We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando
Ranked #171 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I would like to let everyone to know the best value hotel you could find in the area hands down! The property is very clean and staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are well appointed with all the amenities of a higher priced location. They are located right across from universal and even offer transportation there twice daily. This is an additional savings and value to your stay. The family owned business takes great pride in their ownership which is reflected in the helpful staff and clean rooms. I would highly recommend anyone wishing to find a great room at a great price at a convenient location to make reservations here. Once you stay I'm sure you will agree.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and great rating! Yes we try our best to make everyone's vacation as best as we can. We are happy to know that we have met your expectations in all aspects during your stay. I would also like to thank you on behalf of the entire staff of our property for considering us when you return to Orlando. We hope to have the opportunity to deliver another stellar experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

A friend and I have just had two short stays at the Wingate. I last stayed there a couple of years ago and am glad to say that it has maintained its standards of that time. The rooms were spotless and all staff, especially at the front desk, were very pleasant. Breakfast can be very busy but staff work hard to keep tables cleared and the buffet replenished. The outside pool is well looked after and popular. I certainly hope to return to the Wingate when next in Orlando and can recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank bobbinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

I appreciate you for taking the time out of your day to give us great feedback from your recent stay with us. I am happy to see we provided you great service and our rooms were clean and fresh. We are very fortunate to be surrounded by so many restaurants, outlets, malls and many other attractions to see. I would also like to thank you on behalf of the entire staff of our property for considering us when you return to Orlando. We hope to have the opportunity to deliver another stellar experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was very upset with the night receptionist- Leish. We were told that there was a complementary airport shuttle to the hotel and when we called she was VERY rude and told us to take a taxi, it was our problem and that she would not transfer us to the manager. Turns out, there was a airport shuttle that was cheaper than everything else, she just didn't tell us. When we arrived to the hotel she never welcomed us, said good-bye or asked us how we were doing. She claimed that my credit card was not working, threw it back to me and told me there was nothing we could do.

However, every other receptionist was super helpful. The location was AMAZING! There are a bunch of restaurants around and you can walk to Universal if you want to.

The hotel was very nice, new and spacious. Some of my towels were dirty but that wasn't a big deal because I enjoyed my room, bed, and every commedity we received. The pool and whirlpool were very nice as well. The breakfast was the same everyday, but it was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Franziska P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Thank you for leaving a comment about your recent stay at the Wingate by Wyndham Universal. I sincerely apologize about how unprofessional my front desk agent was. I will definitely take proper steps and training with my employee about this. I will make sure this will not happen again with any of my guest and employees. I am still very appreciative for the rating. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel was close to my business destination...lots of restuarant choices and shopping was only a 15 minute dirve to a major mall. Maid service was efficent and my room was as clean as my arrival each day. The work out center is very outdated...definately needs some help. The front desk associates were professional and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

I appreciate you for taking the time out of your day to give us great feedback from your recent stay with us. I am happy to see we provided you great service and our rooms were clean and fresh. We are very fortunate to be surrounded by so many restaurants, outlets, malls and many other attractions to see. I hear your concerns and when we plan to update the hotel, this will include a new equipment in the workout room. I look forward to your return. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Benedetto M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Closest to Universal Orlando
Quality Inn & Suites
#173 of 340 in Orlando
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#123 of 340 in Orlando
654 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Address: 5661 Windhover Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-7936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Orlando
#100 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#162 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $99 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, we are adjacent from Universal Studios and City Walk. The Mall of Millenia, Prime 1 Outlet, International Drive, and many other stores are just two miles away. The Orlando Convention Center is seven miles away and within a five mile radius is every restaurant possible. Rate includes complimentary breakfast & free shuttle service to Universal Studios and Holy Land Experience. Our beautiful property has undergone a complete renovation and now boosts modern spacious guest rooms and meeting spaces. King or two queen size beds available. We offer many comp amenities and services to our guest. This includes in all rooms microwave & fridges, coffee maker, iron & ironing boards, mp3 clock radios, and USA today paper. We offer complimentary fitness room, pool, indoor whirlpool, wired and wireless high speed internet access, or the guest can use our modern day business center. We look forward to working with you to make your travel arrangements as easy as possible. We also have new Electric Charging Stations for all electric cars!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham @ Universal Studios And Convention Center
Wingate By Wyndham @ Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Wingate Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing