We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place close to universal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando
Ranked #167 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 1, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Mary Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel was perfect for our needs. It was close enough to Universal (5-8 min drive) and eateries that we would stay again, especially for the price. The room suited our needs for 2 adults and 1 child. We were there long enough to sleep, shower, grab breakfast and go. We didn't do the shuttle because at the time we went (2nd weekend Dec) the shuttle ran in the morning for drop off and pick up was 6:15p or so. We didn't want to be tied to those times so we rented a car and parked in the Universal parking lots. Even though the park closed at 7p we had dinner and walked around CityWalk.
The room had the essential ammenities, Free WiFi, mini frig, microwave, hair dryer etc. The beds were comfortable especially after long days at the park. The shower suited our needs, with hot running water.
We didn't try out the pool or gym and the breakfast was simple but again for our family it was perfect. Various cereals, danishes, breads/bagels, coffee/juice, eggs, waffles, sausage enough to get us to lunch and it was pretty tasty.
I highly recommend this location for the value and comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stixx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Happy Holidays! Wow I really appreciate the in depth review about the hotel and your stay. We are happy to know that we have met your expectations in all aspects during your stay. I would also like to thank you on behalf of the entire staff of our property for considering us when you return to Orlando. We hope to have the opportunity to deliver another stellar experience and have a great New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Aldwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great location, very near the parks and outlets. The rooms are clean and I had no complaint aboit noise. Breakfast was included and very good. Great cost-benefit. There is an IHOP just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicala21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

I appreciate you for taking the time out of your day to give us great feedback from your recent stay with us. I am happy to see we provided you great service and our rooms were clean and fresh. We are very fortunate to be surrounded by so many restaurants, outlets, malls and many other attractions to see. I would also like to thank you on behalf of the entire staff of our property for considering us when you return to Orlando. We hope to have the opportunity to deliver another stellar experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hotel is newly renovated, offered limited shuttle service to universal which is understandable and is super close, 1/2 mile away if that.....room was spacious....we were given a king with a pullout sofabed and rooms have a mini fridge and microwave....utensils and plates available on first floor.....although renovated...some things seemed to be same from before a renovation.....toilets and tub have rust stains....not a pleaser especially when your spending a good amount for a hotel you thought would do/be better since it is a national chain....walls are paper thin...eveery morning i hear the people in teh next room...kids screaming, headboards hitting the wall...from both sides of the room!! beds are not too comfy, very stiff....plenty of pillows though....remote control not working....called front desk who had told me they were busy..only one person, have to wait.....thought i could speed things up and help this person out. took remote down to front desk only to be told with an attitutde..."i told you im the only person and it would have to wait." i stood in line for the counter and it was my turn only to be told this?? not courteous/professional at all...breakfast is not so good...have a belgian waffle maker, pastires and cereals, sausage and egg (shared utensil) they shoudl have more utensisl and or have thigns clearly labeled for guests....and try some real juice or somethign better than the powdered/machine concentrate juice....other than that hotel was ok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 114usmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_Universal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciate the feedback and descriptions of the hotel, rooms, and breakfast. I would like to address some of the other items that you experienced. First, I am aware about the bathtubs with some rust and we have a company coming in to repair them and make them like new. As for the paper thin walls, I do not get many complaints about noise from other rooms, unless they are really loud or as you said jumping around. In any case, we have someone here 24/7 and please call the front desk to inform them about the noise and we can address it immediately. The bed mattresses are from Serta and they are pillow-top premium mattresses, which are the brand standard mattresses. The most important item that you wrote was about my front desk staff professionalism. I sincerely apologize for the manner that the person addressed you in. Please next time email or leave me a VM of the desk agents name so I can speak to them and correct the behavior. If you would like to discuss this further or have additional feedback, please reach out to me. I hope you will consider us on your next visit to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Closest to Universal Orlando
Quality Inn & Suites
#172 of 342 in Orlando
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Address: 5661 Windhover Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-7936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Orlando
#100 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#159 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $100 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, we are adjacent from Universal Studios and City Walk. The Mall of Millenia, Prime 1 Outlet, International Drive, and many other stores are just two miles away. The Orlando Convention Center is seven miles away and within a five mile radius is every restaurant possible. Rate includes complimentary breakfast & free shuttle service to Universal Studios and Holy Land Experience. Our beautiful property has undergone a complete renovation and now boosts modern spacious guest rooms and meeting spaces. King or two queen size beds available. We offer many comp amenities and services to our guest. This includes in all rooms microwave & fridges, coffee maker, iron & ironing boards, mp3 clock radios, and USA today paper. We offer complimentary fitness room, pool, indoor whirlpool, wired and wireless high speed internet access, or the guest can use our modern day business center. We look forward to working with you to make your travel arrangements as easy as possible. We also have new Electric Charging Stations for all electric cars!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham @ Universal Studios And Convention Center
Wingate By Wyndham @ Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Wingate Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing