We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #111 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were delighted with our stay at this hotel. We especially would like to thank the front desk staff for fixing a series of errors that WE had made concerning our reservations. They saved us alot of time and inconvience. Very Comfy Beds!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,759)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,296 - 1,302 of 2,760 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is our fourth year in Orlando but only our second time staying close to the attractions and I have to say that paying the little extra is well worth it. This hotel is perfect if you're planning on going to Universal studios/Islands of Adventure, Wet N Wild, Seaworld and even most of the smaller attractions on International Dr. The hotel is dated and has some moisture smell to it, but then again so does most of the other 4 and 5 star hotels around. The rooms were clean and the beds were OK, we really enjoyed the hot tubs after a long day of walking around. The service here is super, very high praise goes to all the front lobby and restaurant staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gottee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights while traveling to Orlando for Disney world and Universal Studios. It is in a good location and the staff was friendly. We didn't use the pool because we were busy. The room was comfortable and was remodeled with granite counter tops. The bedding was nice and there were plenty of outlets. Although the remote control only worked for the TV from two feet in front of it, there was a free app I was able to download to my phone to control it. For some reason, take out menus kept on appearing under our door. The hotel also had laundry which was useful as we went to the beach in Fort Myers. Be aware that there is no change machine in the laundry room so we went to the front desk for some quarters. Also, there is a little store inside the hotel that sells snacks and other items. The prices were a bit steep in that store, but it was convenient. Overall, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royalpalm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Check in was easy and the front desk staff were very friendly. We arrived at 1 pm and were able to check in early which was nice.

This is an older hotel but has updated decor and has been fairly well maintained. When I was was having a bath I did noticed some black under the soap holder on the wall. I assume it was mold. On another day, the maid left the cleaning rag on our bathroom vanity. The mold thing grossed me out a bit, but I do realize we are in a humid climate and cleaning under the soap holder may be easy to miss and the rest of the room was clean.

The room was average size and comfortable. The beds were doubles and okay for comfort.The bathroom setup was a bit odd. The bathroom door was right by the entry door and opened outward so you always had to keep the bathroom door shut or it would be hit by the main door.

The location was great. Walking takes about 7 minutes to Wet and Wild and 20 minutes to Universal. We would take the shuttle in the morning and walk home at night. The shuttle driver was great. We went at a lower season so we always had a seat on the bus. There were 3 departure times which was convenient.

The hotel was close to an IHOP so we ate there a couple times. It also had a restaurant in it but we didn't try that. There were a some other restaurants within walking distance (about 15 min).

The pool looked nice but we didn't go swimming as it was in the shade and not super hot. There were two hot tubs that we did use and they were nice.

One thing to note. There is a tour desk there that sells attraction tickets (it's also the same place you get the free Universal shuttle tickets). But the one night I went there they tried to sell my a timeshare. Not super high pressure but it did take me saying "not" a couple times for him to stop asking.

Overall, this hotel was good. Close to Universal which is why we picked it because we didn't have a car. It was comfy and good for a few nights. Plus, the price was right. We used the Orlando Magic discount card and got the room for $70 a night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkeyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice, had thick curtains that kept the sunlight out so u could sleep in. Room had nice flat screen tv w video game option. We also had a microwave and a small mini fridge. Room had a nice sized bathroom, great showerhead and water pressure!!

Hotel had a restuarant by the lobby that has breakfast buffet. They offered a waffle maker, bacon, sausage, biscuits, grits, scrambled eggs, hash browns, fruit, cereal, milk and juice. The restuarant also does lunch and dinner i think.

We would def stay here again!! We had no complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sadie3481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel was average, slightly dated, but the proximity to Universal Studios (and shuttle) made it well worth it! We found the staff very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and quiet. The only down side was parking spots were tough to find. The best part were the shuttle drivers, helpful and very funny!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After reading many negative reviews about this place i was a little hesitant to stay here but because i was traveling alone and was staying in orlando for three weeks i needed to stay in somewhere that was affordable. After staying here i really cannot understand what the negative reviews were all about. I thought the rooms were a great size actually bigger then i was expecting. The pools and spas were great and were open later then expected. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The free shuttle was awesome .... i do not understand why so many people complain about the times.... the shuttles are free so its not like your paying money and going at a time that is not suitable.... if you do not like the times get a taxi it is not that expensive. Overall i really liked this place and found that it was excellent value for what you get. If i were to go back to orlando i would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loves-2-Travel122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Rosen Inn
#103 of 340 in Orlando
2,986 reviews
Rosen Inn International
#123 of 340 in Orlando
6,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Address: 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $72 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing