We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #88 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Henlow, United Kingdom
11
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The location and easy access to the Magic Kingdom are by far the best things about the Polynesian. The rooms are clean and spacious with two king size beds as standard, but the rooms are not well lit. There is a fridge and coffee maker, useful for breakfast time esp. if you have children. Considering the room can take 4 people there is insufficient storage - my hubby had to live out of his case! The whole Disney experience is very slick...until it goes wrong. It took about 40 minutes to check in, we had several problems with the new wristband system (so you can charge things to your room/get in to disney parks etc). There is a lot of work being carried out at the Polynesian, we were assured that it wouldn't affect us at all but inevitably it did - noise from building works, the kids club was closed and the casual dining was in a temporary smaller room with no windows! The disney dining plan is a v good idea - we didn't book it as it wasn't explained to use very well, but I wish we had as it is more economical than buying as you go. All in all a mixed review - Disney is always a happy place to be but I wouldn't stay at the Polynesian again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,298)
There are newer reviews for Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 3,298 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great hotel. Loved the hotel being on the tram stop. 5 minutes to get to and from the front gates of the park. The hotel has a laundry facility which was great because we were on a 2 week vacation and needed to do laundry. The hotel was very clean and room was nice.

Room Tip: We had a regular king room with daybed and was an excellent room for 3 people. Friends on the same...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I've stayed at the Polynesian several times with my husband and now 10 year old daughter. Nothing beats it for location and convenience. The rooms are nice, and I think the bathrooms have been updated since my last stay. Whenever we plan a trip to Disney we consider staying at another property, but then book at the Polynesian anyway. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: every building has it's strengths and weaknesses, so we never bother choosing... and we always e...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had the magical kingdom view from our room, absolutely amazing. Every evening you are treated to fireworks and lights on the lake. The room itself comfortably sleeps 5, and the facilities are what you would expect from a 4 star resort. At all times all members of staff were always smiling and helpful throughout the resort. The resort is set on a Polynesian theme, with volcanoes and fountains and hawaiin themes throughout.

The one drawback was the lack of vegetarian food available, luckily we had rented cars, so we drove out for food. Parking for guests at the resort is free and there is plenty available.

The pool was always busy, but we always managed to find loungers. The best thing was there were always plenty of lifeguards on duty throughout the day. So the kids were left to play without ant worries.

The location is superb, there was a monorail to Magical Kingdom and Epcot. and regular Bus services to all the other parks. The Polynesian also has a Ferry Boat service to the Magical Kingdom Park which is only a 15 minute boat ride away.

So I would highly recommend this resort and stay again.

Room Tip: If in the budget choose the Magical Kingdom View!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hirani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and how we wish it was longer. This is definitely our favourite Disney hotel and we can't wait to go back. The rooms are large, spacious, clean and well appointed with lovely touches from Mousekeeping. The bathrooms in particular were luxurious and had lots of space.

Disney does theming so well and the Poly is no exception, the buildings and gardens were all beautifully landscaped and we loved the pool and beach. The beach itself was the perfect place to watch Wishes each night - lying back on a sun lounger, sipping a glass of wine watching the fireworks is a very relaxing and magical way to end the day.

Check-in was seamless and we were extremely pleased to be upgraded to concierge level and stayed in the Hawaii building. The complimentary breakfast, drinks and snacks were really appreciated and we loved the lounge overlooking the lagoon and castle. I would consider paying for this as we enjoyed it so much.

The staff were really friendly too - the warm cookies each afternoon when we returned from the theme parks was really welcome and everyone we met was so delightful. Being on the mono rail for both Magic Kingdom and Epcot was so handy and we also found the bus service to be very efficient.

We did eat in both the Kona Cafe and Ohanas and whilst both were good we though the food and service were better in the Kona Cafe. We had a great server in there and I wish I could remember her name - she was working on the night 23 October at 6.30pm and we sat on the left of the entrance.

All in all an wonderful place to spend my 40th birthday - very magical and we are saving up to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Polynesian has been our go to resort for 30 years. To say we love it is an understatement. Location is premium and convenience makes the stay at Disney very pleasant. Over the years, we have come as a newly married couple (very romantic), family with small child (perfect for getting back from the parks quickly for naptime), family with teenagers (comfortable with letting teens venture out on their on using WDW transportation) and now empty nesters (enjoying the peace and quiet that the Polynesian offers). We love all the restaurants. Some favorites are the sushi bar at Kona Café as well as breakfast, lunch, and dinner offerings there. Ohana is a special treat. Captain Cooks is great for quick bites. We have witnessed many changes over the years and were especially thrilled with the bathroom upgrades our last visit.
Now, the downside. We have to catch our breath each year at the rise in cost to stay there. We now choose a Magic Kingdom view room in Tuvalu longhouse for its privacy and view. After paying such a high room rate, it is often disappointing to not be able to enjoy the rest of the hotel amenities because so many people who are not staying there are enjoying them. During our last stay, the staff was checking the pool area and trying to keep it for hotel guests, but be forewarned the restaurants are always crowded with non-Polynesian guests so be sure and make dining reservations and don't assume that since you are staying there you will get priority. I hope the construction is including expansion of the restaurants because we have increasingly noticed it becoming more and more difficult to enjoy them because of the number of non-resort guests that utilize them.

Room Tip: If you are a young family, don't waste money on the higher priced rooms with view. You will not...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the Hawaii building. This is the concierge building. Note: the second floor rooms do not have a balcony that allows you to sit outside. Get a first or third floor room.

With concierge, checking in was easy. They moved us from a second floor room to the first floor with no issues. The lounge are was ok and similar to the Contemporary hotel where we stayed last year. Continental breakfast, snacks throughout the day, beer and wine at dinner and the evening. Very nice.

My only issue is that the Hawaii building has about 90 rooms. The lounge area was packed in the morning and there were a significantly higher percentage of small children compared to the Contemporary. Unfortunately there were several that we're not supervised and ran everywhere running into people (mainly breakfast and for an hour or two around 6pm).

The grounds were great, the staff was accommodating, the kids had a great time at the pool and s'mores every night.

The transportation was normally great. However there was one day when the monorail was down from 11am to around 5 pm. The boat service was backed up. It took almost an hour instead of 20 minutes. We got on the fifth boat to arrive. Disney did put a boat that holds 120 people as well as the African Queen style boats the hold 35. we would have been better off going to the transportation center and taking the boat that holds several hundred. There were buses, but when staying at a monorail resort, who wants to take a bus when you shouln't have to.

Construction will be a fact of life for the next couple of years. It appears they are adding some rooms over the water as well as converting a couple of buildings to vacation club. The staff also noted that the hotel entryway was going to be redone (It is wonderful now, but it could use an update).

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beavscabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#105 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $626 - $1,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing