We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be our 5th time at this hotel in 2014 :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #113 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here sept2012 like we do every-time as its bit quieter (kids gone back school uk ) & labour day sales & as above states next year will be our 5th time at this hotel & it has always been a great stay , clean rooms and the hotel is clean staff friendly & pleasant we travel all the way from the UK so we must enjoy it here otherwise we wouldn't stay , other people's reviews on here I can not understand like the carpets are thread bear etc who looks at the carpet :D some people are just to picky & never satisfied we have always had a great stay I gave a 4 & not a 5 because some staff could be re trained to be a little more friendlier but hey we all have bad days I suppose, the rooms are always cleaned daily and the hotel & many times we saw the pool being cleaned & re painted . We thought the food there was very nice although a little steep price wise so we can't wait to come back next year :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 2,787 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Booked this hotel through priceline. They have it listed as a 3 star hotel but I disagree with it. The lobby is nice but the rest of the hotel is very old and it shows from the hallway to the rooms. Stayed here for two nights but stayed away the whole time except when it is time to sleep.
One thing that is great is the location. Very close to Universal. Taxi is $10 including tip.
Not recommended unless you are on a budget and dont want to pay more than $50 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomirMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were there for the Expo in September 2013. Everybody was friendly at the Best Western and allowed all of our Guests to have parking passes. We were there to enjoy ourselves and all of the staff helped. Diana assisted us quickly with a package that we were expecting. The pool and hot tubs were fun and clean.

Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewc0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just came back from this hotel yesterday after a four nights stay. This place is very old, and it shows. While the lobby area is somewhat nice and clean, the corridors look like those in horror movies and the rooms are in overall bad condition. I paid less than half the price quoted on their website through Priceline and still feel like I've been ripped off, as I've paid less for MUCH better places in that area in recent years. This place should be rated as 1.5 start rather than 3, at least until they do some major renovations there. I tried calling them several times in the week before we arrived to specifically request a room with a king size bed. There was no answer in the 5 times I tried and I had to call Priceline to make sure this place still exists. Their front desk is understaffed - it took us 20 minutes to check in on a wednesday night. I imaging it takes 45-60 minutes on a thursday or friday. We ended up paying extra for a "suite" upgrade just so we can sleep together in one bed. The suite was in a horrible condition, with stains on the table, couch with ripped, dirty cushions and a bathroom vent that sounded like a helicopter taking off. They also charge a "resort fee" of $3.5 per day. How they have the guts to call this place a resort I have no idea. Maybe in jail this would be considered a resort, but in Orlando, the land of huge, cheap, great hotels, it's an insult to call this place a resort, no matter how low the fee is.
They do get two stars instead of one because rooms are equipped with a microwave and a mini fridge, which helps for those quick dinners and breakfasts if all you care about is spending your days at the parks, and for the location - less than five minutes from Universal and across the street from Wet 'n Wild.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which beds are in your room - most of their rooms are equipped with two "dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shualon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Found a great deal in one of the bargain sites but did not have high expectation after reading some of the reviews here. However, our stay turned out to be a nice one. Our room was located right at the end of the hallway so we had almost zero noise during the night. The bed and bathroom were standard but the important part is they were clean. Complimentary shuttle bus to Universal Studio was definitely a big bonus - less than 10 min. bus ride. The price of the food and drink was fairly expensive but there are Walgreen and KFC just 5 minutes walk from the hotel so we did not have any problem.
They did take some time to check us in because they only had one person in the front desk although it wasn't that late, but check out was no hassle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rai4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I can not start to describe how gross this hotel is. There was literally cut hair on the ground of the elevator, and the staff did not care at all. Front desk takes literally 10 minutes per guest. The staff is not even remotely friendly. Rooms are what you would expect from a knights inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Despite staff being friendly, the rooms were dirty and small. I could not find out why my allergies/asthma were so bad then i discovered layers of dust, dirt and trash behind the headboards. Looked like a vacuum hadn't reach back there is years. Also smelled of mildew and there was some questionable stain on the bed skirt. kind of looked like pet vomit. They do not tell you the shuttle to city walk is actually $7, not complimentary like most hotels. It is cheaper to call your own cab ($5). I wouldn't stay here again. I'm sure there are better hotels with comparable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#105 of 340 in Orlando
3,021 reviews
Rosen Inn International
#122 of 340 in Orlando
6,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Hotel & Suites
#20 of 340 in Orlando
4,805 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Address: 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $77 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing