We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location, great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #89 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville Centre, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Prime location, great for families”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I returned to the Polynesian after a long absence with my son, daughter-in-law and 3 grandchildren, ages 9, 7, 3. The hotel was wonderful. We got connecting rooms (requested in advance) which was very convenient. The housekeeping service was prompt and excellent. There are several restaurants and we used the cafeteria style one (Captain Cook's) every morning to bring breakfast back to our rooms. Had everything including Mickey shaped waffles! I can't stress enough the importance of choosing a hotel on the monorail, especially if you have small children. The whole family loved the pool. The renovations were not a problem at all. The only tiny minus was after a long day it was a long walk back to the room. The resort is very spread out. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pugcrazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,604
    908
    408
    204
    93
See reviews for
2,230
406
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just returned from the Polynesian Resort found the staff known as" Cast Members" very good nothing to much trouble helped with understanding meal plans and advised how to make most of the plans.
Got a fright three weeks before we left when Disney sent an email informing us of major works at the Polynesian.
When we got there there are major works extending into the lagoon but I am pleased to say that they had little to no effect on our enjoyment. The works if you look at the map of the Polynesian are all to the right of the Volcano pool facing the lagoon so any Longhouses to that side of the resort facing the lagoon have there view spoilt but all to the left are clear.To be clear it is only the rooms facing the lake that are effected..
The mono rail is going down as reported from 11.30 am to 7 pm but plenty of buses to all resorts that stop right outside the reception area and boats go to Magic Kingdom every 15 mins so you really will not have a major problem moving around.
One piece of advice book early for everything that is especially so with eating places even in the Polynesian otherwise you will not get in. Fast Passes are essential read up on the rules before you go how to use them its a must unless you want to spend the day in big "Line ups".
Finally we stayed in rooms 1414 and 1413 and I would recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merseyside0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hi all. If you are thinking of going to Disney's Polynesian Resort....then maybe think about changing hotels....like the Gran Floridian Resort or Disney's Contemporary Resort. It's not mainly that you will be incomodated by the noise...but mostly by the sight of construction and workers that seem to take away some of the charm of this usually wonderful place. Along the different paths of the Resort will you see also a lot of renovation (which was for most part due for quite a while). Once renovated (I couldn't get a date on the date of the work but possibly by this summer I would say). Also, I was very surprised by the not so clean restrooms on the premises...both for gentleman or ladies (from my wife). The restrooms left a lot to be desired and is not to the standards of Disney!!!! Have they cut on the cleaning staff? This is unfortunate because usually an hotel or resort is judged by the cleanliness of the place and mostly restrooms......
Otherwise it is it's usual self and very nice to be in....with the soft polynesian music...(and some not so soft on the beach mostly). Of course during construction, there's a no swimming sign for the lake, but the option of the pool more than makes up for it. I hope, in the near future, that they will be back to their usual sophisticated and very pleasant place to be in...anytime of year.

Room Tip: I would wait until all the renovations are done with and possibly use the Gran Floridian Resort in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Photographer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carle Place, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked the Polynesian Resort because of it's proximity to the Magic Kingdom and the monorail. As noted in other reviews, there are renovations going on right now, and the monorail service was suspended from 11:00 am - 7:00 p.m. weekdays. This was not really a problem for us, as we spent most of our time in the parks, and we made reservations in advance for restaurants that were located where we planned to be each day.

We stayed in the Fiji building, and the construction that was going on elsewhere on the premises was really very transparent to us; we did not see or hear any of it. Keeping in mind we did spend most of our time away from the hotel. I found the staff to be very welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. The children loved the pool! The weight room as shared in common with the Grand Floridian, and is actually closer to that resort than to the Polynesian, however it is really just a short walk along the jogging trail. In my opinion the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

If you were planning on staying in the Polynesian Resort during the next few months, I would not worry about the renovations at all. The staff is very focused on providing excellent service, and they maintain the Polynesian theme very well. My family of 5 had an excellent experience during our stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I travelled to Disney with our son, his wife, and their two children. Not being a "Disney Expert" we had Lynda Hower at Dream Makers Vacation make all our arrangement. She did an outstanding job and took all the worry out of planning. We will use her again for all our trips to Disney.

Now for the review. We went during an "low time" - early February and the parks were not too busy. The wrist band system allowed us to reserve seats on the most popular attractions and we had no problem with the system. The waiting line for the other attractions was short and we saw most of the Magic Kingdom, Epcot, and Hollywood Studios. Only one ride we wanted was not operational due to maintenance - it was a water ride and it was too cold to ride it anyway.

Our hotel, the Polynesian was great. Spotlessly clean and well suited for our group. It was particularly good for small children. Everything was close and the boat and monorail service was a definite plus.

We ate at the luau at the hotel for our granddaughter's second birthday. The kids loved it. Adults also. Food was OK, service was great, and show was fun.

Only marginally disappointing item was that Disney was having trouble with the photo service. Pictures taken at the rides didn't appear on our memory maker site. No-one was able to help.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone with children wanting to be close to the Magic Kingdom and not wanting to ride the buses.

Thanks again to Lynda for a great job.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We're not parents (yet) but wanted to be close to Disney for our New Year's trip. So why not stay ON a Disney property itself?!

Not cheap, but it was NYE afterall... but the fact that you can hop on and off the tram and get to and from all Disney attractions in a breeze... what more could you ask for? And if you have kidlets... this is the way to go.

The hotel/resort was great. The theme carries through every corner of the property with fun touches everywhere. If you sit in the main hall and look around - you would swear you were in a tropical paradise. Well... almost ;-)

The weather was not ideal so we didn't really get to enjoy the pool... but it was pretty cool, again, geared for children of most ages. A shallow, beach-like entry makes it easy for parents to get in and out with their little ones... with play things at one end of the pool. Parents can pull up right to the edge so they are literally feet away. Nice...

We had the meal plan so we could come and go from the restaurants. Making this feel like an all inclusive resort. This was particularly handy in the morning when getting your day started and fuelled up for all the running around you'll be doing. Its cafeteria-style restaurant allowed you to walk in and quickly grab what you need. But get there early because it gets busy fast... and some items end up running out.

The rooms were more than adequate. Nothing super special - but you really don't spend any waking time in the room...

The staff at the front desk were very helpful. As my wife got a flu bug thingy one night - we needed something to settle her stomach in the wee hours. As nothing was even close to being open - the front desk person went on a hunt for anything. She came back with some over-the-counter meds and some gingerale. Both helped and we were very appreciative.

All said, we enjoyed our trip. We loved the convenience but made the mistake of not listening to our travel advisor and went during the busiest time of year. If you're not a fan of GIANT lines and uber crowded places... might want to go during off peak times of the year. On that note... when you stay on a Disney property you get early and/or late access to the attractions! This is amazing... because since we didn't have little ones - we went after 11 pm and it was almost empty! You can get in and out in the blink of an eye.

If you go, enjoy!

David & Mandy
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidmandy1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night after a cruise. Check in was awesome! We were off the ship in Port Canaveral at about 8:00am and drive straight to the resort. We were obviously REALLY early, but the Poly had our room ready for us when we got there and even honored my room request!!! The proximity to the parks, especially Magic Kingdom is great, and you can't beat traveling via monorail. The refurbed rooms were beautiful, but the only complain I have is that the beds are soooo uncomfortable!!!! The onsite Dole Whips kinda made up for the beds though! :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FurMommyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Property: Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#105 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing