We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap cheerful, nice and clean;but deadly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #118 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Jarrow UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap cheerful, nice and clean;but deadly.”
Reviewed November 18, 2009

As basic hotels go this one ticks all the boxes, having stayed here before we knew what to expect; although it has had several name changes recently. Situated just of i-drive, but still near all the places you will need for eating and shopping. Rooms are cleaned daily and to a good standard, and towels are replaced when you need them. However the recent refurb was soon to haunt us twice in three days. After 5 days our 'new' bathroom sink feel unto to floor in a deadly crash and flooded the bathroom. The workmanship of the refit is of very poor quality and not fitted properly and with any due care. Then 3 days later in another room my sister's sink dropped, cutting her leg and just missed here 18 month girl who was playing in the bathroom. All the maerials used for the refurb are stored outside the back of the hotel in all the elements, and looks unsightly from the pool area. So I advice caution when you are in the bathroom, and advice you check the unside of your sinks for proper fittings (not two weak clasps, but four one on each corner).
But don't let this put you of as the hotel is otherwise in good shape. The restaurant is okay if you want to eat in, but with so many restaurants on your door step at cheaper prices; why bother?.
Disney is the perfect place for all ages and we can't recommend it enough, and Universal is only a 10 minute walk away; and Wet and Wild right outside the hotel. Although taxi's do seem cheap it does eat into your budget so be prepared to use the brilliant i-ride system.I advice taking the i-ride to premium outlets, then change to downtown disney; then choice the bus to the park of your choice for free. The i-ride is only 1 dollar and kids and oap's are free.Having said that we did use a firm found on the web, he was cheap if pre-booked and set us a rate for every trip including return trip; between 8 of us in his transport it was cheaper, convenient and stress free.[--]
The two shopping malls on i-drive are brilliant and your english pounds will go far, so check your travel luggage allowance for the plane home; otherwise it will cost you dearly(it did cost us).
We found Universal great for teenagers or thriil seekers but not entirely suitable for young children as only a very small porion of the park, caters for kiddies. But Disney is perfect for everyone. If travelling in September be prepared for the daily downpour for 30 minutes around 5pm, but it soon dries out. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWheelerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    1,059
    482
    137
    80
See reviews for
1,206
710
110
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Six of us from Ireland stayed here on a golfing trip for 10 days. We found it most comfortable, helpful staff, very good facilities. 2 double beds of very good quality in each room. Large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave. Room cleaned every day. Free safety deposit box in the room. Lovely pool and jacuzzi (2), towels supplied. Had breakfast in the restaurant 3 mornings, I recommend the omlette as you have a choice of the ingredients. A few hundred yards walk to International drive with plenty of choices for pubs and restaurants. 1 mile to universal studios and wet and wild is across the road. Overall we were very happy to have stayed here and hope to be back next year. Also very good value for golf in the Orlando area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danno678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Third year staying at the Clarion or Universal Best Western as it is know these days. Love the location, staff, basic but comfortable rooms.

Only question I have is where did that $2 Million they spent on a refurb go? They have new TVs and Vanity units in the room but looks like thats about it. I expected more to be honest but still enjoyed my stay and would return.

Made more use of the pool area this year which was nice. One thing that is a bit annoying is only one PC for internet and its always being hogged by teenagers charging their IPods. They should introduce a token system where guests only have 30 minutes each and disabling the usb ports so people dont hog the PC.

I also went to the Gym a few times and was always the only one in there. Good facility but a few free weights would make it much better. Nice and air conditioned though making it comfortable for a work out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spicyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, FL
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2009

This is my group's 4th or 5th year in a row staying at this hotel (formerly known as the Clarion) for our annual Halloween Horror Nights trip, not for any particular reason as there is really nothing too special about this hotel except that it is very close to Universal and always has cheap rates. Since the switch to Best Western I noticed some improvements that I liked- the flat screen TVs, the fridges & microwaves, and an upgrade in decor. It is still a pretty basic hotel, but here are the pros & cons from my October 2009 trip:

Pros:
+ Location: Easy access to Universal Studios (5 min) & I-4 (2 min), Disney (20 min), Sea World (10 min), countless restaurants, shops, and grocery stores. I would recommend renting or bringing your car if you plan to stay here.
+ Price: Great for travelers on a budget
+ Decor: Looks modern, has obviously been recently updated, unlike most in this price range that look like they were designed in the 80's.
+ Pool area: Good sized pool, LOVED the two private hot tub areas, surprisingly romantic area, plenty of sunbeds also in a private area if that's what you're looking for.
+ Grocery/Restaurant: Very convenient to have food available if you don't feel like leaving the hotel- just be prepared for the up-charge. One of the four rooms we had received breakfast coupons upon check-in. I don't know what they did differently to get these other than check in at a different time- be sure to ask about this if you want any.
+ Service: 1) Somehow, a guest managed to break off the elevator call button on the first floor that summons the elevator. I'm still not sure how they accomplished this. Anyway, instead of just putting an "out-of-order" sign up, they actually had some maintenance crew that would use a special tool to summon the elevator, and he stood there for hours while it was being fixed. It was back to normal later that night. 2) We noticed upon arrival that part of our second lock, the door guard, was broken. We mentioned this to them on our way out and when we came back a few hours later, a new one had already been installed.
+ Noise: We were on the top floor and never heard a thing.
+ Presence of fridge & microwave, and internet
+ Extra sink and vanity area outside of bathroom
+ Clean
+ Effective room darkening shades

Cons:
- Beds: Those in our group who were sensitive sleepers found the beds to be uncomfortable. They seemed very hard, the pillows didn't sit right and the blankets were awkward feeling. Also, the beds are very SMALL, they must be doubles instead of true queens. If you are the type that can fall asleep anywhere and aren't sharing a bed, you will be fine.
- Bathroom: Our tub drained very very slowly during and after a shower, and the towels and toilet paper were made of very cheap materials.
- Appliances: Microwave was very rickety, and the fridge did not feel that cold, although both seemed to get the job done. Basic "economy" models.
- Closet: When closed looked full-size, but half of the sliding door revealed a hidden wall instead of closet space. It wasn't really a problem for my group, but for those staying longer it would be really limiting.
- Alarm clock: Oddly bright, with lit-up buttons. I like to sleep in total darkness so I just unplugged this and used my cell phone alarm.
- Cold air: The a/c worked okay, but look elsewhere if you like very cold rooms- ours was comfortable on full blast but never got cold-cold.

Overall, I would stay at this hotel again because I feel it is a good value. There is still room for improvement, but that comes with the cheaper price tag. Some of the things are easy remedies if you think they will bother you and you are driving- just throw a soft blanket and towels in your car.

Also a side note for those who like to bring video game consoles or DVD players, you will not be able to easily use them using the flat screen TVs provided. Best to leave them at home, or if you absolutely must bring them, you'll need to bring your TV as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pointybubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Stayed for 2 weeks in October,great hotel,rooms were an excellent size with 2 very comfy double (queen size)beds,large screen flat panel TV,Microwave,mini fridge,coffee maker,iron and ironing board,hairdryer,everything you could possibly need.Fresh free coffee and tea everyday,towels changed every day,plus shampoo soap and body lotions, everyday.Air conditioned. Soda and ice machines on every floor. Also 2 computers with free internet near reception.
Nice sized heated pool with an abundance of clean towels provided all day,plus 2 hot tubs ,basketball and tennis playing area.Fully equipped gym.Nice clean reception and restaurant area,only ate their twice though as there is so much around the immediate area.Situated literally yards from Wet n Wild waterpark,about 300 yards from the junction with International drive, so it's nice and quiet away from any traffic noise.24 Hour Walgreens just around the corner,plus Pizza joint close by which is open until 4.00 am ,handy for midnight snacks.Universal partner hotel so any tickets available in hotel lobby inc I ride tickets($53 for all of us 14 days unlimited use) Within easy reach of plenty of eateries, where you can eat cheaply or expensively without having to eat rubbish. Free shuttle to Universal, seaworld and Aquatica provided also Busch gardens{Tampa) shuttle bus free with flex plus ticket or $10. Local I ride stops just outside the hotel.Staff very friendly and helpful.Ideal location for all that Orlando has to offer. An excellent holiday,with this hotel providing the perfect base...will definitely be booking this hotel again as it is in the perfect spot,and I found it to be absolutely faultless.I cant recommend it highly enough.
There is a $3.49 charge per room per night but itis well worth it for the amenities.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheffieldUKMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

This is my second trip to Orlando and to this hotel. We loved our first stay which is why we opted to stay here a second time.

The second time round was even better than the first. This hotel was formely the Clarion Hotel but now it has been taken over by Best Western. There have been some very welcomed changes to the hotel some of which are brand new flat screenm tv's in all rooms, fridges and microaves, these little facilities provide very useful.

They have also set about updating all the rooms and there is now a much more plush feeling to the rooms, it is no longer a motel but a hotel.

We went in July and found it to be very quiet, suprisingly!! We never found it difficult to get a sunbed even if we got up at noon.

We never tried out the breakfast in Sharky's nor the dinner since there is a such a wide variety of places to eat out you wouldnt really need to.

Locality wise this hotel is a little set back from all of the action and is now actually situated on international drive, rather it is set in a lovely area, a little more upmarket than international drive. There is an I Drive bus stop right outside the hotel so transport isnt really a problem.

As already stated the rooms are really lovely and have recently been refurbished. The staff here are lovely as is everything, I loved loved loved this hotel. I have fallen in love with Orlando and will be returning next year and back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welsh_wonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2009

THE SERVICE WAS GREAT, but the hotel is not what I was expecting at all! It looks a lot better in photo! I could here the people next door and it does not look clean clean.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#108 of 337 in Orlando
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosen Inn International
#119 of 337 in Orlando
6,492 reviews
Clarion Inn & Suites
#115 of 337 in Orlando
428 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Address: 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing