We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good All rounder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #115 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good All rounder”
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel has a great location. clean and functional rooms. friendly staff, and free parking. The pool was full of kids but we were there for shopping and universal. its only a 10 min drive to prime outlets and a short drive to florida mall. We got a great deal booking direct on the hotels website $70 cheaper than hotels.com and orbitz etc for a 3 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugged77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    1,069
    485
    139
    81
See reviews for
1,227
724
112
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Highly recommend best western hotel. A great location. Very friendly staff. Rooms very comfortable, cleaned every day. Staff are very friendly. Pool area lovely, with lovely shaded area when it gets too hot in the sun. Would highly recommend hotel to anyone going to Orlando. Great for families,best of all excellent value for money. Will be going again next year!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I stayed here for one week and though I thought it was okay at first, my wife and I came back with bed bug bites all over our body. I have complained to Best Western but no response yet. Maybe not all rooms are infested, but I guess ours was. Oh well.... Never staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoMe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed here with a few friends. This was my third visit to Orlando and I was fairly pleased with this hotel. It's in a prime location and is reasonably priced for its proximity to the various restaurants and shops on I-Drive. It was a definite plus being so close to Wet 'n Wild and Ponderosa Steakhouse (3.99 buffet!!)

Awesome activities! Onsite, lit tennis and basketball courts in addition to large pool and jacuzzi.

The main thing that needs to be changed ASAP is offering a FREE breakfast. The breakfast at the onsite restaurant is a little pricey and no one wants to walk 5 mins or so to get a decent and reasonably priced meal. A free breakfast is the missing link that would make this a perfect hotel.

To the management: Implement a free deluxe breakfast SOON to boost business!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tataylo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Price was lower. Location was OK to Universal Orlando. It is a walk to Wet & Wild but don't bother with that. This is a lower quality hotel. Beds were poor. Room was fair. The door locks were poor. They have some sort of problem with scammers running the halls and dropping off pizza flyers all day and night. For a cheaper hotel I guess it was OK.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiana_Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. I've never been a fan of 'posh' hotels preferring practical, comfortable and above all clean!! (oh and cost effective).
This hotel is very well located for all the theme parks and is a 2 minute walk from the entertainment and food places on International Drive, so no need to drive every night. There is ample car parking and that staff are very helpful.
The room had a large super king bed, sofa bed, desk and chair, internet access, fridge, safe, microwave, tea and coffee machine, 37" lcd tv , aircon unit, extra sink and full bathroom suite. The room was serviced everyday and we had no complaints. There was an ice machine and a soda machine on the floor also.
We had a room at the front overlooking the lake and wet n'wild and it was a nice view.
The hotel has a shop which sells some essentials and foods / meals. The pizza at $15 was a bit pricey, but very nice, fresh, hot, big enough and great when your feeling lazy! They also do some enormous cake slices at $6.95 which are very nice indeed and a meal in themselves!
The hotel are fine with you bringing food into the hotel / rooms as this is the norm - try broadway pizza behind walgreens. Water/milk +tea bags from Walmart was much cheaper than the I-drive shops. 24 cans of coke only $5!!!
I had a great time here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norburyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demaine04
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Really really nice hotel. After spending hours in the parks everyday you really need somewhere to come home and relax - the Gateway was ideal.

Everything was very clean and tidy and the staff were wonderful. The ticket touts in the hotel lobby could be annoying but if you tell them you're under 25 they stop trying the hard sell. Of course this all depends on you being able to pass for under 25 :)

The long story short is that this hotel really helped make my holiday one of the best I have ever had and I would certainly book again without hesitation if I was in the Orlando area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demaine04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#107 of 338 in Orlando
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn International
#121 of 338 in Orlando
6,530 reviews
Comfort Inn International
#125 of 338 in Orlando
837 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Address: 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing