We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #107 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Found a great deal in one of the bargain sites but did not have high expectation after reading some of the reviews here. However, our stay turned out to be a nice one. Our room was located right at the end of the hallway so we had almost zero noise during the night. The bed and bathroom were standard but the important part is they were clean. Complimentary shuttle bus to Universal Studio was definitely a big bonus - less than 10 min. bus ride. The price of the food and drink was fairly expensive but there are Walgreen and KFC just 5 minutes walk from the hotel so we did not have any problem.
They did take some time to check us in because they only had one person in the front desk although it wasn't that late, but check out was no hassle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rai4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,315 - 1,321 of 2,939 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I can not start to describe how gross this hotel is. There was literally cut hair on the ground of the elevator, and the staff did not care at all. Front desk takes literally 10 minutes per guest. The staff is not even remotely friendly. Rooms are what you would expect from a knights inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Despite staff being friendly, the rooms were dirty and small. I could not find out why my allergies/asthma were so bad then i discovered layers of dust, dirt and trash behind the headboards. Looked like a vacuum hadn't reach back there is years. Also smelled of mildew and there was some questionable stain on the bed skirt. kind of looked like pet vomit. They do not tell you the shuttle to city walk is actually $7, not complimentary like most hotels. It is cheaper to call your own cab ($5). I wouldn't stay here again. I'm sure there are better hotels with comparable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here with my son the last week in Aug 2013. A little hesitant with all the mixed reviews but the price I got from Travelocity was the best deal, I couldn't pass up..$800 for 5 nights w/plane fare from Boston. The girls at the front desk where very friendly and when we got there very early (11am) our room was not available so she upgraded us to the 8th floor with views overlooking the lake. I paid an extra $5 a night but it was worth it . The rooms where clean and the convenience of the microwave and refrigerator where a plus with a 12yr old. The beds are doubles and the room is a little tight but it was only the 2 of us so it wasn't that bad but a family of four might need an adjoining room so you wouldn't be right on top of each other.

We rented a car this time and had the option to use that or take the complimentary shuttle to the parks but the week we went the times of the shuttles where not convenient to the opening of the parks especially Sea World and Aquatica, plus the return times where too late in the evening. I would definitely call the hotel and see if they can give you the shuttle times the week of your stay to keep all your options open.

We walked to Wet N' Wild one day about a 10 minute walk, we did see many people walking to Universal from the area, from the hotel its probably a 20-25 min walk.

Overall our stay was pleasant and the hotel was very convenient to I-Drive & Universal/IOA which is why I booked it in the first place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zen103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Hotel was great kid friendly had things to do for everyone close to all major attractions but they do charge for kids 10 + for adult breakfast they also charge for the water in the room refridge after you check out. they also need to have more shuttle pick up and drop off times. Overall it was a great stay would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a wonderful short stay here. We arrived early in Orlando and needed a place to stay while we waited for our vacation villa to become available. Frankly, the rooms were just as comfortable and cleaner than our Westgate stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OriginalMrMacII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

During my most recent stay, i had some issues with check-in. The staff on hand was extremely helpful and made, what could have been a difficult situation, go by very smooth. Also, a great location. Central to whatever you want to do in Orlando.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steeldawg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#106 of 341 in Orlando
3,073 reviews
Rosen Inn International
#116 of 341 in Orlando
6,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Hotel & Suites
#19 of 341 in Orlando
4,891 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Address: 7299 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#121 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $87 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing