We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #118 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful Staff!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Staff is wonderful! Especially the Front Desk and the Bell Men. Hotel is a bit dated and old, but overall a very comfortable experience. The beds were really nice and comfy after a long day of walking around for 12+ hours. We were only able to enjoy the pool a couple times and we especially loved being able to jump into it after spending the day at the Universal Parks since it is open until 11pm. The Sharky's restaurant was alright, but a bit expensive for being an on-site hotel restaurant. The breakfast that we had arranged to be delivered in the room was alright, it wasn't the worst or the greatest. Also, our hotel room's front door had the light coming through the bottom and on the sides. I had to cover it with a towel to black out the whole room so we could sleep. But it was overall a wonderful experience and definitely made our time is Orlando very pleasant!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayameyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    1,046
    479
    137
    77
See reviews for
1,190
692
110
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location to International Drive activity, Universal, and Malls. Staff was pleasant, helpful, and courteous. Rooms were "OK"... not dirty, not great. Bed was slightly uncomfortable. Pool area was disappointing. Overall - about a 7+ out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had to stay here because we were traveling with our pet and there was no other option which was close to Universal. The property is old and dated. I felt like I was in a bad dream in Reno! But As some of the earlier reviewers have said, the staff are great but housekeeping is going to need some work. As a matter of habit we always leave a few dollars on the bed for housekeeping before we leave for the day but it seems that the gesture is not enough of an encouragement to the housekeeping staff to clean the room. They seem to change the sheets but forget about cleaning the tops of counters which had stains from the day we got there. I am not going to pick too much because as I said we paid $490 for four nights including taxes which in the grand scheme of things with a pet is not a bad deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjy88sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here with our dog overnight to be close to Universal. You definitely get what you pay for at $73 a night. THe staff was great, however the hotel is old, with lift carpet and loud kids everywhere. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from staying at this hotel four of us in our party myself two sons and my friend.
To say it in a few sentences couldn't be done.
We've enjoyed every moment of our stay at the best Western getaway all the staff went out of there way to make our stay extremely enjoyable.
The rooms were of a good layout , spacious and well equipped with necessary facilities for our stay.
Maid service was of a high standard lovely well mannered staff.
Always ready to assist if you needed.
Reception and bell boy were fabulous. We've left this hotel with fond memories of all we encountered during our stay.
Lovely pool and jacuzzi fresh towels on hand .
Bar had plenty of choices for cocktails or sodas.
Fresh deli in the shop. A handy laundrette on the 1st floor.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slinkydi2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We got (what I think) a good deal from priceline. We booked two rooms and got connecting rooms. The hotel was a little aged but clean and got all basic stuffs that we needed. We were out all day, and just used the room for sleeping. The location was good, only few min. away to Int'l Dr., we didn't mind the walk. Staffs was very friendly. I would stay here again if we go back to Orlando.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nonchalante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked as part of the Universal Orlando Holiday Reservations. Enjoyed a great 3 night stay here in early June. Very prompt and attentive service at reception desk and extremely helpful advice with regards to the parks. The room was spacious and well equipped - more than enough room for 2 travelers but I imagine that there would be plenty for 4 as well. Cannot physically stay any closer to the "Wet n Wild Waterpark" and both Universal Parks were within a 5 minute car ride or a 30 minute walk away! Great access to I-Drive and local shops / buffets as well and there is an I-Trolley stop opposite that is really useful. In addition - the in house restaurant (whilst more expensive than some restaurants on I-Drive) was fantastic and highly recommend the evening menu.

Only pity is the $3.50 per night "resort fee" - but I was well aware of this before travelling as I had read the Reservation Invoice and so it was easily budgeted for.

All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor was very good Recommend the Grilled Salmon with Asparagus in the Restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rightbackgranty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#106 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,900 reviews
Comfort Inn International
#123 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#115 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Florida Center
La Quinta Inn Orlando International Drive North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Property: Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Address: 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing