We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort for Location and Amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #91 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Resort for Location and Amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We just returned from staying three nights at the Polynesian. If you're looking for a comfortable, convenient place to stay with all the Disney amenities, then you should consider this resort to be an option. The amenities, dining facilities and rooms are all good (don't expect quality to be like Four Seasons though). I knew they had undergone a large update to their rooms. Our family of 5 stayed in a double room and it was plenty big enough. The couch folds out into a twin bed and we were concerned that it compromised on space. However, the bed does not invade the space and when it was out as a twin, the room was still spacious enough for 5 people to maneuver around. Also, we ended up using the chair and ottoman where the cushions remain attached, as a bed for our 5 year old, certainly comfortable enough for one small child to sleep on. My only caution; the walls seemed thin and we heard the neighbor's screaming kids (and the parents screaming at their kids) late at night. But then again, Disney = screaming, overstimulated and tired kids.

As another reviewer also noted, there is construction currently going on, and from what I understand will be vacation time shares on the lake (like Bora Bora but over murky water) and a few buildings. This was not bothersome to us (our room had a view of the construction site), as we spent most of the day at the theme parks. We did find a pleasant surprise in a 5 minute walk from the resort to the Transportation Center, where getting to Epcot was easy without having to switch monorails (which is what we would have to do if we took the monorail directly from the resort). Suggestions to experience at this hotel include pool time (the one with the water slide) and the entertainment and music for the kids, the hair wrapping station next to the pool and the character breakfast or dinner at the Ohana.

All in all, we would definitely stay at the Polynesian again. Also, a shout out to Mears Transportation. We used their services for a private car to pick us up from/to the airport and it was a great experience. We would also use them again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FamilyTravelings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    875
    393
    195
    85
See reviews for
2,115
391
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The trip was to celebrate our granddaughter's 6th birthday. It was perfect! Because of TripAdviser reviews, we expected construction around the property. Also, the Polynesian notified us well in advance that the monorail would not be available from 11am until 7pm. Yes, for the amount of money spent, we were irritated. HOWEVER, neither the construction or the monorail issues caused any problem for us. And our granddaughter certainly never noticed a problem! She repeatedly thanked us for the beautiful room. Coming back to the Polynesian about 4pm each day, with no monorail service, required riding on the Ferry. Another Disney Adventure! We stayed at the Polynesian 2 years ago and because of the location, we returned even though it seemed worn (oldest Disney hotel at DisneyWorld). NOT so in 2014! There has been a lot of remodeling going on in past 2 years! We did not ask to stay in the Tokelau but we had asked for a balcony. The Tokelau, although near construction, was perfect for the 3 of us. This building was remodeled and was clean. The room is huge and includes a small refrigerator. (We did call and ask maintenance to adjust the frige to be colder.) It would be nice to have a microwave to save on breakfasts but I imagine all the food would be a major problem for housekeeping. Although the bathroom was large, the sink/vanity, tub/shower and toilet were in same room. On each floor, by the elevator, there is a large lounge area that one may go to read morning papers and have a cup of coffee if rest of family is still sleeping. It may seem strange to return to the hotel by 4 or 5 pm (remember we were with tired 6 year old, and we are grandparents) but the hotel swimming pool has one awesome water slide that both my granddaughter and husband enjoyed. Starting at 6pm, marshmallows were roasted on the beach. The events staff is incredible helping load the marshmallows and instructing on safety. And, at 7 a Disney film is shown on a large screen BUT of course is paused at 8pm so all guests can view the Fireworks at the Magic Kingdom with accompanying music. We did eat most of our meals in the Captain Cook's for breakfast and Kona restaurant for dinner. We did not use the meal plan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 67kewpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Right from the start, we were greeted with a warm smile and an easy check in! Because we had checked in online, we did not have to wait in a long line. Also, we were able to get the building/floor we wanted. We did a little research first and felt the Tokeleau building would be best for us. It was close to one of the pools, close to the TTC, and recently renovated. Our room was very spacious! We loved being able to walk to Capt. Cook's for snacks or lunch...so many choices! Plus, I stay away from gluten and dairy and there were many options for that, too. The pools were wonderful...couldn't keep my little guy off the waterslide! Being at the volcano pool really made us feel like we were at a tropical resort with the sandy area, pool bar, and pool all steps away. If our budget permits, I would definitely stay here again. It is pricey, but beautiful and convenient!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Wherenext14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I returned to the Polynesian after a long absence with my son, daughter-in-law and 3 grandchildren, ages 9, 7, 3. The hotel was wonderful. We got connecting rooms (requested in advance) which was very convenient. The housekeeping service was prompt and excellent. There are several restaurants and we used the cafeteria style one (Captain Cook's) every morning to bring breakfast back to our rooms. Had everything including Mickey shaped waffles! I can't stress enough the importance of choosing a hotel on the monorail, especially if you have small children. The whole family loved the pool. The renovations were not a problem at all. The only tiny minus was after a long day it was a long walk back to the room. The resort is very spread out. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pugcrazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just returned from the Polynesian Resort found the staff known as" Cast Members" very good nothing to much trouble helped with understanding meal plans and advised how to make most of the plans.
Got a fright three weeks before we left when Disney sent an email informing us of major works at the Polynesian.
When we got there there are major works extending into the lagoon but I am pleased to say that they had little to no effect on our enjoyment. The works if you look at the map of the Polynesian are all to the right of the Volcano pool facing the lagoon so any Longhouses to that side of the resort facing the lagoon have there view spoilt but all to the left are clear.To be clear it is only the rooms facing the lake that are effected..
The mono rail is going down as reported from 11.30 am to 7 pm but plenty of buses to all resorts that stop right outside the reception area and boats go to Magic Kingdom every 15 mins so you really will not have a major problem moving around.
One piece of advice book early for everything that is especially so with eating places even in the Polynesian otherwise you will not get in. Fast Passes are essential read up on the rules before you go how to use them its a must unless you want to spend the day in big "Line ups".
Finally we stayed in rooms 1414 and 1413 and I would recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merseyside0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hi all. If you are thinking of going to Disney's Polynesian Resort....then maybe think about changing hotels....like the Gran Floridian Resort or Disney's Contemporary Resort. It's not mainly that you will be incomodated by the noise...but mostly by the sight of construction and workers that seem to take away some of the charm of this usually wonderful place. Along the different paths of the Resort will you see also a lot of renovation (which was for most part due for quite a while). Once renovated (I couldn't get a date on the date of the work but possibly by this summer I would say). Also, I was very surprised by the not so clean restrooms on the premises...both for gentleman or ladies (from my wife). The restrooms left a lot to be desired and is not to the standards of Disney!!!! Have they cut on the cleaning staff? This is unfortunate because usually an hotel or resort is judged by the cleanliness of the place and mostly restrooms......
Otherwise it is it's usual self and very nice to be in....with the soft polynesian music...(and some not so soft on the beach mostly). Of course during construction, there's a no swimming sign for the lake, but the option of the pool more than makes up for it. I hope, in the near future, that they will be back to their usual sophisticated and very pleasant place to be in...anytime of year.

Room Tip: I would wait until all the renovations are done with and possibly use the Gran Floridian Resort in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Photographer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carle Place, New York, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked the Polynesian Resort because of it's proximity to the Magic Kingdom and the monorail. As noted in other reviews, there are renovations going on right now, and the monorail service was suspended from 11:00 am - 7:00 p.m. weekdays. This was not really a problem for us, as we spent most of our time in the parks, and we made reservations in advance for restaurants that were located where we planned to be each day.

We stayed in the Fiji building, and the construction that was going on elsewhere on the premises was really very transparent to us; we did not see or hear any of it. Keeping in mind we did spend most of our time away from the hotel. I found the staff to be very welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. The children loved the pool! The weight room as shared in common with the Grand Floridian, and is actually closer to that resort than to the Polynesian, however it is really just a short walk along the jogging trail. In my opinion the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

If you were planning on staying in the Polynesian Resort during the next few months, I would not worry about the renovations at all. The staff is very focused on providing excellent service, and they maintain the Polynesian theme very well. My family of 5 had an excellent experience during our stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Property: Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#105 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing