We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando
Ranked #165 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 2, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank caloriecounter
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,122)
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Ric E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Leroy H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Jolene L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here based on a pretty good TripAdvisor rating. The hotel was clean, our bed was comfy, the a/c was cold and the check-in/out staff was pleasant and friendly. Our only turn-off was the continental breakfast.

We had a group of 7 college students with us, so the free breakfast was suppose to give them something to hold them over until they actually woke up around lunch time. That plan failed. The eggs were like rubber, the sausage was wet and slimy, the milk for the cereal was on the warm side, the bagels were hard, the OJ room temp and the coffee was weak. Not to mention that they had only one person who moved at a snails pace working the area, so the tables were dirty and the supplies scarce.

Shuttle service to Universal came once in the morning and returned once at night. If you missed either bus, you were on your own..

Would probably not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotz2CnDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. I understand and know of the breakfast concerns. Over the next few months we will be upgrading our breakfast so we hope on your next visit to Orlando you will return to us and see the changes we have made. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was good and the staff members where really good and friendly I will come back to Orlando and stay in this hotel again and will recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and great rating! We are happy to know that we have met your expectations in all aspects during your stay. I would also like to thank you on behalf of the entire staff of our property for considering us when you return to Orlando. We hope to have the opportunity to deliver another stellar experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn
#55 of 340 in Orlando
1,034 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites
#166 of 340 in Orlando
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#127 of 340 in Orlando
649 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Address: 5661 Windhover Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-7936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Orlando
#100 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#162 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $94 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, we are adjacent from Universal Studios and City Walk. The Mall of Millenia, Prime 1 Outlet, International Drive, and many other stores are just two miles away. The Orlando Convention Center is seven miles away and within a five mile radius is every restaurant possible. Rate includes complimentary breakfast & free shuttle service to Universal Studios and Holy Land Experience. Our beautiful property has undergone a complete renovation and now boosts modern spacious guest rooms and meeting spaces. King or two queen size beds available. We offer many comp amenities and services to our guest. This includes in all rooms microwave & fridges, coffee maker, iron & ironing boards, mp3 clock radios, and USA today paper. We offer complimentary fitness room, pool, indoor whirlpool, wired and wireless high speed internet access, or the guest can use our modern day business center. We look forward to working with you to make your travel arrangements as easy as possible. We also have new Electric Charging Stations for all electric cars!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham @ Universal Studios And Convention Center
Wingate By Wyndham @ Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Wingate Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing