY guest!! Hampton takes pride in offering this service. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Hutchinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a "nice" property. The hotel itself is older but has been nicely redecorated and the location is very convenient to International Drive as well as many of the Orlando attractions. The free breakfast is a click above, including omelettes, waffles, bacon/sausage along with the normal "continental breakfast" items that are typically provided.

On the downside, I fail to understand why so many of the Hamptons that I have stayed in within the past several years don't know how provide wireless Internet. Again at this Hampton, it either sucked terribly or was totally down "for the router on my floor". Switched floors on 3rd day of stay, much better but by that time, I had lost of lot of work, plus invoked 2 nights of the Hampton satisfaction guarantee. Hampton needs to get on the stick with this because the only way I could get online at all was to pick up the wireless signal for the first 2 days from the Quality Inn next door, which was quite responsive and decently fast.

Also on the downside, there seemed to be a bit of "Who's On First" by the hotel staff. Nobody told anyone else that I had called several times to report the wifi problem. Also as an Hhonors member, they "forgot" to put a USA Today outside the door of my room every morning for 3 consecutive days, and didn't see any USA Today outside ANY of the hotel rooms, are they not doing that anymore?

On the plus side, Hamptons have incredibly comfortable beds and this was no exception, very nice.

On the down side again, this hotel is between I-drive and I-4 so it will be hard to get a room anywhere in this hotel where occasional road noise is not an issue.

If you are vacationing and don't need online access, this would be a decent choice for you, but if you are on a business trip and/or need Internet access plus the minimum level of services that you should be able to expect from Hampton, there are much better values elsewhere.

Room Tip: get a room near the CENTER of the hotel to minimize the road noise from both International Drive and I-4
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t1man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando Near Universal Blv / International Dr, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear t1man,

As General Manager of this hotel, I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our success is dependent on the feedback we get from loyal customers like you. We appreciate your feedback regarding the speed of our wireless internet service. We apologize that it did not work well during your stay. We are currently updating the wireless system and hope to have a faster internet experience soon. We also apologize that you didn’t receive your USA today at your door daily. I can assure you these procedures have been discussed with our staff.

I am happy to see that you did enjoy our breakfast that offers many different options for all of our guests and that you enjoyed the comfy beds that Hampton provides. We hope you will give us another chance again soon on your next trip to Orlando.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Hutchinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We just returned from a three day stay at the Hampton Inn South of Universal. We chose this hotel based on price (they are running a 54 dollar special right now....most likely due to the renovation work going on) and location. The beds were comfortable (I got some great sleep!), and the microwave and fridge were convenient to have (the microwave was a bit quirky to operate...some of the buttons didn't work, but we managed). The free wifi was slow on the 7th floor. The room was fairly clean, although the bathroom was cramped. The pool area was nice, great water temp, but rather basic...there is virtually no landscaping, just a few plants in large pots. Plantings and flowers certainly would boost the appeal of the pool area! Come on, folks, we're in Florida here!

The breakfast in the morning was indeed crowded, but quite nice, in spite of the ample usage of styrofoam plates/bowls. Also, this hotel seems to be very popular with South American tourists this time of year, so brush up on the Portugese and Spanish! Universal Studios is about a 25 minute walk from the hotel (a little over a mile away)...we walked every day, and it is do-able as long as you don't have physical limitations or small children. The free shuttle left very early (8:10am, I think) and came back around 8:20pm. We used it once, but it took longer than walking (by not much) and the A/C was broken which made for a stuffy, hot 30 minute ride.

The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. We requested early check-in with no problem. We also left our baggage to enjoy Wet and Wild (a 5 minute walk away) on our last day, and staff was very helpful. We took the public bus to and from the airport (lynx bus 42), and the bus stop is about a block away on International Drive. We also had a great coupon for the pizza place next to the hotel (Pizza Extreme) and the folks there were super friendly.

Yes, there is quite a bit of renovation going on there right now, but once up in our room we couldn't hear a thing, and most of the work was happening while we were gone. I would recommend this hotel, especially if the price is right!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jammin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando Near Universal Blv / International Dr, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Hello jammin11!!

We are in the middle of improvements but I will say our team is doing great at making as little of an impact on our guests as possible. We will soon have a larger and improved breakfast room, business center and fitness center and hope you will come back soon to see that.

My apologies about the internet, it is an issue that we are continuing to improve on. I also read your comments about the pool area and just to let you know, we are in the process of improving this area soon too. Lots of improvements going on here and we are excited to share with everyone.

Warm Regards,
Kelly Hutchinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our family came up for a quick stay. The hotel has a special going on for $54 a night. The room was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare - nice variety. The staff was nice. Great stay - will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToVacationFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando Near Universal Blv / International Dr, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Hello LoveToVacationFl!!

Thank you for the review! We are very excited about the improvements happening to our hotel! We will have a much larger breakfast room with plenty of seating and a beautiful new lobby, business center and fitness center! Our team doing the work is very aware that our guests are here to relax and do their best to work only during the day when the majority of our guests are out having fun!

The special you mentioned is only available through the booking source where you booked it and for a short time frame! Glad to see you took advantage of the special offer and enjoyed your stay, a double plus! Hope to see you again soon to check out our new lobby!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Hutchinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews