We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Hotel for Kids Interested in the Magic Kingdom” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #99 of 333 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Hotel for Kids Interested in the Magic Kingdom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our kids are younger and still of the age where Magic Kingdom is their favorite. If that is your focus, this is by far the best hotel choice, although it is on the expensive side. It is so much better to get in and out of Magic Kingdom, with several choices (monorail, boat), but also to be able to take a break from the park and go ride back in. We were able to spend more quality time in the park and avoid meltdowns by breaking back at the Polynesian. Plus, the atmosphere at the Polynesian is far better for kids than the other monorail resort choices. The kids absolutely loved the pool area and must have gone down the slide over a hundred times while we were there. The water parade, movies on the beach, all of it is right there. The rooms are nice and lot of renovation continues. The restaurants are mediocre and nothing to recommend, but that is true across Disney. I have yet to find a restaurant that I would highly recommend, they are all average or about the same depending on whether character dining interests you.

Room Tip: The biggest drawback to the Polynesian is the cost. It is one of the most expensive Disney properti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RRR104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,433
    828
    377
    185
    84
See reviews for
1,985
365
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family and I had the most wonderful time at this hotel. When we booked we were told about the renovations. They didn't both us at all. We get and out early and usually did not get back until they were done for the day. We were overjoyed that Blizzard Beach was included for each day of our stay. The service was superb and we will make this our new Disney hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BAT511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have stayed at this property 4 times in the last 4 years. There is a lot of construction on the property making walking across the resort a little cumbersome. However, we were unable to see any construction from the building we stayed in. Staff were attentive and professional at all times. We didn't experience any issues during our stay. Landscaping was fresh and visually appealing as always. We will be staying again next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoTravel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at the Polynesian to experience Disney at Christmas time. The decorations and rooms were great. The best part was being on the monorail toting a stroller. Made life a lot easier. The character breakfast was really good (chef mickeys is the best).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLover60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

When we were kids, we would see pictures of the Polynesian and think to ourselves, "Ooooh so exotic and fancy!" So, as adults, we finally got to stay here. We loved it! It is a very fun atmosphere, the bed is comfy, and the place is well kept. Being right next to the monorail was super convenient...especially after a very fun, long day of Disneying. Compared to other options, it is higher on the price scale, but for us it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EllaAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

After staying in the Floridian, Wilderness Lodge, and Animal Kingdom hotels, we decided to give the Polynesian a try. We were definitely not disappointed! The hotel rooms are very spacious, and the overall property is really a sight to see. Granted, the place is huge, so just walking from the lobby to the room can be quite a hike in itself. I must admit the layout can be rather confusing at first, and some areas could stand a bit more light in the walkways, but that might be intentional to add to the "ambience". Our room had an awesome view of the lake as well as Magic Kingdom. Though I would definitely recommend seeing the fireworks in person, there were quite a sight from our balcony. The room was typical Disney - spotless, updated, and very comfortable though we only received two "towel critters" during our week stay. (No one gets too old for those little guys!) The only negative was that the toilet and shower/bath are in the same area as the vanity. Personally, we like the vanity alone, with the toilet and bath in a separate area. Granted, the Floridian and Wilderness Lodge are the only hotels that have offered us that advantage, among the places we have stayed so far. The lobby of the hotel is something to see, and the hotel offers some great restaurants. Lastly, of course the monorail is one of the best reasons to stay at this hotel. For us, however, it was undergoing maintenance while we were there, so it was only available during peak times. (I do wish Disney had informed us of that while booking the hotel, but they did give us a little money back when we complained after experiencing travel inconveniences after arrival due to the maintenance.) Overall, it is a great place to stay, but I would be sure the monorail is fully functional before making reservations as the price definitely reflects the convenience of the monorail.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BatonRouge_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here for a night last weekend. We were aware of the construction that was ongoing but it really was even worse than expected. Currently, the resort is a shell of its former self. Half of the grounds are walled off, the main pool is closed and the lobby is a mess. The sounds of jackhammers and overall construction is unavoidable. What gets me is that Disney continues to charge the same astronomical rates during the overhaul. They should have just closed the resort down until construction was completed. No doubt the resort is going to be great once the renovations are complete but until then, I would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: During construction, there is no good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank rktj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Property: Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#37 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#105 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing