We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the monorail... Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Ranked #92 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“On the monorail... Loved it!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was surprised how spacious the rooms are! I was alone on business and really loved my room! I thought it was expensive at first but if you had a family of five it's an awesome price. Very spacious and fun too! They greet you with a flower Leigh and you think you are in the South Pacific when you walk to your room! The monorail access to the park is honestly the best thing about this hotel. I never realized how much easier and more fun it was to hop on that monorail at the end of a long day and go straight to your hotel without waiting in that huge bus line! Love this hotel!

Room Tip: Get a balcony pay more to get a fireworks view from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelleknowstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,603
    907
    408
    204
    93
See reviews for
2,228
406
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was our second visit to the Polynesian. We have two young kids - 15 months and 3.5 years. We love it there! The theme is perfect for us (we love laid-back, Hawaii) and the location is perfect. We stayed club level, Hawaii building, because we had a discount that helped. Last year, we didn't get the club level and I must say that we enjoyed it a lot. We didn't need grocery items in the room with the extra snacks and drinks you get with club level. You can get pieces of fruit for the kids and beers for the adults :-) And much more haha. Our room was beautifully renovated. We didn't have a balcony though at first - we were on the second floor, garden view. Important to note: Those rooms don't have balconies. We went back to who we checked in with and asked if they had a room with a balcony and they put us in a room on the lake side with a patio! So nice! We had a view of the construction, yes, but if you looked to the left, the view was beautiful of the beach, lake, and Grand Floridian.

We really love the location of this hotel. We mainly just visit Magic Kingdom and Epcot. This hotel works perfect for those two parks. Monorails to both. Our last day of visiting the parks, they closed the monorail to MK from 11am-7pm. It wasn't a huge deal but was a little disappointing since this is a main reason we stay at this hotel (and they didn't tell us this when booking). We took the boat from and back to MK after the kid's naps. That was kinda fun but not as convenient since you have to fold up the stroller (we have a big double).

The foliage is just amazing at this hotel. Love the plants and flowers!

The pool is also wonderful! The slide is so fun. My husband and I loved it - it was a little too scary for the kids. But in a couple years they will love it too, we know. It was in the 80s when we were there (like 70 degrees warmer than at home!) and it felt good but the pool could have been better if it was heated. We even went in during the rain on our first night there!

Love all the events at the hotel. We always say we are going to stay an extra night or two without going to parks to enjoy them all. Maybe someday when we have a lot of extra cash :)

To get to the hotel we did the Magical Express from the Orlando airport. That is just awesome. Don't have to worry about luggage or driving. So nice. After our stay at the hotel, we got a rental car from Alamo (took a shuttle from the hotel to get the car) and drove to a beach for a few days and then drove to Orlando airport. That worked out beautifully! Great experience.

Oh and I must comment on the magic bands - they are so convenient! Don't need a wallet the entire trip. Room key, fast passes, buying power, photo passes - it's all there! We hated taking them off at the end of our trip. We were attached to them :)

I'm sure I'm missing things but, to conclude, we really do love it at the Polynesian and we come away with wonderful memories and wanting to go back ASAP. Such a great, magical vacation.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, ask for it while booking. Ask for a room on the third floor if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank becksb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous stay at the Polynesian with the family. We really enjoyed our stay and all the amenities the property had to offer. The staff were true Disney characters and made our time there very pleasant. We enjoyed service from the airport where our baggage was transferred directly to our room, what a nice value added service! I would recommend this property to anyone considering a Disney Resort stay. With the monorail on site and water taxi, access to Disney everything is right at your finger tips.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Seven Seas Lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just came back from a five day stay at the Polynesian. I booked this hotel months ago for the monorail convenience. We were not told until two weeks of our arrival that this amenity would be on very limited service, by then it was too late to book another hotel. The transportation was abysmal all around, the hotel even had one elevator out of service - with the stroller twice we had to wait ten minutes just to get an elevator to go one story. We ended up missing two fast pass opportunities and firework reservations - they did not plan for the monorail being down and from what we could tell the boat and bus service was not upped to accommodate for no monorail service. On average it took us 45minutes - 1 hours to get to the Magic Kingdom…..I thought I was paying the higher hotel prices for the transportation. When I talked to the front desk they were less than helpful. For the money stay at a resort that offers their own bus service to the parks……the ones through Disney World are not worth it. Three times we needed up hiring a cab as the lines for so long it was taking a good 1-1.5 hours to get anywhere. Really not work the money as the transportation is very poor - stay at a resort offering their own transportation it will be less hectic and a better value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kara128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have been to Disneyworld many times (from Texas) and have stayed at various places from rental homes in Kissimmee to "condo style" hotels to Disney properties. Once we found the Polynesian, we've never stayed anywhere else! We love it - the rooms are the largest we've found and our family of 4 (now with a 20 year old and a 16 year old) sleep comfortably because each room has 2 doubles and a day bed that converts to a twin.

A few years ago we splurged and stayed in a "Club Level" room - I can only say that we have never returned to a non-Club level room - the extra cost is DEFINITELY worth it. They have nice offerings for breakfast - snacks and soft drinks all day and nice desserts and beverages in the evening - and with the floor to ceiling windows facing Magic Kingdom, it's the perfect place to watch the nightly fireworks show. They dim the lights and pipe in the music that accompanies the show.

I highly recommend the Polynesian!!! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juliejknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at a club level (Hawaii) building Magic Kingdom view room during Jan 2014. While the club staff was fine, I agree with others, food choices / display has deteriorated significantly since our stays in 2009 and 2007. Yes, the Hampton Inn breakfasts are better. Really. The MK view room was overlooking the construction on the beach, which takes away for the ambience, but did not affect evening fireworks viewing. For the price of these rooms, we should have been told about the construction, we would have opted for garden view rooms. If you book MK/lagoon view, ask for as close to lounge as possible, to minimize viewing construction "head "on." It is basically a 2 star club experience, in a 5 star location.

Room Tip: Club level MK view, ask for third floor, near lounge for best views and avoid some construction.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wallywanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardeeville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This resort is most likely to make you feel as if you are on an Island. It is beautifully made and designed and from the time you drive up you are welcomed warmly. When you enter someone is there to greet you outside with a Lai and a genuine Aloha and smile. Valets are on point and quick to offer their service. The outside is quiet the picturesque place with a pretty will waterfull pon right before you walk in. As you walk in it is darkly lit and all carved wood. The restaurant OHANA is very much worth it and I promise you, you will need a doggie bag to take some home! Portions only come in large here. When you go outside you can walk along a beach scene or enjoy the peace and quiet in a hammock littered around the resort. There is a huge tent that houses the aloha party later on but that needs another seperate ticket and fee.
Its very pretty and a good place to walk around on gloomy days!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimSimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Property: Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8423
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#105 Family Hotel in Orlando
#121 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing