We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando
Ranked #131 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
st.catharines,ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great experience again! I have stayed at this hotel about 5 times and it is always improving. The free hot breakfast is great, Bacon, ham, eggs, yogurt, toast, more than you could ask for. The rooms are clean, staff is friendly, great location. Pool and hot tub are beautiful. Thank you again for a wonderful stay and I will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmeaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your loyalty! We are delighted that you keep returning to our resort, and that we keep exceeding your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    628
    245
    91
    84
See reviews for
1,076
307
33
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, IL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My family and I went to Orlando for spring break and stayed at the StaySky for five days. With five people, we look for a place with two queen beds and a sofabed. This hotel, which was formerly a Hawthorn Suites, had even more: a separate bedroom with two queen beds and a sitting area with a couch that converted into a sofabed, as well as another easy chair. The kitchen had a table with seating for four (we pulled up the chair from the desk in the bedroom to make five), a fridge, a dishwasher, a microwave and a two-burner range. There were dishes for four, glassware and coffee mugs, silverware and cutting knives, as well as assorted larger bowls and pots and pans. The price was right, too: about $90 with some discounts through work. The easy chair had seen better days, but was comfortable, as were the beds and sofabed. The sink for the bathroom is outside the tub and toilet, which allowed two people to get ready at the same time.

The pool was decent-sized and there was a basketball hoop in the back, although the backboard was cracked and the rim was bent. Still had fun shooting around after a day at Universal, which is just a mile or two away.

The free breakfast varied with grits some days and American fried potatoes on others. There was either sausage or bacon and eggs every day. Yogurt and fresh fruit were plentiful as were the bagels, bread, doughnuts and waffles for toasting (no Belgian waffle maker, though). Coffee, juice, milk and hot cocoa mix were always available as well.

The hotel has two beers or wine for adults each evening and free pop (soft drinks or soda for you non-Chicagoans) for the kids. Wednesdays are free hotdogs and fixin's (we didn't partake as we went out for dinner).

The hotel is within walking distance of a Popeye's and a McDonald's and other restaurants. A Super Walmart is a couple of miles away.

All in all, I'd recommend this hotel, particularly if you need extra room and want to save some money by doing some cooking in your room. It's well situated for Universal (they also have a shuttle if you don't want to drive--also shuttles to Disney).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choxc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks so much! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are sure that future guests will find your insights useful. We are glad that you enjoyed the layout of our suites, as well as our on-site amenities. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The overall experience was great. The hotel staff was nice and welcoming, especially the breakfast team. They were very helpful and made sure all guests were accommodated. The suite we stayed in was nice, however there a few cosmetic details in the kitchen area that could be updated. The overall room was spacious and it had central air which made the stay even more comfortable. The pool and spa was amazing! Would recommend this hotel two times over.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo_Mo_mom_of_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We truly appreciate your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our pool area, spacious suites, and our helpful staff. We appreciate your recommendation to others and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed in Feb 2014 very comfortable suite. Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a place to stay while in the Orlando area with your family, easy access with GPS.They have a shuttle that runs once a day to Universal. Breakfast is more than enough to choose from and happy hour is an added bonus at the end of the day with the kids. Enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, and found your suite to be comfortable. We also really appreciate your recommendation. Thank you again and we hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We discovered the hotel via Internet, only to find that it was also recommended by AAA. We made the reservation and looked forward to our arrival in Orlando. The suite was spacious, with living and dining rooms, kitchenette, large bath and large bedroom with king bed. Picked up a sweet deal at $90.00 a night, including a very ample, very generous breakfast buffet. Right off I-Drive, and close to everything! Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for this review! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our in-room amenities, and spacious suites. We appreciate your recommendation to others, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Recently stayed here for a short (1 week) getaway) and it couldnt have been better.
The staff were absolutely brilliant and couldn't have been more helpful.

The rooms were of a really generous size and well equipped with everything we needed. Too be truthful, we did eat out a fair few times but when we stayed in and cooked we had everything we wanted. Access to I Drive was great - just a few mins away There are free shuttles to the parks and great inclusive Breakfast. Kept the kids really happy.
Everything was clean and cared for - Happy to recommend. you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louisa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We love to hear that our staff was helpful during your stay. It is also great to hear that our great location suited your needs so well, as did our well-equipped suites. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one week, we found it a good location fairly central to everything we needed (Disney,sea world,aquatica,Amway centre) and also plenty to choose from when needing to eat! The staff were friendly, the room was clean, the pool was warm, our only complaint would be breakfast, we ended up eating breakfast at Denny's as the first morning there was eggs, more eggs, slop which we later realized was grits, toast and a few dry donuts, there was no bacon or sausage...we tried again the next day there was ham, egg & porridge, at this point we decided Denny's was the way forward. A good hotel though we would recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NikkiDay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing this review with us. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel location, friendly staff, and relaxing pool. We appreciate your insights and your recommendation to others, and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-International Drive/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn International
#125 of 338 in Orlando
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando

Property: StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando
Address: 7601 Canada Ave, Orlando, FL 32819-8252 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Universal)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#99 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes to Universal Orlando Resort featuring executive guest rooms and one bedroom suites. One bedroom suites come with fully equipped kitchens, separate dining and living rooms. All of our suites have been outfitted with the new "Sweet Suite Bedding" package. Outdoor heated pool & jacuzzi to relax in. Complimentary scheduled transport to major parks and free breakfast. staySky Suites I-Drive Orlando is now certified as part of the Florida Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your StaySky Suites I-Drive Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Universal Hotel Orlando
Universal Studios Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing