We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel
Ranked #110 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Crap Crap Crap. The hotel was not great, the restaurant had such a sticky floor, the pool side bar only opened for a couple of hours during the day, the rooms are tiny and no storage space. We were a family of four and there was no room in the bedrooms, the beds are small doubles, bathroom tiles dirty, seriously not a good hotel, would not recommend it at all. The only nice party of the hotel was the lobby and close to universal studies, seriously poor hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,623 - 1,629 of 2,890 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here in late Sep to early Oct and absolutely loved it. Extremely close to all attractions. Wet & Wild right across the street, so no need ti drive and pay for parking. 5 minute drive to universal studios. We will definitely be back, so keep our bed ready.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPDRican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed for our vacation in Orlando. Near by all the most important parks. The room was very nice, wide and clean. The staff was very helpful and the suggestion perfect. The parking is free and there is a nice swimming pool. The position is really strategic. So we suggest this nice Best western plus.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were very happy with this hotel. It is located across the street from the entrance to Wet N Wild, and about a mile down the street from Universal Studios. There is a shuttle that runs to Universal 4 times in the am and 4 in the pm, but you have to make reservations a day in advance. If you'd rather, a cab to Universal is around $6. Within walking distance are also a Walgreen's, grocer, and 7-11.

The rooms were very clean, and the beds and linens very comfortable. All of the rooms also have a microwave and mini fridge. The pool and hot tub area are very nice, and a great place to kick back and relax.

All of the staff that we dealt with were very friendly and helpful.

Did have a small issue with the rate we were charged, which the front desk said they could not help me with. Had to call corporate and my cc company to resolve it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were looking for an alternative place to stay because all the standard rooms at Universal were booked. After looking on line and comparing, we settled on Best Western gateway Plus on Universal Blvd. The hotel is only .9 miles from Universal and you can walk it if you wish. However, the hotel uses the Super Star Shttles and has 4 trips each day both ways. Things that we liked incuded: Wet n Wild which was right across the street from the hotel, Restaurants were with walking distance and goofy golf as well. There was a hnady Walgreens a block away. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and they helped us to print our boarding passes for our return trip. The hotel has a nice pool with 2 jacuzzis, basketball and tennis courts, and good security. You have to use your room key to enter all doors except the main entrance. Another great feature is that the hotel restaurant serves a full breakfast that was included in the room price. THis allowed us to save money on food at Universal because we were not hungry til later in the day. The hotel does not have airport shuttle service so we used Mears.

Room Tip: There are 3 different room types, and you can have pool view or street view. Order what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disneymanedo_pcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was helpful in every way. I will make sure that I share your reveiw with our staff as they love to hear about happy guests.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Very nice people! Very comfortable for the price. Really close Universal and Wet N Wild parks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. I will make sure that I let Ms. Dorothy know that you liked her hash browns and grits! Ms. Dorothy have been with the hotel since the day it opened in 1984 and is truly a great asset for our company.

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayedwith my teenage daughter from 4-19th July 2011.From arriving right upto when we left our stay was very good. The first week we spent just relaxing in the hotel( as tired from plane journey and work) but by Thursday of the first week we had booked trips toall the theme parks. The hotel is situated across the road from Wet N Wild. It takes about 8 mins (from our bus ride on 37 Lynx bus to Universal Studios and Island of Adventure). There was lots of information in lobby on the different theme parks but no one there to book with in the afternoon or evening as the staff member only worked until 7am-11am. The hotel was clean and had all the amenities,pool, jacuzzis x 2, lounge area by the pool, shop for necessities band, free internet service,telephone cards to call home,foreign exchange and a restaurant- say hello to Dorothy- makes lovely hash brown and grits. I would personally like to thank the staff for meeting all my requirements, from directions to different theme parks and places, saving money on travel ( using the Lynx bus day saver $4 - cheaper than UK) , although there is a shuttle service,sometimes you may want to stay later. Rooms are clean daily and toiletries replenished daily,more available as and when required from reception. Towels replenished frequently by the pool day up to late evening.Kids and adults stayed around the pool area upto and after 11pm daily. There is a lauderette (ground floor) so you can wash your clothes as and when required,I could not work it out but the staff member helped me and hotel also does changes for the washers/dryers.Ice dispensers available on each floor. Both myself and my daughter had a fab time and would recommend it, Thank you to: Dorothy (restaurant), Rita (shop), Tracey (reception) and Tony(bell captain). I shall recommend to all my friends and family!

Room Tip: Makesure you inform the cleaning ladies if you want tolie in as they come early to clean the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.4 mi away
Rosen Inn
Rosen Inn
#103 of 342 in Orlando
3,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosen Inn International
Rosen Inn International
#117 of 342 in Orlando
6,800 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn at International Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Floridian Hotel and Suites
1.4 mi away
Avanti International Resort
0.9 mi away
Best Western International Drive - Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel

Address: 7299 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#121 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $78 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks. Welcome to the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. Guests staying at the Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing