We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pillow have something to be desired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando
Ranked #169 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband joined me for a weekend vacation while I was also working. The desk staff was wonderful with maps, directions, and pleasant conversation. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Good location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and great rating! We are happy to know that we have met your expectations in all aspects during your stay. I would also like to thank you on behalf of the entire staff of our property for considering us when you return to Orlando. We hope to have the opportunity to deliver another stellar experience. It will be an honor for us to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Laura U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Where do i start, checking in to hotel a customer arguing with reception and i am checking out and i find myself doing the same staff looks friendly until you have a problem, like, no internet in the rooms, called the reception multiple times no answer, go down and get screamed at by receptionist because "everyone is asking the same question enough is enough" was the exact words of the staff member, breakfast was most disapointing, when things finish they did not get refilled just finished, when you asked why, answer was "earlier there was some, it must have finished" really?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

I would like to thank this guest for leaving comments about their stay with our property, but wish they had brought the issues they experienced to our attention rather than waiting to post a comment on the internet. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
I am not sure about many of the items you have written in this review. First if there is a problem at the desk, my management team or I will take our guests to the side to discuss the issue. I am not sure how you are saying there in no internet in the rooms? Out hotel has wireless and Ethernet plug in internet throughout the entire property for the past 6 years. I would like to announce that we are upgrading to fiber and all new equipment starting on April 22, 2013. Either way with the issues you experienced, please be more to the point of them so I can correct it. I suggest letting the general manager know of your issues/concerns immediately when anything happens. This way I can fix the issue and make sure the rest of your stay is perfect! It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Last week we stayed at Wingate by Wyndham @ Universal Studios & Convention Center. On check in we were greeted with a smile by Doris the evening manager at the front desk. From that point on she proceeded to ensure that every question we had was answered. Hotel was clean and quiet. Will stay here again when we come back. Great Job Doris.
Captain Doug and Gala

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Wow. What a review. I am so glad that Doris was able to exceed your expectations on what our staff can do. I will surely pass it along to her. We hope that we will be your hotel of choice when you return to Orlando. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a great stay at the Wingate in Orlando last week! It was a very clean hotel that is perfect for business stays. Doris the evening manager was a ton of fun and full of knowledge about the surrounding area. Will definitely look to stay here again the next time I am in Orlando!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I will surely pass on your praise to Doris as she is part of an outstanding team i have at my front desk. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your trips to Orlando. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A very clean hotel. Perfect for business, families, or just a relaxing get away. The breakfast buffet was good, but could have had more fresh fruit and yogurt items. The business centre is nice but the internet service was down at times, and the computers are slow and need to be upgraded. The loction is good with many retaurants and shops nearby. Overall a very good value for the rate paid ($76.00).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokinjoe999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingtateuniversal, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Hello SmokinJoe!
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us great feedback from your recent stay with us. I am happy to see we provided you great service and our rooms were clean and fresh. We are very fortunate to be surrounded by so many restaurants, outlets, malls and many other attractions to see. In response to the internet concerns, we hear you! After April 1, 2013 we will have all new hardware equipment and download speeds faster than the speed of light. Of course not that fast, but we are going beyond the standards of what Wingate requires. We look forward to your next stay in Orlando and I appreciate choosing out property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hampton Inn Closest to Universal Orlando
Quality Inn & Suites
#172 of 341 in Orlando
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#124 of 341 in Orlando
659 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando

Address: 5661 Windhover Dr, Orlando, FL 32819-7936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Orlando
#100 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#162 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $98 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located, we are adjacent from Universal Studios and City Walk. The Mall of Millenia, Prime 1 Outlet, International Drive, and many other stores are just two miles away. The Orlando Convention Center is seven miles away and within a five mile radius is every restaurant possible. Rate includes complimentary breakfast & free shuttle service to Universal Studios and Holy Land Experience. Our beautiful property has undergone a complete renovation and now boosts modern spacious guest rooms and meeting spaces. King or two queen size beds available. We offer many comp amenities and services to our guest. This includes in all rooms microwave & fridges, coffee maker, iron & ironing boards, mp3 clock radios, and USA today paper. We offer complimentary fitness room, pool, indoor whirlpool, wired and wireless high speed internet access, or the guest can use our modern day business center. We look forward to working with you to make your travel arrangements as easy as possible. We also have new Electric Charging Stations for all electric cars!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Convention Ctr Closest Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham @ Universal Studios And Convention Center
Wingate By Wyndham @ Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Wingate Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing